We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We dropped in for lunch on spec, having always liked the look of the building. It exceeded our expectations in envy sense. Clearly the owners have invested a lot in the hotel and the lovely gardens. The service was excellent, the was a good choice on the menu of locally sourced food with a good price range.

We had the homemad burger and a chargrilled beef open sandwich, both of which were excellent. We'd go back like a shot!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheddar_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Devonshire Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was perfect great modern rooms , great service and staff wonderful food , great location , near to Glastonbury and all near to somerset wouid stay again. It was beyond lovely top hotel .this hotel is family run the staff worked very hard .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahLouisej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been here a few times now and will defiantly go back. The staff are very professional and extremely friendly. The food is fantastic, the 'best' steak my husband has ever had. I love the sausage and mash and would recommend this again and again for a warm hearty meal. The cheeses are all local and taste great and we even took our newborn there and still the staff were more than welcoming to us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midwifemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Long Sutton a small village just a few miles off A303 and it offers rather good lunch and dinner. We have popped in several times over the years and not been disappointed with the service or food. Always comfortably busy. The layout is simple and uncluttered that helps staff to give good service. Contained menu yet offers sufficient choice to meet majority of tastes. More an adult venue rather than families. Location by village green plus a small outside seating area give it an extra appeal.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Due to the Glastonbury weekend we could not get in at our usual place. The Devonshire was further away but far nicer and worth the journey. We had the last room. It was only small but more than adequate for our needs. We did not eat there in the evening as we already had plans to meet friends. Breakfast was really nice, cooked to order and very relaxed. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again and will eat in too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday night. Lovely location, fab room, very friendly service, great food in restaurant downstairs, big breakfast.

We were in room 1. One note of caution if you book this room. It's directly above the kitchens so quite noisy until the kitchens closed at 11pm (and a vague whiff of cabbage too ;-)) though no noise in the morning when they were preparing Bfast luckily.

Though the room has a huge bathroom with lovely big bath.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markpilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We live quite near to the Devonshire Arms and consider it as a real treat to dine or lunch there. The Sunday lunch is always wonderful - important things like hot plates, beautifully tender meat, lashings of excellent gravy and extra pork crackling (if you ask nicely) make each and every visit a wonderful experience. I haven't stayed in the rooms, but know of family of friends who will stay nowhere else in the area. Dinner is yet another festival of flavour and everything so fresh and appetizing. The wines are always good and the staff - well I don't know where they come from but they are inevitably charming young people with good attitudes, friendly dispositions and have obviously had great training as they never forget anything and treat you with respectful yet approachable professionalism. Well done Devonshire Arms - keep changing the menu and keep impressing us and we will keep coming back! Oh one more thing, in the summer you can sit outside and eat wonderful salads and sip gorgeous wine at the back in the courtyard or in the front. Never been disappointed! Even had my 40th there (though a few years back now). Try it!

Room Tip: Views over the village green may be worth picking! I gather the breakfast is good too from friends...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langport
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
230 reviews
10.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
3.7 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Address: Long Sutton, Langport TA10 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Price Range: $140 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Langport, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing