We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient once you know about the shuttle bus.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked the hotel through Trevago. I arrived at MXP with my 7 year old son on an Easyjet flight (all easyjet flights fly to terminal 2 by the way) at around 9.30pm local time. I tried calling the number I had noted from the hotel website but found no English speaker on the other end of the phone so I was unable to enquire about the shuttle bus service. Fortunately I had read some of the reviews on tripadviser and happily fell upon the pharmacy just outside the arrivals hall - out of the building, turn right towards departures. All of the hotel shuttle buses seem to stop here. Just by luck a kind lady from another hotel found the number and rang the hotel on her mobile phone for me and was able to let me know that our shuttle was due around 10.20pm from where we were. The shuttle bus for the hotel was not obviously marked as such and I feel there was a bit too much luck involved in finding it to be honest. The Shuttle was spacious which was a relief as a lot of the other hotels could not accommodate all the arrivals which was causing quite a lot of ill-feeling from travel weary people in an unfamiliar land. On arrival at the hotel there was only 1 receptionist working and unfortunately the one person in front of us in the queue was making a meal out of his check in - NOT ideal with a tired 7 year old in tow. The room was new, clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately I was woken by another guest hammering on a neighbouring door in our hallway in the early hours which wasn't ideal but I suspect I was more sensitive to unusual noise being in unfamiliar surroundings. Regretfully in my weary state on arrival I had not paid attention to the shuttle bus timetable for the morning and we missed our train connection to Laveno-Mombello (on the shores of Lake Maggiore) because we had to wait 20 minutes for the bus which took a further 10-15 minutes to get us to the terminal. With this in mind I would recommend paying the extra to stay at The Sheraton Hotel at terminal 1 if you are planning a train journey early morning as the train station is located below it. Or indeed just pay more attention to the shuttle bus times on the reception counter and allow good time to get there and purchase tickets. Due to our wait for the morning bus we did get a chance to sample the buffet breakfast which had a large choice to satisfy most tastes except maybe the really fussy, this was included in the price of the room. It would be great if the hotel could supply better information on their website regarding their shuttle service as for those not travelling by car it is the only way to get to and from the place. It seems a shame that the only information available is from those who have mentioned it in their reviews!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007JEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear 007JEM,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the room accommodations you received. We apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class experience to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose to stay here as we flew into Milan in the evening and were driving to Cinque Terre the next morning. It was nice and close to the airport. The rooms were really comfortable and clean. Breakfast had a good selection, with bacon & eggs as well as cereals, game, cheese etc. Would recommend it if you want something close to the airport.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank taylor_7hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We checked into this hotel in the late afternoon and were given a room on the 2nd floor. It was very modern, large, clean and comfortable. It had English language channels on the TV which we hadn't had in any other hotel in Italy. This was helpful since we had been in Italy for several weeks and wanted to get caught up on some current US and world news/ events. There was no restaurant available for our dinner at this hotel but we were told that we could go over to the Courtyard Marriott (10 min. walk) and have dinner there. We did go over there and had a perfect dinner with wine in a beautiful dining room setting. Our breakfast was included in the room rate and was available in the hotel. It was more or less basic and a bit disappointing. there was no fresh fruit. Instead they offered canned peaches and canned pineapples in large bowls and the rest of the fare was not very exciting. The shuttle bus service to the airport arrived on time with plenty of seats for everyone and we arrived at milan airport without a hitch. The price was right for what you get here.

Room Tip: You must call for the shuttle bus pick-up when you arrive at Milan airport to get picked up if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGirl1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a basic, clean hotel nearish the Milan Airport.

It is sort of "in the middle of nowhere" with no restaurants or stores nearby, so be sure to arrive fed and not in need of anything.

The rooms were clean but small. There was some flight noise early in the evenings--soundproofing was not very good, but there did not seem to be any late night flights, so it was not too bad.

The free breakfast was average. Worthwhile, and enough to hold you until lunch after a flight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinaBrambilla, Proprietario at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest Hadley B,
thank you for taking time to write this review about your recent stay in our Holiday Inn Express Malpensa. We are happy to know that you had an overall good experience, even if it is a pity that you quoted just with 2 stars your experience to us, considering your impression described. The hotel has been built for the airport travellers, this is the reson why we are not located in the city center. But we offer all the amenities in order to spend a good time in the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the future and improve your experience by us. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel a couple of days ago for one night as our flight to Athens left quite early in the morning. There is a shuttle service from Terminal 1 to the hotel, running every 35 mins but during the middle of the day (cant quite remember the times) it only runs every hour so if you miss it, it means a long wait for the next one.

The room was very spacious and clean. And the free breakfast was fantastic! Bacon, scrambled and boiled eggs, cereal, different types of bread, fruits etc.

However be aware that there are no shops or restaurants nearby this hotel so if youre wanting to have dinner, there is a restaurant at the hotel but the food was very dry and tasteless.

Overall, good impression of this hotel. Really helpful staff and very good breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We live in the states and our flight home is always an early one. As we stay in the Piemonte region for the duration of our annual Italian holiday, we elect to stay near the airport the night before our departure. Despite the fact that we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express every year prior, last year (2012), because we had our one-year old with us, we decided to stay at the Sheraton (which is located within the airport terminal). Simply put, the cost did not justify the convenience. The rooms of the Sheraton were no better than the Holiday Inn Express. It took just as long to walk to our Delta connection as it did when we took the Holiday Inn Express shuttle. The Sheraton staff was just as nice and accommodating as the Holiday Inn Express staff. Thus, this year (2013) we returned to the Holiday Inn Express. The cost is reasonable and the staff...well they are lovely. And I must note, that the view of the Alps from the room window was the exact vision I wanted to take away from our yearly visit to "heaven on earth". Hotel amenities we used successfully were the first floor luggage storage closet (we had lots of bags as we were in Italy for a month), free airport shuttle, bar, dinner options, in-room movies, and pillow selections.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimMcAfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cold feeling hotel with a cold staff and rooms with a certain "off" odor. The personnel at the front desk seem put off and treat you like cattle. The breakfast was the worst quality food I had in Italy. I suppose it would be OK for a quick overnight with necessary proximity to Malpensa, but it's proximity to MXP is the only plus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust9396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinaBrambilla, Proprietario at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear wanderlust9396,
thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Malpensa for your recent stay. We apologize for the bad feeling you have got by our desk staff. This is not representative of our quality and we will take the opportunity to improve our staff. About the breakfast we understand we can not meet everyone's personal taste, but we guarantee that it is of very good quality, and it overtake the standard of our brand. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: $73 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing