We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Flemington, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for an Overnight Stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while awaiting our flight home to United States.
The hotel is conveniently located near the Malpensa airport. There is a convenient and free shuttle service to move you between the hotel and Terminal 1. The rooms are large and immaculately clean. Rates are very affordable and include breakfast. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. And while there is not a great deal to do around the hotel, there is an excellent trattoria named Samarcando which is a five minute walk. Staying close to the airport is an ideal way to avoid having to make an early morning trip to the airport from Milan, which can easily take over an hour. We were pleased with hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again to await a flight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    722
    259
    75
    43
See reviews for
398
547
106
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very clean, very modern. A short bus ride from the terminal. However be aware. That the airport bus leaves you about 200 yards from the hotel and you have to haul your luggage. Hopefully your luggage has wheels. In which case it's no problem. Backpackers will have to carry as usual.

We arrived very late at night. And Italy is broke. So there are no signs or maps in English that help you or direct you. And late at night there is no one around either. We finally found a cab driver with enough English to tell us where the bus was and how to use it. Do the navigation research before you arrive to avoid frustration.

This hotel is clean, modern and has a terrific breakfast. Not a bad place to spend a night while you wait to get into or out of town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Got a great rate to stay overnight - good Airport Shuttle service which makes life a lot easier although you must have a phone to contact reception from the Airport to arrange pick-up.
Room was fine - didn't work out for a bit that aircon won't work if window open - OK we were really tired!!!
No restaurant for dinner but went to a great restaurant 5 mins away
Breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was looking for a clean, cheap airport hotel in Milano, in advance of a morning flight. My expectations were set after staying at another HI Express in UK.

The hotel is located few km away from Malpensa airport, connected via a complimentary hotel shuttle which runs every 30 minutes. We chose the airport shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2, and got off at second stop. From there you have about 500m to walk until the hotel lobby. Overall not bad location if you take the hotel shuttle, but inconvenient if you take the airport shuttle during bad weather.

The hotel itself has a small lobby with a bar, 2 PCs, few tables and a reasonable restaurant eating area. The rooms are small(ish), but with a large bathroom and equipped with everything you need for a pre- or post-flight sleep. Assuming 90%+ of the guests stay there for just one night, it is perfectly fit-for-purpose. The bed is very comfortable, and there is no noise from the airport.

In the morning they offer free coffee and croissants before 6:00AM, which is good if you have an early flight out. If I need to stay in that area in the future, the choice will be easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexC_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent only one night in this hotel.
It's very close to the terminals 1 and 2 and a free shuttle bus serves it. Perfectly between two planes.
The rooms are clean and cosy.
Varied breakfast begins at 6 am.
Recommended and I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaarcereanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean hotel, helpful staff and close to airport, however the bus pickup location was very confusing. All other hotel vans picked up at one spot but this Holiday Inn picked up across the street. No signage and all airport personnel were unaware that they had a different pickup spot. Waited 45 minutes because we missed a couple van runs. Even though we are Priority members, we still had to pay for wifi. Very good included breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is 2 minutes by car from the terminal of the airport. the rooms are very clean and Spacious. there is an open bar for drinks and food until midnight which is very convenient. the only bad thing is that the Media and WI-FI is not free!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoniTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing