We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lime Kiln Inn

Lime Kiln Inn
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited the Lime Kiln many times over the last 5 years and always enjoyed it but I think they have become too complacent at their success as our visit yesterday was quite disappointing. We ordered roast beef which according to the board comes with Yorkshire puddings. When it turned up without, we asked for some, to be told they had run out. Exactly how long does it take to make another batch if you are running low?! We hadnt been told this when we ordered, a small thing maybe but we had all been looking forward to the traditional sunday roast. The beef was bloody and very pink, my 2 children couldnt face it and I struggled to eat it. If they are going to serve it almost raw then they should ask how you would like it to be done when you order. We almost sent it back to be cooked more thoroughly but the miserable waitress who served us had already been quite abrupt about the lack of Yorkshire puddings so I couldnt be bothered to face her displeasure again. We had to wait ages for our plates to be cleared and ages again to order puddings. One waitress to be fair, was lovely and smiley, but there was one that clearly didnt want to be there and didnt seem to want us there either! Get a different job I think. There is also a miserable bloke on the bar - the owner?? He didnt say thanks when we paid and didnt say goodbye. OK,If they dont want the custom then maybe i dont want to go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wizzy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersetfoodie898, Manager at Lime Kiln Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are very sorry to hear of your disapointing experience at The Lime Kiln. We have taken your comments and observations very seriously and will try hard to make sure this sort of bad experience does not happen again. We would hate to think we had become complacent as every customer deserves the best and on this particular occasion it was obviously not good enough. Once again sincere apologies and I hope you feel you will be able to visit us again. Please make yourselves known to us so that we can restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    102
    30
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have visited Lime Kiln a few times and food is very good and a great choice. On a personal level I require gluten free food which Lime kiln cater for well however I feel they could present this better on menu boards as they do with vegetarian dishes - afterall vegetarian is generally a choice not an allergy! although I did not have a dessert or enquire none looked to be gluten free, however a good choice for others.

Overall - great food, good choice, and fantastic they promote gluten content, however this could be improved.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nessie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very nice pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great pub grub, large dining room with chalk board menu and what a brillant menu it is, bonus if you have kids or fussy eaters then they will reduce the meal size. took 1 point from them for desserts as it states ''Fresh desserts are sourced locally'' when asked staff informed they come from Exeter but he said they look home made, this is the only let down I don't class Exeter as local,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Went again, and loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We made another trip down to the west coast (my brother wedding). We decided to stop at the Lime Kiln Inn once again. Once again we had a great meal, just what you want from a country pub.
We will be down again soon, and will be popping in again. Actually with my brother living in Devon,this will be a regular stop off, and I've recommended it to all the family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank branty1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,075 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
“A steak n kidney pie to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the applebarn in nearby little upton last august and was told about this place which is about a 5 minute drive from where we were.The place at first glance looked stunning with a huge carpark.When entering we were shown to our table and had our drinks order taken.The food arrived and i could not believe how much of it there was.The pie was clearly homecooked and so tasty but not enough of it!The veg was plentiful and as for the ales there was an ample choice too.A must if you are in this neck of the woods.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Kiln Inn also viewed

 
Langport, Somerset
 
Langport, Somerset
 

Been to Lime Kiln Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing