We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned a run, nice location”
Review of Monti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monti Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Baronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed summer 2012, on extended vacation. Run by a family, chef is husband, wife takes care of lobby and other areas. One of the best places we ate in Italy. Room was nice size and room for my daughter. We had a room ground floor easy walk out to pool area. Italy in General has some vicious mosquitoes. Fun drive to get to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at the Monti Hotel in San Baronto and were absolutely delighted with every aspect. Diana, Francesco and their staff made us feel so welcome it was like coming home. The room was large and very comfortable with good en-suite facilities, the pool area and gardens were beautifully maintained and relaxing, breakfast was brilliant with a huge variety on offer and evening meals were rustic and delicious. The hotel is typically Italian with a range of nationalities........ We were the only Brits, which was great. You will need a car to get around but all areas of interest are accessible. The nearest train station is in Pistoia, about 15 mins by car, which offers a good service to most major places of interest. We thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a rustic Italian experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamandKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

San Baronto was our final destination in Tuscany during our week stay. We found the hotel on booking.com with good reviews, so we have decided to book it.
First of all, this hotel is suitable only for unassuming clients (as we have seen here - low cost travellers - families with children, older couples).
1st shock - I have never seen smaller room and smaller TV. 3 x 4 m incl. bathroom, our microwawe owen is bigger than their TV.
2nd shock - No minibar in the room (as offered on web page)
3rd shock - Halfboard - please do not make same mistake. They offer Tuscany halfboard dinner. So why not to taste it ? Service = unprofessional staff with no idea about hospitality. We have asked to suggest some nice local wine, answer: "I do not drink the wine, so I do not know"! We have been waiting 20 minutes to order the drink (also 1st contact with the service staff). Starter comes another 20 minutes later, main course after 35 minutes (IMPORTANT NOTICE - it was a menu, so all 16 guests ate the same menu). So we did not wait until desert, ´we have decided to go to village and eat some light dinner, because served menu was very poor and average.
The only one and quite positive was the pool (but was not 100 % clean). And wi-fi. BUT very poor speed.
Breakfast - cold buffet + 1 type of omelette.
And noice from everywhere. If you like life sex sound from neighboring room or children crying or trampling on the corridor, this hotel is the right place for you. All the time you feel like in a student´s dormitory or in prison.
You can find a lot of similar properties for the same price but better service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 266j_ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just returned from a week in this delightful village of San Baronto, the Hotel Monti is a little diamond in the hills of Tuscany, the hotel and is run by Diana & francesco, and you could not meet a more dedicated couple in this family run hotel, which is absolutley fantastico for service, food & staff, they are the most helpful owners you could meet, and we enjoyed the, pool, the food and the company. This is a very good base (with car) to see the Toscana countyside and has some fantastic views across the valleyof Mount Alben.

Gary & Paula Murphy

Room Tip: Room 214 excellent facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Pros:The location in the mountain was great. The pool also. Free parking. Wifi was actually free (but very very poor speed). Like everyone else said - it's a perfecet spot for people like us who travel by car and went Pisa, Chianti, Da vincis birthplace and so on. It's right in the middle. The staff was serviceminded especially the lady in the reception.

Cons:Bad aircond. Bad speed on the wifi(but its free). Little to much sweetnes on breakfast table. Hard to find good healthie breakfast. The restaurant aint that great that people say on booking.com. If you expect a simple meal for an ok price maybe ok. It all depends on what your expectations are. We had the unluck to sit right beside the playground for kids that were playing ball and we almost got the ball in our food! Parents(french) did'nt care at all.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Darthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

There are many things to dislike about this hotel. First, the staff is unprofessional and rude and the rooms need renewal.

I stayed there with my girlfriend and she needed a proper blanket to sleep, but all we could find was a thin piece of fabric in the closet. I went asking for a thicker blanket and to my astonishment the couple that run the hotel started to argue with me why I needed a thicker blanket, since it was not that cold. Eventually we got what we needed.

Then there was the internet, which was extremely slow by the way. You might not care too much about the internet, but read on. They say it's for free but they give you a password that is valid for two hours. Because I had to do work, I went asking the owner for a new password. He was sitting on the sofa in the living room, feet on the coffee table. He stood up shouting something, clearly bothered, I asked him what he had said and to my astonishment, he repeated it in my face "do you make love with the internet?". No kidding.

The room I stayed was generally clean, except for the old minibar that was very dusted on the top and unplugged from electricity. Mind you, there was ONE electric plug in the entire and that was in the bathroom.

Last but not least, my reservation was paid in advance, so I had to stay the nights I had booked. We've chosen to stay in a place in the hills to relax from our city trips, but on the first night they had a bus full youngsters staying there that were screaming in the corridor until 1 in the morning.

I guess those are reasons enough not to recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bernardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Service very good, always accompanied by the sympathy of the great managers Diana and Chef Francesco! Hotel super recommended! Very well located, allowing easy access to Florence, Pisa, Pistoia, Vinci .... Gardens and pool well treated, and the calm which reigns throughout the surrounding green! Purely family environment! Hotel Monti ... "our house"!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Baronto
7.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Cappugi
Hotel Villa Cappugi
#1 of 11 in Pistoia
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#2 of 2 in San Baronto
168 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#1 of 1 in Poggio a Caiano
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#2 of 5 in Carmignano
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Antico Masetto
Hotel Antico Masetto
#2 of 3 in Lamporecchio
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel MonnaLisa
Hotel MonnaLisa
#2 of 4 in Vinci
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monti Hotel

Address: Via della Chiesa 2, 51035 San Baronto, Lamporecchio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Lamporecchio > San Baronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Baronto
Price Range: $68 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Monti, a splendid 3-star hotel situated in San Baronto in the heart of Tuscany, among the gentle hills of the Pistoian Chianti region. Our friendly and professional staff will look after you from the moment you arrive to make your holiday unforgettable. Our strong points are the family management, great attention to detail, but most important of all, the outstanding cuisine. A word of advice…Let yourself be spoilt… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Monti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monti Hotel Lamporecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing