We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isola Bella”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Isola Bella

Isola Bella
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.34*
and up
Borromean Islands Hop-On Hop-Off Ferry Tour from Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of three magical islands on Lake Maggiore, Isola Bella charms visitors with its magnificent Baroque palace and terraced gardens that slope to the lake.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Isola Bella”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our tour of Borromeo Palace on Isola Bella was arranged by the tour group we were a part of. We were inside the Palace a total of 15 to 20 minutes, I have never been on such a rushed tour, it was so disappointing. I would have like to have been able to spend some time looking around and taking in the different rooms. Our guide was very entertaining but his intend was to move us along and that he did. We never saw the grotto's and I realized after buying a book on the isle in the book store. Then I realized how much we missed of the Palace, disappointing.
I would not miss Isola Bella if you traveled to the area. The gardens are amazing, I would try to see if you could get a longer tour which showed more of the Palace.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmedei48752016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    236
    56
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Garden and Palace”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Easy, quick ferry from Stresa. Allow 2-3 hours. Very elaborate formal gardens and palace. Grottos were unique. We went to Isola Madre afterwards. Can get senior tickets at ferry stop for ferry and gardens. No need for private boats by ferry stop. We allowed a full day for leisurely hotel breakfast, two islands with lunch at Isola Madre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben There S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One Of Our Favorite Experiences”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We've been to a lot of amazing palaces/castles in Europe but this was one of our favorites. The setting of the Borromeo Palace on Isola Bella is just stunning. The boat ride from Stresa to the island unfortunately only takes five minutes each way. The views from the lake were fantastic. The palace itself is resplendent with Murano glass chandeliers, Flemish tapestries, painting by "The Masters" etc. and fascinating cave like grotto rooms filled with Roman and Etruscan antiquities. Beautiful terraced gardens with flowers, fountains, topiary trees and the ever present white peacocks complete the estate. There's a small street with shops, cafes and restaurants just a short walk from the dock for relaxing and enjoying the views across the lake. If you are in the area be sure to make the time for this visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationDays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Isola Bella - perfectly named”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We went to Milan for the last long weekend in September and decided to go to Lake Maggiore on the Saturday, getting the train from Milan to Stresa, which in itself is a beautiful village. We took the ferry to the Island and were so impressed by the Gardens that are so well kept. A must see for anyone visiting that part of the World.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very grand”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped in Stresa on Lake Maggiore and could see Isola Bella from the shore. Took a boat ride out to both islands and was completely blown away by the sheer beauty of this island. Completely dominated by the grand palace and gardens. The house itself has some stunning artwork, tapestries and statuary. The grottoes are equally fascinating. The gardens excel and certainly out-do the palace. White peacocks are dotted about the grounds, and the teatro massimo is just magnificent. The box parterres are beautifully planted and the views from the gardens are just wonderful. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Bella also viewed

Verbania, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing