We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aphrodite Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vatera
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
495 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Relaxing, excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in the Aphrodite for 30 days during the off season, the family was incredible! Very helpful, caring and made our stay a great experience. We actually felt like family as they invited us to their Easter celebrations, took us to local events and made sure all our needs were accommodated. This is a great place for a family vacation, nice beach, not overrun with tourists, the locals are friendly and the atmosphere relaxing. As world travelers, we know a great hotel and friendly people, we definitely recommend the Aphrodite Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This has to be one of the most beautiful and relaxing spots in all of Greece. This hotel is fabulous for any familly with small children. The beach is liteally steps from your room. The beach is filled with umbellas and tables and even a trampoline for the kids. Yiannis and Georgos went out of their way to help us with any questions ar travell advice that we had. They even booked our day excursion to Turkey , and our ferry back to the mainland. The hotel room had plenty of space for us and our 2 kids ( 7-8) and the airconditioning worked ( very rare for a greek hotel). The food was amazing and the vegies grown in their own garden.They also rent vehicles on the property and I would recommend takeing a tour of the island , there are some spectacular veiws a short drive away. When we return to Greece this hotel is definitely on our list of places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mad_greek2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife and me have been together with friends and celebrated birthdays together with friends twice at Aphrodite Hotel. So we decided to do the same when we both had our 60 th. birthday in 2010. One year ago we sent out our invitations to friends and family and asked them to join us at the Aphrodite Hotel in Vatera. We included a presentation of the hotel and the island. The response was fenomenal: 43 friends and family members said yes and joined us. Our invitation was open: people could come and go and decide how long they would be at the hotel. Some of our friends booked chartertour and other bought cheap planetickets to Mytilini (capital of Lesvos, airport). Tickets can be bought at reasonable prices many months in advance. To cut a long story short:
Nearly everyone was present Friday the 2. of July (the last couple came Saturday morning at 8.a.m.!). We had a nice meal at the taverna and a sing-along evening. Saturday the 3 rd. of july we took a boat trip with our friends to Plomari ( reasonable price)- had a wonderful lunch at the restaurant by the harbour, and returned to Vatera around 3 o'clock. We recommend the trip!
In the evening we had a fantastic party: The Hahathakis family had prepared a greek meal which according to our local friends from Lesvos, represented greek cuisine at it's best! The meal was splendid, the wine was perfect, and the rest of the evening was an adventure: local folk-dance group visited us, fantastic musicians from Mytilini played greek music, we danced, we sang, had birthday cake from the lokal baker's, the temperature was nice ... we have a memory for our lifetime!
Our friends and family expressed their gratitude and comlimented everything, the music, the food, the entertainment and the wine and the party, teh trip to Plomari....
We enjoyed every second and can only recommend to other who are looking for another way of celebrating a family- occasion or just looking for a place where you can have a great party : go to Aphrodite Hotel!
Our hosts were wonderful, they joined in the party and Yannis have a wonderful voice and is a great singer, Yannis and Georgos' mother gave a greek dance in honour of us, the daughters joined in serving the food, the service was excellent and everybody enjoyed our party and had a nice evening.
The hotel is vey good, service splendid and the way the two brothers handled every practical situation was performed with a smile. We were a group of 41 norwegians, many at the same age as us (60 +), we had fine beach , good lunches and breakfasts and in the evenings most of us prefered to have dinner at the taverna of Aphrodite.
Some advice: start he planning of a group trip many months before departure so that your guests can find reasonable tickets for the jouney, includ information about Lesvos. Aphrodite rents cars to reasonable prices and there are attractions around the island well worth a visit. Be careful when you leave :at the aiport in Mytilini they includ handluggage in total weight, per per kilo overweight luggage is horrible!
We had our best birthdayparty ever at Aphrodite Hotel. We took our trip in low season, May, June and first weeks of July would be the best period for people who are not too used to really hot temperatures. Anyhow: the beach and the water is splendid!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

The rooms are very outdated, but the staff is so welcoming and friendly. They were very helpful; they tried to help us rearrange the ferry so that we could stay longer. One of the staff members even offered to make us a grilled cheese when we had trouble deciding what we wanted to eat off of the menu. It was so sweet and really accomodating.

The rooms were quite outdated, but it didn't really affect our stay because we spent most of our time on the beach.

A word of advice- make sure you have transportation arranged or you can catch the bus there. Our ferry arrived at 10pm and we had to take a cab to the hotel... about 65 euros!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeravoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

This trip was the best trip our family has ever taken. There were several reasons that our family loved this trip, but the most important reason was the Hahathakis family that runs the Aphrodite hotel. The Hahathakis family treated our family as if we were part of their family and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. We loved the fact that the hotel was family run and that much of the food is grown in the family garden and that all the cooking is done by the family. We were so grateful to the Hahathakis family for their kindness. One memorable night the Hahathakis family wandered out to the beach after serving dinner to the guests and then having dinner themselves to share a bottle of wine while they took in the beautiful full moon rising over the sea. Our family was across the street in the dining room when Yannis, the owner, beckoned us over to share the night (and some wine) with him and his family.

The hotel is located in the small seaside village of Vatera. The village pretty much consists of a single road along the beach with small hotels, cafes and restaurants on one side of the road and the beach on the other. The beach is one of the nicest beaches on Myitilini. It is not a white sand beach, but instead a combination of rock and darker sand beach. It is nonetheless a beautiful beach and the ocean was always great for swimming and was never rough or overly wavy while we were there. We had perfect weather while we were there with temps in the 80s and sunny every day.

The hotel is a small family run affair with somewhere around 20 rooms. The rooms were very nice and clean. Our room had a small tv which was nice to catch the Eurovision 2010 competition. The hotel is perfect for families. The Hahathakis family treated our 10 year old son like the most important guest to ever come to their hotel. They also have a trampoline on the beach which the kids love. The hotel is definitely set up for families as well as couples who enjoy the sound of kids.

The island itself is beautiful. We rented a car from the family travel agency and took several trips around the island. On several occasions I had to be careful to keep my eyes on the road as there are some spectacular views to be found. The island is the 3rd largest island in Greece and has two large bays. On almost any drive you will find yourself going into the mountains with a beautiful view of a bay or the ocean or of a valley.

The island is not overly touristy. Many of the villages on the island are working villages. We enjoyed driving to the various villages and discovering the thing that made that particular village unique. But, there are also villages that are set up more for the tourist trade such as the city of Petra which is situated along the ocean and is picture postcard beautiful.

Our trip was in May which is the beginning of the season. As such the hotel was not full and we were happy to be the recipients of the extra attention from the family. However, the next time we go we will most likely go a few weeks later. The family has a band that they will strike up when they have a larger audience and we look forward to the music and dancing.

If you are looking for a trip to Greece that isn't overly touristy, on a beautiful island, with a stay at a hotel run by a local family who treat their guests more like family members than customers then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjdollar_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This is a family owned and operated facility. The location is great and the facility is clean and well kept. The food at the hotel is very good and there are a number of tavernas within a short distance if you want variation. I recommend Vatera Beach and Aphrodite Hotel if you are looking for a restful vacation with no bad surprises. It was the ultimate Greek island experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Our Stay at Aphrodite Hotel was absolutely incredible. My wife and I had the most relaxing time of our lives. A 10 km long beach to stroll on, crystal clear waters, incredible food and service made our stay memorable. The hotel is family owned and operated and they couldn't do enough for you. The brothers Yannis and Georgos and their wives were always there to help with car rentals or information on where to sight see. They even booked our ferry tickets for us. The homemade meals were delicious and the vegetables are grown in their garden next door. It doesn't get any fresher than that! Our rooms were very comfortable and very clean and the view of the sea from our balcony was mesmerizing. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosmakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vatera
24.8 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Irini Hotel
Irini Hotel
#3 of 5 in Vatera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
20.2 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eftalou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#6 of 12 in Molyvos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vatera Beach
Hotel Vatera Beach
#1 of 5 in Vatera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Beach Hotel

Property: Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Address: Vatera 81300, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Vatera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Vatera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aphrodite Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESVOS is a traditional island, virtually unaffected by mass tourism. Made up of small , closely knit towns and villages, Lesvos is a safe haven for those who want to experience the real Greece. The majestic beach of VATERA is the largest and most beautiful beach of LESVOS ISLAND. Situated on the southern side VATERA'S seemingly endless stretch of sandy-pebble beach has been repeatedly awarded the Blue Flag of E.E.C (European union ) for it's clean , unspoiled beach and water. APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL is built on the seafront of VATERA beach. Built and owned by John and George Hahathakis ,it is completely family run. John's wife Maria is from Kelowna, B.C. Canada and George's wife Georgina from the island. We all speak English and are always ready to provide our Customers with excellent service and to make you feel at home. The friendly service , clean and relaxed atmosphere will ensure that your holiday is unique and unforgettable. APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL has single , double and triple occupancy rooms , double and triple studios , as well as fully-furnished apartments ( with 2 or 3 bedrooms ), all together 102 beds. All rooms have : Air-conditioning , T.V with cable reception, mini bar ( hotel rooms ) , or mini kitchenette (studios) , hair - dryers , safety deposit boxes (hotel rooms), telephones , music , bathrooms with luxurious facilities and verandas with sea or mountain view. This is more than a good hotel. This is the kind of place you end up coming back to every year to see the friends you have made. Inexpensive and family run with a great taverna the hotel is right on the beach at Vatera, which is one of the best beaches in Greece. Owned by Maria and John who are Greek-Canadians who really go out of their way to make sure guests enjoy themselves and take pride in their hotel and the island of Lesvos.There seem to always be English-speaking kids around for ours to play with and that is a plus of course. Vatera and the area around Polychnitou is the most interesting part of Lesvos with hot springs, traditional villages and traditional island products, many of which are available in the hotel. On Saturday nights they have live Greek music and dancing and it can get very festive. They also rent cars to their guests so they can see the whole island. Best of all for the kids they have a trampoline which keeps them more occupied than the sea does. WI-FI FREE INTERNET ALL OVER THE HOTEL...... APHRODITE also has to offer: RESTAURANT - TAVERNA- on the seafront Aphrodite Restaurant - Taverna has a huge selection of traditional Greek food prepared in the traditional lesvos way. The excellent homemade dishes are our mother's recipes ( who runs the kitchen) and are all prepared by our own extra virgin olive oil which we produce ourselves during the winter. Our father grows all the vegetables for the hotel and a large percentage of the fish we serve is also caught by him. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Aphrodite Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Hotel Vatera
Aphrodite Beach Hotel Vatera, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing