We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for 1 night in case of emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok for 1 night in case of emergency”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a good bargain for the hotel to stay one night before travelling further to France and overall were satisfied for the price we got. Otherwise for regular price the hotel is a doubt. VERY poor breakfast, paid internet, strange shuttle service. Before leaving to Milan I called the hotel to check shuttle bus schedule. I was told is every 30 mins till 6 pm and every hour after 6 pm. When I arrived to airport at 2 pm and called to check the shuttle - I was told that the shuttle starts at 6 pm. 20 euro taxi to the hotel. 15 euro from the hotel - but be sure to repeat 10 times if you need a big car, especially if you are with ski equipment - our ask was anyway ignored.

Room Tip: Book a shuttle as soon as you check in at the hotel - is always full
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceF_Niente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    529
    416
    245
    220
See reviews for
462
471
123
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
athens greece
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

coming back from cannes we needed just a hotel for one night .amazing rooms amazing breakfast ,5 minutes by car to malpensa airport.suggested to anyone travelling next day from the airport.(also has shuttle to the airport though we did not need to use it )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I am staying here for a night before departing to Paris. I have to do give credits on the hotel room and the shuttle bus driver. The room was clean, comfortable and also having good beds. There were some areas/aspects that I am not so happy and required the management team to look into it.

1. No free Wifi provided (charging 10 EUR for 24 hours). For your information, this is the only hotel which was not providing this free and important amenity for my Europe trip.
2. Communication between front desk and restaurant. This is what happened: when we were seated and ready to have our breakfast in the hotel, a staff approached us and told that we were not allowed to have breakfast here because the arrangement by the tour company was to prepare the breakfast box for us. Actually, during the check-in, we informed that to cancel the breakfast box as we preferred to have it in the restaurant. However, this had not communicated to the F&B.

Maybe those that mentioned above could be considered as small matters. But all these will make you different from others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sai Keong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel and was beyond satisfied. I had a layover before leaving for Athens. This hotel is close to the Milan Milpensa airport, offered shuttle service free and included a great breakfast. The hotel was clean & modern, very comfortable with great staff. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel because it was very close to Malpensa Airport and we just needed a place to sleep for a couple of hours. The experience wasn't very exciting. The rooms were a bit dated. Our first room had a broken window and a completely wrecked curtain rail - how did anyone not notice this?! The shower was filthy with mould all over the top part of the ceiling. This was also the longest check-in ever! It took the guy 20 minutes to check us in! We were also given the wrong information. When we landed again to Malpensa, we were told that the complimentary shuttle bus was going to be there - instead it started at 2pm! Oh ... I almost forgot; the shuttle bus was late in the morning so we almost missed our flight. It was not a good start and ending to a holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somma Lombardo hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Idea Hotel is OK value; standard hotel new clean and close to major international airport.
Few experiences majorly detracted from our visit:

- Our room had no toilet paper or tissues upon arrival, and when we asked the tissues had run out!

- Similar to several airport hotels, part of the attraction is the free shuttle.
Our first experience left us very disappointed & frustrated and wishing we had not prepaid - I had emailed to confirm exactly where the bus comes & received a prompt reply (terminal 1, outside gate 7 arrivals). Upon arrival and given had wife and 2 young children (& luggage) in tow, I rang to reconfirm where and when - was glad to have confirmed location but had a 40 minute wait.

Upon waiting 50 mins and another 2 phone calls to reception, was advised pick up is terminal 1 departures gate 16!!! We rushed up only to miss the bus by 30 seconds and tried to wave it down... Another phone call to reception gave us a glimmer of hope - she would ask the driver to come back or we could wait for the next hourly pick up, now in 50 mins! Another 15 mins later, I rang to confirm if this had occurred, and was advised to wait on the phone

Shuttle only returned due to being full from the previous trip not because of receptions request. Very disappointing.

Almost 2 hour wait for a 1.5 km shuttle ride!! Exactly what you need after 24 hours of flying from Melbourne with 2 kids 6 & under and in the cold of november night.

For full disclosure, we did ask a taxi at the airport rank to bring us but they refused given the short ride...

Take away these incidents and I can see how this place be very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsAndCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is a typical 4 star Hotel near the airport.
A little difficult to find from the airport.
The room is good but the air condition was working all the night and i dont find a way to stop.
Breakfast is typical.
For one night it's an ok Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Hotel Villa Malpensa
#1 of 1 in Vizzola Ticino
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Property: Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing