We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ristorante Cervo(Somma Lombardo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Hotel Malpensa(Somma Lombardo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport(Somma Lombardo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Villa Malpensa(Vizzola Ticino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,653)
Filter reviews
1,653 results
Traveler rating
452
797
271
87
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
797
271
87
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe crowne plazathe busmalpensa airportfree shuttlenext morningcase nuovean early flightcroissantsan overnight staylate at nighteuros per personrental cartaxi driverone night staybreakfast was includedflight homebetween flights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 1,653 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great hotel to overnight in before you fly out of Milan-Malpensa airport. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Furnishings are minimal but the king size bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you need including wifi ( not free but only $9 euros for 24 hours). The breakfast was included in the nightly rate (which was very affordable) and included hot and cold items. And there was a free shuttle to the airport every 15 minutes. We took the train from Como to the Malpensa airport and rode the free shuttle to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in may 2013.

The hotel is located 5 minutes drive form the airport and the shuttlebus drives you to the airport on request- very easy.
The rooms are very nice, clean and big. The staff is nice and the breakfast is okay.

The hotel is located far from restaurant and shops, and if you want to go to Milan you have to tke the shuttel to the airport and then the train (30 minutes) to Milano.

BE AWARE THAT THE SUHTTEL BUS ONLY GOES FROM 05.30 - 23.30 AND IF YOU NEED TO ACCES OR LEAVE THE HOTEL IN OTHER TIMES OF THE DAY YOU HAVE TO PAY A VERY EXPENSIVE TAXI- AROUND 20EUROS TO THE AIRPORT.

All in all nice hotel for flights to or from Malpensa Airport :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Considering that Milan-Malpensa airport is not actually in Milan, or close to the center of the city, it is important to stay at or on airport premises if you have an early flight. The Holiday Inn express serves its purpose. It is a clean and quiet place to sleep. Besides that, it is basic.
The biggest issue I had with my stay is the shuttle service -- which for an airport hotel is extremely important.
We waited for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport for two hours. We called numerous times, they said they had a flat tire, and blah blah blah. When we arrived at the hotel, after taking a 20 euro cab ride (it was a 1 mile ride, mind you) we mentioned our issues. They said we were not even calling the right shuttle and it was wasn't there fault. Which is silly, cause we were calling their front desk directly. We eventually got three hours of free wifi for our trouble. After we settled into our room, we went down to check the shuttle times for our early morning flight. Oh well the shuttle doesn't run that early (6am). So another 20 euro cab ride. I don't mind paying for transportation if it is needed -- but we booked that hotel specifically for the shuttle service and we never even used it because it was so poorly designed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear EPerrecs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is pleasing to know that you found our location to be convenient and rooms comfortable. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience regarding our shuttle service. I appreciate you bringing this incident into our attention as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Again, thanks for your feedback and I hope you give us another opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to try staying near the airport the last night of our trip. We'd never done this before. It was surprisingly decent. The free shuttle got us from Malpensa (we took the train from Milano Centrale) and got us to the hotel in about 7 minutes. The check in was very helpful and spoke excellent English. He even helped us print our boarding passes. most appreciated.

We had a quick meal at the bar-~8E/item and it was good. Not sure about the 22E/Person buffet. The woman at the snackbar was lovely and made it fun. We had some very good italian beer on tap.

The room was untilitarian but very clean and QUIET. The bed was comfortable and they had a variety of pillows. The bathroom was clean and came with a blue night light and a 110V outlet, very appreciated. We did not use the TV but there seemed to be charges for everything, just check before you use.

The breakfast was decent and generous.

We took the shuttle to the airport the next day and it was EZ. We would do this again.

Room Tip: After 8pm, you don't need to call to schedule the shuttle and unfortunately they provided a little mini-bus and 3 people got left behind. Fortunately the morning shuttle was a larger bus-this was my only knock on the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveFlavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had an awful time finding this hotel, thanks (NOT!) to Google Maps. We had to get up at 6:30 a.m. for our flight, which is why we were here. After a friendly and helpful check-in by Noe, it went downhill fast. The room was cheerless and charmless, and reminded me of the last Motel 6 I stayed in, in Jackson Hole, Wyoming in 1992. The room seemed bare, but was filled with an odd, low, Queen bed in addition to our own. The beds didn't match, and it was just peculiar. And our bed was HARD. This was supposed to be a Superior room; I can only imagine how bad the Standard room was. Though we booked on the hotel's website, Booking.com described the rooms as having wood floors. Not ours. It was cheap wood-look laminate that was chipped all over. You can't fool Mother Nature. Instead of the usual hotel room safe, there was a silly little lockbox, the kind used at flea markets or events to collect money - a total joke. There was no refrigerator/minibar.

The only amenities in bathroom were the complimentary pubic hair in the bidet, and a long gray hair on the bath towel. The shower would have been okay, except that the soap consisted of a bottle of Lux shower liquid/shampoo that needed two hands to dispense: one on the bottle, the other held underneath to collect the liquid. It wouldn't have been a big problem, but the drain was clogged, so the the soapy water was slippery. I was afraid of falling, but couldn't use the grab bar or the wall to steady myself, because I needed both hands for the soap. The sink was clogged, too.

A tiny luggage shelve wasn't big enough to hold even a carryon bag properly, let alone a large suitcase. We were at the end of a long cruise followed by land travel, and had a lot of luggage, but there was room only for the carryon. Because the shelf was so shallow, my carryon fell off the shelf upside-down, spewing all the contents just as I was rushing to close it up and get out of the room.

The breakfast was adequate at best, but the coffee was awful, and the breakfast room had all the charm, look, and feel of a school cafeteria.

Aside from easy check-in, the only other positive things about this dump is that it had enough outlets to charge three of our devices at the same time, and it's very close to the airport. Thankfully, we had to return our rental car at the airport, so we didn't have to test out the shuttle service.

We will most likely never find ourselves in Milan in the future, but if so, there's no way I'd stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Sukki007,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of the room you were given on this day. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews