We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant!”
Review of Sabores D'Italia

Sabores D'Italia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $67
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Caldas da Rainha for New Year's Eve on our honeymoon without reservations. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were extremely satisfied. Since we did not have a reservation, we went when they opened and they were able to fit us in. The service was wonderful and staff was helpful in making recommendations. The man who showed us our table also spoke perfect English, which was extremely helpful for us.

We had the lamb and chicken breast for our entrees, a caprese salad as an appetizer, and a bottle of wine (which staff recommended). All of it was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbbyCLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We thank you very much for your visit in our restaurant in a so special occasion (it remember us also our honeymoon 31 years ago), Like us, wish you much happiness in life and in the future. Congratulations!
Concerning your comment (your husband is a very expert man in Douro wines) we feel very proud. Best regards. Maria João and Norberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    80
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcobaca, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nicely decorated restaurant, very friendly staff, excellent food. You are always very welcome, and they do everything to make you feel special. The last time we had dinner at Sabores d'Italia it was our wedding anniversary, and we had a great time. All dishes are mouthwatering, you can taste they are all made with love for good food.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ifranken67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen us to celebrate a date so special to you, which also made ​​us feel special. Secondly we want to thank the comment that made us very excited because it means that you are people who recognize our commitment. You'll be always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down...”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The restaurant was recommended to us by a friend and all the reviews on line seemed positive, so decided to check it out. First appearances -- very clean and the gentleman who showed us to our table was great. The restaurant has too much of white lights and could do with warmer yellow lighting, but we liked the clean cut style of it. Ordered the garlic bread which was very hard. Main course of duck (small portions, but tasted good) and crab risotto (found lots of shell and a sharp plastic bit in it) was a let down. I think the crab was tinned and not fresh, hence the packaging and shell. It did not taste like fresh crab anyway. The staff did say that the plastic was probably part of the crab packaging! Didn't care much for the dessert either. We did point out the "extras" in the risotto, but we still ended up paying full price. Only one of us had alcohol and ended up paying Euros. 75 (incl. tip). Pretty expensive and don't know if we'd go back... Hope it was just a one-off for the chef...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We apologize again for that piece of plastic found in risotto. When we prepare the crabs we put it in using small gastronorm boxes, but they break up and we did not see at the time. It is an accident that happens sometimes without realizing it. When this rarely happens we take special attention to the client: prepare another dish or no charge. You told us that it was not necessary because you were happy and had eaten everything, so we charge thinking you had understood the accident. In Portugal the service is included. The client just leaves tipping if he wants and when he's satisfied. That's what we thought when you gave us € 15 tip. Anyway we invite you to visit us again to give us the opportunity to repair this accident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbeck
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay and to enjoy life”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We know Maria Joao and Norberto for quite a long time, about ten years. Several years ago we frequently visited the old restaurant and got to know a typical and tasteful meal in Caldas. So we came to this place every holidays we spent near Caldas da Rainha.(We come from Germany).
The new restaurant is modern, designed very tastefully and with a warm athmosphere. The meals are excellent and perfect like ever. The service is perfect, the winecard is high standard, each guest can rely on the chef`s recommendation. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc2012Melbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Propietario at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and friendly comment! Hope to see you for many more years with the same quality. It's always a pleasure to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obidos, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Always the same for over 10 years”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The best thing you can say about a place you go for maybe 15 years is that it is the same and so good as always. Very Good and diversified Menu and very good wine selection. very good staff and excelent management. Since they moved to this new place even the facilities and design are great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Propietario at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment! For our guests we do everything... just the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabores D'Italia also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Sabores D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing