We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Carpathian Escapes tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Carpathian Escapes
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
28
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding fantastic experience two days untouched nature transylvania guide trail escapes hiking route mountains bears knowledge horses culture adventure tourists
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 33 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

The help that we received from Eniko was excellent. She connected us with the tour we wanted and with accommodations that were close by. The riding experience was exactly what I was looking for and the outfit was top notch. They took great care of their horses and their clients. The emails were responses and in English for us non Romanian types. I will definitely use their services again when I visit. 5 Stars!!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko D, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear John, thank you very much for your kind review and you are welcome back anytime in Transylvania and in the Carpathians.
All the best,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We contacted Carpathian Escapes before going to Transylvania looking for activities to fill up a three day stay in the area. Eniko got back to us quickly with recommendations and plans.

The first activity we did was a full day of horse riding in the Hasmas Mountains. Our english speaking guide, Istvan, met us and took us to the farm in the mountains where we started our ride. The horses were very well trained, and was matched to our experience levels (one experienced rider, two intermediate and one beginner). We had a fantastic ride up the mountain, riding along trails through meadows and old forests. When we came back to the farm we were treated to a fantastic home cooked meal before we left.

Our guide was very attentive and had a lot of information about the areas history and wildlife. You can really tell that Carpathian Escapes have a strong connection to the area.

The next day we were picked up by Istvan again. We were supposed to do a gorge walking trip, but due to the unseasonal rains the route that was planned wasn't the best option anymore, so instead we went for a canyoning trip far into the mountains. I think that we got lucky, because this trip was the best canyoning trip we have ever had. After a drive into a remote area (the last village we passed got electricity 10 years ago) and an almost two hour long hike we got to descend 15 waterfalls in a river canyon with our guides and another three person group. After the descent we hiked back to the cars and were treated to a rustic dinner in the meadows with ham, bread, cheese and tomatoes, before driving to sleep at a rural mansion that CE had recommended.

We rounded off the trip the day after with a mountain carting session.

We are very happy with the stay that CE arranged for us in Transylvania, and would recommend it very much!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Peder Hans Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko D, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Peder,
Thank you very much for your detailed review, it is very much appreciated. You and your family are always welcome back in the Eastern Carpathians.
Best wishes,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

I went horseriding for 5 days through the Carpathian mountains. With great well taken care of horses we rode through the beautiful nature of Romania. The guide was very experienced and gave a great feeling of comfort. Really once in a lifetime experience, with raw untouched nature and ultimate freedom on the back of a horse!

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kpender90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hi Kelly,
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy that you enjoyed your trail ride in the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania. You are always welcome back for anotther tour or another ride.
Best wishes,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

The tour was great and we where really alone at the bear hide. Our guide knows a lot about bears and took the time to give us our experience. We saw a big male bear. He didn't notice our presents. We loved it.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rositaderoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Rosita,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of world travelers here. Thank you for choosing and trusting us for your private brown bear watching tour. We would love to have you back here to join our other tours.
Greetings in the name of the whole team,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We did the Vargyas canyon hike. Best trip of our holiday. Really good guide! We recommend this!! It is 45 min/ one hour drive from Brasov.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank claudiaX9146Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Claudia,
Thank you for your kind words and for recommending us in the name of the whole team.

Best wishes,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews