We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”
Review of Il Grande prato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Grande prato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are looking for a place to just relax & enjoy, this is it! We have been there already 2 summers & will sure go back again. A beautiful place where you feel at home; wonderful hosts, amazing food (& drinks), great facilities and most importantly, lots of care and attention. I specially recommend Il Grande Prato to young families.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mediya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

...not that you really want to go anywhere after you've arrived.

It's a perfect mix between your own private apartments in tasteful converted farmhouses and the family-style meals where you can swap stories with other guests or (often) dine with the family.
Nearby is Certaldo, San Gimignano, and its halfway betw Florence & Tuscany.
In spring/summer, the pool is divine - and the setting quite peaceful.

I usually come back about once a year - even using their huge loft space for a big party, and each time I can't wait to come back to the Grande Prato!

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that doesn't have an extra bunk bed in it (usually reserved for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in April 2013. Our family of 4 had booked a large room in the main house but when we arrived there was a large group staying there and the owner was kind enough to let us stay in their 2 bedroom apartment in a separate building for the same price. The apartment is great because of it's privacy and comfort although I don't know what the normal rate would be. This place is great for groups and families as there's a pool, tennis court, ping pong, foosball, and huge lawn area for other games. But the real attraction here is the food. Breakfast were well beyond the typical Italian fare and dinners were hearty and high quality. Only downside is the entry road which is a challenge to navigate when and after it rains. Other than that, we couldn't have asked for a better spot to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get the apartment if you need space. Very private and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyandjacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have spent holidays at Grande Prato first with my husband and then also with our children and it's always been a success. The old farmhouse is renovated beautifully, the swimming pool is the favourite place of the chidren and the atmosphere of whole place is really relaxing. The important Tuscan towns are with reach, especially if you rent a car, and Giulia knows all the best local places to visit. Good food, sun, culture, sports, Grande Prato has it all. I'm sure we'll be back also next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riikka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The place shows the real spirit of Tuscany - beautiful views, cosy and nice rooms, open and charming owners of the property. You can really rest in that place either spending time near the swimming pool or just seating in one of the prepared places and absorbing the silence and the views. Hope to come back their soon. Thanks a lot for the stay !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed 8th to 10th July 2012. this is a little slice of heaven in the tuscan countryside. The hosts are fantastic and so welcoming. The property is beautiful and loads to do. The food is fantastic, especially the homemade limoncello! The cooking class was great fun and the nights under the stars were amazing. Very relaxing by the pool but need to remember to take some supplies, such as drinks & snacks as cant walk to shops and cant really purchase on site. Definately get the meal package as there is plenty to eat and drink and so tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaandToddfrommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Staying here was what I had imagined if I were to rent a villa in Tuscany. Just the right combination of ellegance and age with amazing food prepared by the local staff who will help you learn their techniques and ingredients. Family owners make you feel you are their most special guest and are able to help you arrange just about any outing you can think of. Daily trips into town to catch a train to other sites are easy even though this is rural Tuscany. We loved the wonderful walks in the country looking out over fields and vinyards or hanging out by the pool as well. Rooms were well equipped and homey with great beds. Our apartment was more like a small house with three bedrooms and two baths plus a full kitchen which we never used as the food was over the top wonderful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelfiorentino hotels
0.4 mi away
Locanda Le Boscarecce
Locanda Le Boscarecce
#1 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'Antica Sosta
L'Antica Sosta
#4 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Pieve Albergo Ristorante
La Pieve Albergo Ristorante
#1 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lami
Hotel Lami
#4 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Corte d'Elsa
La Corte d'Elsa
#5 of 14 in Castelfiorentino
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Tilli
Villa Tilli
#2 of 4 in Castelfiorentino
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Grande prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Grande prato

Address: Via Renai 11, 50051 Castelfiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Castelfiorentino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Castelfiorenti...
Price Range: $101 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base tariffs, per person, per night : bed and breakfast 60 Euros , half board 95 Euros , full board 120 Euros Reductions for kids and groups Tariffe base , a persona, a notte: notte e prima colazione 60 Euro, mezza pensione 95 Euro, pensione completa 120 Euro. Riduzioni per bambini e gruppi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Il Grande prato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Grande Prato Castelfiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing