We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Quite often stop here on journey from Hampshire to Devon for a drink. However on this occasion we decided we would stay and i am glad we did. Was really lovely. Rooms lovely, clean and quiet. Food really good and generous!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    60
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
71
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited as a party of 10 aged from mid 20's to 90's on a Tuesday lunchtime. In addition to the varied ages we had one Vegan, one Vegetarian, 2 Piscatorians and 6 Carnivores !. All expressed themselves happy with the Menu , and were subsequently delighted with their choices. Fresh ingredients, superbly cooked and well presented - without undue waiting time despite the fact that we'd not pre-ordered added to the enjoyment. Beer drinkers were happy with the range on offer and the wine was palatable. A varied range of interesting soft drinks kept drivers happy. Despite being midweek the restaurant bar was pleasantly full and the undemanding and unpretentious atmosphere " buzzed". Everyone had mains, some also desserts /coffees and with wines and beers the bill came to just over £220 . Truly superb value. with something for everyone!

Room Tip: Only used restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've just come back from a weekend staying at the Devonshire Arms. The whole experience was delightful. I arrived late, hot and slightly bothered, on Friday evening from London to a very warm, no hassle, friendly welcome from everyone I spoke to, at what must have been the busiest time of the night. My room which was in the courtyard building was lovely and cool, tastefully decorated and immaculate. A nice touch also to have a complimentary bottle of water which was replenished the following day. If you wanted a quiet early night, which I didn't , I would stay in the main building as the courtyard rooms are exactly that and quite rightly on a nice warm evening people are outside talking until late. Cooked breakfast was delicious and the brown toast evenly crisp and beautifully nutty - both attributes sadly all too often missing in hostelries these days. At the Devonshire, Phil and his team are very obliging - nothing was too much trouble, including the miscellany of storing a bicycle to providing an iron and ironing board. Very relaxed, but efficient and I'd recommend it to anyone to stay. Oh, and the Malbec was very good too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatzRme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The owners have beautifully converted the adjacent building (years ago it was a very active skittle alley) into a private dining area seating up to 14.
You can order from the standard menu and, if there are more than 8 in the party it doesn't cost anything extra! There is a £50 charge for 8 or less.
The decor and ambience is suited for a special celebration in private. There is currently
One long dining table seating 14 easily with ample room for glassware and table dressing.

Although I have yet to dine in this room I am certainly having my next birthday party there!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This pub/restaurant has many positive attributes - tasteful internal décor, nice staff and good quality food. The down side is that the portions are extremely small and the prices are above average. I had a sandwich at lunchtime - two small slices of bread and a not very generous filling. Well-presented but would only keep a mouse going for a few hours. The choice for vegetarians is also a bit poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivermedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked a medium sized double room, not massive but the quality of the décor was excellent. Lovely comfy bed and really high quality bed linen. Had a lovely dinner with friends, pricey but very good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in one of the best rooms in the hotel – certainly a better (and larger) room than on a previous trip. Facilities were excellent and the hosts welcoming. We had a nice ‘sea view’ from the bedroom window (the floods hit the area pretty hard and many fields were underwater but it didn’t affect our stay).

As ever, the food was top notch: we had steak and it’s always a worry when the restaurant does not provide steak knives. Fortunately, when the meat was as good as they served, you don’t actually need them. Great duck and a nice cheese board.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langport
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Property: Devonshire Arms
Address: Long Sutton, Langport TA10 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Langport, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing