We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The only annoying thing for us was finding the place! Satnav just didnt know where it was. So we had to ring the hotel twice and get them to guide us in! Which they did and were very helpful.

Stayed here for 1 night only due to a friends wedding. Unfortuantley didnt get to spend much time in the hotel or surrounding area but I can tell it would be perfect for a weekend break as a family of couple.

We literally had a quick shower, change and off to wedding in less than a hour. The receptionist was helpful in booking a taxi.

Rooms was abit on the small side I thought. Although it was kitted out nicley and I got a goodnights sleep.

Bathroom was nice and spacious.

Brekfast was very good quality and verging on what i would call posh full english. It was very nice indeed if a little on the small side for a grown man or somone with a big appetite.

If you were thinking of this place for a weekend stay I would reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kir321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    70
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
81
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

lovely inn in a quiet village.room superb, staff very efficient and friendly, food excellent and sensibly priced. even the locally brewed beer was good. Cant give this pub enough praise. There is also a very good local golf course. Absolutely ideal for a quiet break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilkoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here recently for a friend's wedding taking place nearby.

The rooms are very comfortable and most seem to have been renovated, although ours (Rm3) seemed to be on the 'still to do' list. We had friends in several other rooms and most had new bathrooms fitted - all were very nice. The bed was very comfortable indeed!

The staff were accommodating and helpful, but make sure that you check the website for opening times as the staff generally aren't on site when the restaurant/bar is closed.

The restaurant was good, and the food was of excellent quality with many ingredients being sourced locally. The bar also had a decent selection including some very nice local ales.

Although the village green setting is very picturesque there isn't much nearby in the way of amenities, but the village shop is very well stocked and includes a Post Office. Langport is a 10-15 minute drive away with a few more pubs and shops.

All in all, a very good hotel in a quiet setting - perfect for relaxing in the countryside!

Room Tip: Room 3 hasn't yet been renovated, but room 5 has and shares the same village green views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToffeeShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie0077
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked a room at the Devonshire Arms to attend a nearby wedding. Many wedding guests stayed at this hotel/pub and we all had a great experience.

The staff are attentive, accomodating and friendly. The food is lovely and the full English breakfast with locally sourced produce was fab - just what you need in the morning. However, the food and drink (outside of the complementary brekkie) was quite pricey and similar to London prices but as the only pub in village and a very nice pub at that I guess they can bump up the prices.

The hotel/pub itself is in a quiet village which literally has pub, post office and church (so a car is recommended if you want to explore) and it overlooks the village green. It is a really peaceful setting and you wouldn't know that there is a pub downstairs at all. It is very quiet.

The rooms were very clean, modern and well looked after. I would definately stay again and would highly recommend. It was a lovely weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottie0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked to stay here on a personal recommendation at the very last minute... website looked impressive, price was right and the food looked good too. We weren't disappointed... it was just what we needed and i would recommend the Devonshire Arms to anyone looking for a getaway from London who just wants to relax and enjoy the quiet surroundings, with comfortable beds and good food. We were also very impressed by the quality of the linen and the toiletries which was not what i would expect from a 'pub with rooms' .
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a large corner rooms with lovely views across the green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonhotelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A warm welcome and consistently good food ensure that we return time and again to meet up with friends at this lovely old, but tastefully modernised inn.

We enjoyed another excellent lunch yesterday for six of us, with a good, reasonably priced menu and a very helpful waitress. As a non meat eater there were two vegetarian options on the starter menu and one on the main menu, as well as two fish dishes to choose from; all ingredients being sourced as locally as possible.

There is a very pretty courtyard garden at the rear of the restaurant with tables and chairs for the odd occasion when the sun decides to shine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontagueSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Good cooking and charming service in this handsome pub. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langport
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
245 reviews
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Property: Devonshire Arms
Address: Long Sutton, Langport TA10 9LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Langport, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing