We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante A Lareira

Restaurante A Lareira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Antwerp
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This restaurant is only about five minutes from where I live, and though I had heard a lot of good about it from friends , I went there for the first time the day before yesterday. I was pleasantly surprised
by the good service, friendly waiters and good food for a reasonable price. I will definetely go back .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KolibriAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my husband always go there every time we come to Portugal, it is our absolute favorite. The menu is always changing and there is always something new. My husbands favorite is brazilian Picanha and he insists it's the best he ever had. The fish is always fresh and fabulously cooked. The decoration is really nice and cozy. Definitely a place you need to check! Ah.. and another really important thing, they can speak English (not for granted in Portugal.. ). ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOssley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How do they do that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from holiday in Caldas. Ate at A Lareira 3 times and on every occasion food was excellent and service second to none. On two occasions we ate the set menu. 8.59 euro, I just don't know how they are making money on this. The choice was fabulous and the food was wonderful, staff speak quite good English and happy to translate menu. If in this area it is a must to visit, at this price not worth cooking at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grossy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldas da Rainha
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, superb value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been to a couple of 'group lunches' and one 'dinner for two' at this restaurant in the past 12 months and the experience has always been highly acceptable in all respects (food quality and service, decor etc).

But yesterday we went for a 'businessman's lunch' and we simply don't know how they do it at the price. We chose:

*bread, and toast, with a homemade 'tuna spread'
*an unexpected amuse bouche (a couple of prawns on a bed of rocket)
* cauliflower soup
*sirloin steak (or Portuguese equivalent)....could have had fish
*strawberries
*coffee

and all for 8,50 Euros each. Perfectly good house wine was 1,50 a glass.

It really did raise the questions of whether you could do it any cheaper at home, and we rather doubt it.

We forgot to ask for how long this offer is continuing but we would urge anyone in the Caldas da Rainha area to take advantage of it while they can.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Me and my husband always go there every time we come to Portugal, it is our absolute favorite. The menu is always changing and there is always something new. My husbands favorite is brazilian Picanha and he insists it's the best he ever had. The fish is always fresh and fabulously cooked. The decoration is really nice and cozy. Definitely a place you need to check! Ah.. and another really important thing, they can speak English (not for granted in Portugal.. ). ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante A Lareira also viewed

Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
 
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
 

Been to Restaurante A Lareira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing