We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great hotel to overnight in before you fly out of Milan-Malpensa airport. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Furnishings are minimal but the king size bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with everything you need including wifi ( not free but only $9 euros for 24 hours). The breakfast was included in the nightly rate (which was very affordable) and included hot and cold items. And there was a free shuttle to the airport every 15 minutes. We took the train from Como to the Malpensa airport and rode the free shuttle to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in may 2013.

The hotel is located 5 minutes drive form the airport and the shuttlebus drives you to the airport on request- very easy.
The rooms are very nice, clean and big. The staff is nice and the breakfast is okay.

The hotel is located far from restaurant and shops, and if you want to go to Milan you have to tke the shuttel to the airport and then the train (30 minutes) to Milano.

BE AWARE THAT THE SUHTTEL BUS ONLY GOES FROM 05.30 - 23.30 AND IF YOU NEED TO ACCES OR LEAVE THE HOTEL IN OTHER TIMES OF THE DAY YOU HAVE TO PAY A VERY EXPENSIVE TAXI- AROUND 20EUROS TO THE AIRPORT.

All in all nice hotel for flights to or from Malpensa Airport :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Considering that Milan-Malpensa airport is not actually in Milan, or close to the center of the city, it is important to stay at or on airport premises if you have an early flight. The Holiday Inn express serves its purpose. It is a clean and quiet place to sleep. Besides that, it is basic.
The biggest issue I had with my stay is the shuttle service -- which for an airport hotel is extremely important.
We waited for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport for two hours. We called numerous times, they said they had a flat tire, and blah blah blah. When we arrived at the hotel, after taking a 20 euro cab ride (it was a 1 mile ride, mind you) we mentioned our issues. They said we were not even calling the right shuttle and it was wasn't there fault. Which is silly, cause we were calling their front desk directly. We eventually got three hours of free wifi for our trouble. After we settled into our room, we went down to check the shuttle times for our early morning flight. Oh well the shuttle doesn't run that early (6am). So another 20 euro cab ride. I don't mind paying for transportation if it is needed -- but we booked that hotel specifically for the shuttle service and we never even used it because it was so poorly designed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear EPerrecs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is pleasing to know that you found our location to be convenient and rooms comfortable. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience regarding our shuttle service. I appreciate you bringing this incident into our attention as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Again, thanks for your feedback and I hope you give us another opportunity of hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to try staying near the airport the last night of our trip. We'd never done this before. It was surprisingly decent. The free shuttle got us from Malpensa (we took the train from Milano Centrale) and got us to the hotel in about 7 minutes. The check in was very helpful and spoke excellent English. He even helped us print our boarding passes. most appreciated.

We had a quick meal at the bar-~8E/item and it was good. Not sure about the 22E/Person buffet. The woman at the snackbar was lovely and made it fun. We had some very good italian beer on tap.

The room was untilitarian but very clean and QUIET. The bed was comfortable and they had a variety of pillows. The bathroom was clean and came with a blue night light and a 110V outlet, very appreciated. We did not use the TV but there seemed to be charges for everything, just check before you use.

The breakfast was decent and generous.

We took the shuttle to the airport the next day and it was EZ. We would do this again.

Room Tip: After 8pm, you don't need to call to schedule the shuttle and unfortunately they provided a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveFlavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had an awful time finding this hotel, thanks (NOT!) to Google Maps. We had to get up at 6:30 a.m. for our flight, which is why we were here. After a friendly and helpful check-in by Noe, it went downhill fast. The room was cheerless and charmless, and reminded me of the last Motel 6 I stayed in, in Jackson Hole, Wyoming in 1992. The room seemed bare, but was filled with an odd, low, Queen bed in addition to our own. The beds didn't match, and it was just peculiar. And our bed was HARD. This was supposed to be a Superior room; I can only imagine how bad the Standard room was. Though we booked on the hotel's website, Booking.com described the rooms as having wood floors. Not ours. It was cheap wood-look laminate that was chipped all over. You can't fool Mother Nature. Instead of the usual hotel room safe, there was a silly little lockbox, the kind used at flea markets or events to collect money - a total joke. There was no refrigerator/minibar.

The only amenities in bathroom were the complimentary pubic hair in the bidet, and a long gray hair on the bath towel. The shower would have been okay, except that the soap consisted of a bottle of Lux shower liquid/shampoo that needed two hands to dispense: one on the bottle, the other held underneath to collect the liquid. It wouldn't have been a big problem, but the drain was clogged, so the the soapy water was slippery. I was afraid of falling, but couldn't use the grab bar or the wall to steady myself, because I needed both hands for the soap. The sink was clogged, too.

A tiny luggage shelve wasn't big enough to hold even a carryon bag properly, let alone a large suitcase. We were at the end of a long cruise followed by land travel, and had a lot of luggage, but there was room only for the carryon. Because the shelf was so shallow, my carryon fell off the shelf upside-down, spewing all the contents just as I was rushing to close it up and get out of the room.

The breakfast was adequate at best, but the coffee was awful, and the breakfast room had all the charm, look, and feel of a school cafeteria.

Aside from easy check-in, the only other positive things about this dump is that it had enough outlets to charge three of our devices at the same time, and it's very close to the airport. Thankfully, we had to return our rental car at the airport, so we didn't have to test out the shuttle service.

We will most likely never find ourselves in Milan in the future, but if so, there's no way I'd stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Sukki007,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the condition of the room you were given on this day. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A bit tricky to find the shuttle, but once on it, it is an easy few minute ride.
Breakfast is nothing to write home about, and is not really appealing. This is one of the few places which was able to mess up Italian coffee :-(
As a platinum priority member, I was expecting something extra, but there was nothing that the hotel could offer in terms of amenities ....

Fire alarm went off at 5:20am, which was no fun, but at least we know that their advanced system works....

Pros - location if you need to catch a flight, clean, noise proof, spacious bathroom
Cons - location if you need anything else but catching a flight, very basic

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nzakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Nzakay,

Thank you for your candid review. We are delighted to read you found our location convenient. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The judgement would have been overall ok, except for the fact that an "Evacuation alarm" was given by loudspeaker at 5 am.
Last year we suffered from an earthquake and took the alarm seriously, having the little kids sleeping with us.
Since outside the room there was no sign of "incoming danger" we tried to contact the reception, which answered 20 minutes later by saying "false alarm".
Needless to say it is quite rude not even saying "excuse us" nor when we phoned nor when we checked out next morning.
Another funny thing was the evening receptionist saying "I am ready to answer all of your questions" and when I asked which was the fastest route to the border, the answer had been "do you have a GPS? Use it!". Luckily the next morning guy answered with full info.
I have definitely another idea of "concierge", so whatever the price/confort level etc. experiences are ruined by rude people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentOrangeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear AgentOrangeIt,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on this visit due to the unusual occurrence that happened and shortcomings received in the service of the staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will definitely use your comments to improve on our efforts.

Again, thanks for the review and my apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#4 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: $61 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing