We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay Hotel Ancora”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My name is Ron Thomson, i have lived in Catalonia for ten years and have stayed at the Ancora many times.
When i was going back to Spain after arranging the sale of my house in Calonge i stayed at the Ancora.
The hotel is run by a Husband and wife, son and daughter in law and a large staff.
The hotel is very comfortable the rooms are clean well equipped and tidy, they have been upgrading the rooms to make them more modern and i must say they are succeeding, the rooms to the back of the hotel overlook a courtyard for open air dining, the rooms to the front overlook the houses and onto the sea view.
The main road is at the front of the hotel which sees a bit of traffic but not to noisy there is a good bus service taking you into Palamos if you fancy a bit of entertainment the last bus returning at about 11pm.
The front of the hotel gets the sun in the morning till about 2pm and the back after that.
The rooms are all A/C ,Heated, Flat screen TV, telephone and hairdryer.
They have a laundry service available.
At the back of the hotel, there is a large swimming pool, a crazy golf and full size tennis court , there is also covered parking for about twenty cars and at the front of the just opposite is private parking for 40 more cars.
The restaurant has a good lunch menu and is used by both locals and visitors, the dinner menu is good very tasty and their sea food is superb.
Great place to stay quiet and relaxed with a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in 2011. A nice quiet hotel , as noted by a pervoius reviewer. Lovely restaurant. Clean and tidy family hotel.
Very friendly. They have a dog that walks around the ground floor area.
Nice views from the top floor rooms over Fosca beach.
Wonderful countryside . Parking on site or across a quiet road.
Too far way from Palamos to walk into town. Large choice of restaurants in Palamos.

Room Tip: get one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like last autumn we hiked on Costa Brava. On the hotel list from our norwegian tour operator was Hotel Ancora in La Fosca. The hotel was like last year clean, and the staff, most likely from the owner family, was kind and helpful.

But not so for the dinner. The menu was not expensive, but the hotel could have charged a few euros more and served a better meal. The waiter demonstrated with headshake and body language, when we left food uneaten on the plates. Next morning, the breakfast was scarce, and the lady resposible did not bother to refill the empty trays.

Last year dining and breakfast was quite different from this, and I wrote a very positive evaluation on tripadvisor.

For the hotels own sake I hope they have not lost the grip, and that this experience was a result of a bad day. It was monday, but still -

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Like many others reviewing this hotel, we went as part of a walking holiday.

I won't dwell on the room - it was perfectly fine with a nice balcony with a couple if sun loungers. The pool at the back of the hotel was nice. The staff were very friendly. However the 'wow' was the food. Simply amongst the best we have eaten in Spain.

We tried sea cucumbers as a starter (with one of us having the clams). Wonderful! (a bit like grilled squid). And the arroz negra was amazingly good, as was the paella. The staff recommended some great Spanish wine which went with the food perfectly. Unfortunately we were too full for desert.

Do eat here. It is a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie222Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were here for one night on a walking holiday. It is an older style hotel, right on a road but with other facilities to the side. Our room at the back was well refurbished and clean. Dinner was very good, courses being much hotter on arrival than many meals in Spain and the service was very pleasant. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front because although the road looks empty it is a through road leading to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deereleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Like some other reviewers we stopped over as part of a walking holiday. Our bedroom with small but adequate bathroom, balcony and sea view (over a quiet road in front of the hotel) was simply and attractively furnished with a comfortable bed and a small TV though we could not find an English Language programme. It is a five minute stroll from the hotel down to La Fosca's sandy beach. At the four course half board dinner we decided to avoid the unappetisingly described "cabbage heart mit anchovy." " You MUST have them" said the waiter. "My 91 year old grandmother salts them herself and goes to the market every week to buy the ingredients." It was a good recommendation as what arrived was a salad of crisp little gem lettuce hearts with strips of mild anchovy and garnish. This was followed by a huge chunk of fresh turbot. Super home cooked food at its best.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed one night in Hotel Ancora on our week of hiking on Costa Brava.Situated in a quiet part of Fosca, the hotel was a positive surprise for its three stars. The room had a balcony, it was big enough for us, and it was clean.
After a hot day of walking from Platja d'Aro we were served a couple of cold beers outside the hotel.
We had diner in the hotel restaurant instead of looking for a restaurant elsewhere. And we did not regret that. The food was superb, and the waiters had good knowledge of the Emporda wines. The restaurant deserves an additional star!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palamos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal la Fosca
Hostal la Fosca
#8 of 10 in Palamos
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#3 of 10 in Palamos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant Joan
Hotel Sant Joan
#2 of 10 in Palamos
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apart-Hotel Palamos
Apart-Hotel Palamos
#10 of 10 in Palamos
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Malcontenta Hotel
La Malcontenta Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palamos
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Carrer de Josep Pla 43 | Platja de la Fosca, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palamos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancora 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing