We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Carpathian Escapes tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Carpathian Escapes
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
28
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding fantastic experience two days untouched nature transylvania guide trail escapes hiking route mountains bears knowledge horses culture adventure tourists
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 33 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

The tour was great and we where really alone at the bear hide. Our guide knows a lot about bears and took the time to give us our experience. We saw a big male bear. He didn't notice our presents. We loved it.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rositaderoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Rosita,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of world travelers here. Thank you for choosing and trusting us for your private brown bear watching tour. We would love to have you back here to join our other tours.
Greetings in the name of the whole team,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We did the Vargyas canyon hike. Best trip of our holiday. Really good guide! We recommend this!! It is 45 min/ one hour drive from Brasov.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank claudiaX9146Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Claudia,
Thank you for your kind words and for recommending us in the name of the whole team.

Best wishes,
Eniko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

My boyfriend and me went on the 6 days-ride through the mountains.
We got picked up by a very friendly guide in bukarest. He welcomed us very warm! He drove us to the horse-ranch-and time flew by very fast. His knowledge is far beyond what he needs to know... You will learn a lot about history, the nature and even pick food in the nature to cook it in the campfire for dinner :) the family at the horseranch also welcomed us lovely and we felt like family from the first moment. The food they cooked was very tasty and cooked with love. It's always more than enough and you never need to go hungry :)
The horses are very healthy, fit and happy. They had fast horses for experienced riders and very safe ones for beginners. Everybody could go as fast as you want and feel comfortable with. They choose the horses perfectly for us and also choosed the perfect trails for our level. All together we had one of the best holidays ever and had the chance to meet some lovely people. The rides very amazing, the people very caring and the landscape very beautiful.. we had a lot of fun and we will definitively be back!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank inesbrassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
István A, Guest Relations Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Ines,
Thank you so much for your kind review. I hope you really enjoyed the Nomad Tour. It was a pleasure to guide you in this hidden landscapes. You and Christian are welcome anytime back in the Eastern Carpathians!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

A week horse riding in the Hăşmaş Mountains of Transylvania was a great unique adventure.
Despite the rather mixed weather, I had a great time which I cant really fault (albieit the weather on a couple of days was a bit wild and stormy). The guide (Istvan) and our horse riding host family were exceptional and highly professional and really went out of their way to make this a memorable experience. Anyone who goes on this trip should definitely expect to have an authentic cultural experience as well as being hosted by a lovely hospitable Hungarian family who clearly have great passion for their horses. The horses were very well cared for and perfect for my riding level with a good mix of walking/cantering/galloping. Riding durations each day were also just right (4-5 hours) - I believe they have refined the routes and ride lengths over many years of experience.
The environment - very remote, mountainous, vast natural forests with beautiful wildflower meadows, shepherds with their large (human friendly) dogs for protecting their stock from bears and wolves....
A highlight for me was camping out in the high pastures for two nights, cooking and eating around the camp fire, being a little excited at the prospect of seeing a bear or wolf (didn’t see any but saw some very large bear footprints), getting to meet shepherds and experiencing a little of their culture (which hasn’t changed in centuries), watching them making cheese, milking and naming each one of their 30 cows with great pride and drama!
Our guide and interpreter Istvan was exemplary and highly professional. He made huge effort to look after our needs and enthusiastically share his wide knowledge of local history, culture and nature....as well as driving us to/from Bucharest and taking us on interesting side trips. He did an amazing and tricky job too of balancing three languages fluently - Hungarian, German and English . A very positive and generous person for sure.
Would highly recommend Carpathian Escapes! Be prepared for unpredictable mountain weather (in springtime at least).

Date of experience: June 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank markgy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
István A, Guest Relations Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Dear Mark, Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the Eastern Carpathians!
You are always welcome back in Transylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Fantastic experience...our whole family (including three elementary school boys) loved it! From start to finish, Carpathian Escapes handled everything beautifully and made our hike the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank eecoker02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eniko B, Manager at Carpathian Escapes, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2018

Dear Erin, thank you very much for taking the time for reviewing us. Best wishes to you and your beautiful family. You are always welcome back in Transylvania and the Eastern Carpathians!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews