We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa in nice location”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Villa Antica Sosta

gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
gate
swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
gate
swimming pool
orange bedroom
view
garden
house
garden
barbecue
view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
red bedroom
garden
pink bedroom
blue bedroom
green bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
pool
roses
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Castelfiorentino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
wimvanges...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in nice location”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The villa looks exactly as shown in the pictures. From the terrace we had a beautiful overview over the valley.
We reserved a daily breakfast, which was very nice: every morning freshly baked cakes, quiches, fried eggs, fresh fruit, ... More than enough for breakfast. We usually ate the rest for lunch or as an afternoon snack.
We also participated in Maria's cooking class, and the pizza party : greatest pizza every!
Definitely to recommend!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Grazie mille, per aver deciso di trascorrere la vostra vacanza in Toscana, nella nostra villa. E' stato un piacere avervi avuto nostri ospiti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matroskin
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tuscan luxury hideaway”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 8 stayed at villa for a week. The house itself is beautiful and decorated inside and outside with so many delightful details. It was much better than the pictures. It is a bit off the road and you do need a car to get around. Maria and her family are great hosts! They cook Tuscan dinner for us one night and the next night all the women of the group participated in a cooking lesson - so much fun (nutella cookies was a hit!)! Pool was always clean and the entire property is very well maintained. You do need to buy all your cooking supplies (e.g. - salt, sugar, tea, oil) if you plan to cook and eat in like we did; all the necessary cookware and more is provided. The view from the second floor window is great, but if you want better view, just drive toward Montespertoli and enjoy!
Wi-Fi is provided in the house.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself
Liked least: Road to the house and a bit remote location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2013
thank you, to choose our villa to spend your Holiday in tuscany,
i hope that you come back in the future.
Best regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAW2013
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Tuscany”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This villa was the perfect place to stay for our family holiday in Italy. It has traditional Tuscan decor with large comfortable rooms and a wonderful outside area where we ate overlooking the garden, swimming pool, and a view over the Tuscan countryside. The bedrooms are as you see them in the photographs, all very colourful, a good size and clean. We were 9 adults so wondered if only having 3 bathrooms might have been an issue if we're all using them at the same time but it wasn't with plenty of hot water and plenty of power when all used at once!! Maria cooked us 2 meals, a traditional Tuscan and the other as our family named it the Pizza Party!! Both were lovely and worth the money. She was also very helpful before and during the holiday with any questions you had and organised a wine tasting evening at a local vineyard which was amazing.
The villa was very central for visits to Florence, Siena (both you could reach by train from the local town 10mins away), and San Gimignano.
We all had a very relaxing holiday at his beautiful villa and would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2013
hello Isobel, thank you to choose our villa for your Holiday in tuscany
regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chotomek
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“As good as you can imagine”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I was looking for a proper appartment / house for a long time and finally I've found Antica Sosta. There is everything what you can expect, large and clean house with Tuscan climate, equipped with all needed sorts of equipment. Perfect view on the surrounded hills and perfect and proffesional owner.
In one word I definitelly recomend for large families or group of friends as there are 5 bedrooms.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: surroundings
Liked least: access Road
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2013
Hello Mr. Kris, I hope that you can come back in my villa in the future
Best regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamoAuckl...
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

One of the most beautiful spots I have gone on holiday. Villa is stunning - all bedrooms were lovely, lots of amenities, fully stocked kitchen - everything you could need. Lovely glasswear and even a decanter which was essential to enjoy all the lovely wines we bought.

Maria and her daughter were the perfect hosts. Maria cooked a gourmet meal one night, and brought it to us in the Villa. Beautiful.

There were 9 of us plus a 2 year old and there was lots of room for us all, plus the pool and a charcoal BBQ.

Fabulous Co-Op in the town of Castelfiorentino which had so much proscuito and cheese we were in heaven.

Would love to return one year for another stay.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open and airy, with a lovely view across the Tuscan countryside
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2012
Thank you to choose our Villa to spend your holiday in tuscany
Best regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
423isamon...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This villa was everything one could hope for.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We had an absolutely fabulous time at Villa Antica Sosta. The bedrooms were well spaced out. We were 4 couples and 2 kids and it never felt crowded. The pool always had a nice temperature and was clean. The house is beautiful and makes one feel very relaxed. We always ate outdoors. The garden smelled heavenly! The neighbourhood is quiet and the view and sunsets are very nice.
One of the best assets also is the location. We were about 60-90 minutes from Florence, Pisa, Lucca, San Giminiano, Volterra, Siena, the Chianti region.
The only drawback was the lack of mosquito netting in the bedrooms.
Maria recommended a wine tasting at Tamburini. This was our best and most friendly wine-tasting during our 2 weeks in Italy.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the Italian style of the house
Liked least: no mosquito nets in bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2012
Hello, thank you,it was a pleasure to have my guests I hope you can return.
best regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna P
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This villa is beautiful, in a great location, and a comfortable home in which to enjoy Tuscany.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Maria greeted us with warmth the moment we arrived. She and Vincenzo were most helpful to us throughout our stay. This home is most welcoming and comfortable. The house is very nice and very clean. The grounds bar spectacular! The only thing missing are screens in some of the bedroom windows. Our room had screens and the fresh air was wonderful. I haven't smelled such clean air in years and I lived in the mountains of Maine! The kitchen is well-equipped. There s a washing machine but since there is no dryer you have to plan your laundry day in accordance with the weather. Taxi service made getting to the train for daily excursions easy. There is great restaurant within walking distance. Bring a flashlight for this outing. All in all, a fantastic stay!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The warmth and helpfulness of Maria and Vincenzo.
Liked least: Lack of screens on some windows.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2012
thank you to choose our villa to spend your holiday in Tuscany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing