We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean friendly and 'cute' hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sant Joan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sant Joan
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean friendly and 'cute' hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I (in our mid-30s) stayed here for 3 nights in August 2013. We paid 144 euros/night for the 'suite' room on the 2nd floor of the 'old house' (main building). Overall we thought this was a great place, and we would happily stay here again. I think we were the only English guests - the rest seemed mostly Spanish or French. The whole accommodation was very clean and the room was excellent - the balcony was enormous. The breakfast was excellent and the poolside lunch (baguettes, etc) at a great price. The lady owner was friendly. The only downsides are that the accommodation is in a fairly non-descript part of town (and a 20-minute walk into Palamos), doesn't look very impressive from the roadway (you can't really see the accommodation from there, though) and that the swimming pool is relatively cold! The lunchtime waitress was lovely but spoke no English. Anyway, overall, top marks!

Room Tip: The suite room has an enormo-balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewingHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is truly deserving of its 5 star rating. So much has already been said about the quality of the hotel and the friendliness of the owners and staff but they truly go the extra mile. Such a fabulous place that we can't wait to go back and we never usually go back anywhere !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor of the new construction benefit from the late evening sun and seating is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 956Jonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a same-day reservation for two couples as a a result of a last-minute change of travel plans. What luck to find such a nice place! The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The inn was lovely. The rooms were spacious, spotless, and well appointed. Breakfast was superb. We could not have been happier - a great discovery!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This gorgeously renovated Mas has now been open 6 months. We stayed end-April, in an economy double from (99€ with breakfast). The breakfast was delicious, we'd recommend the scrambled eggs with asparagus. home made jams, Iberian ham and cheese set you up for the day. Set on a hill, it's a short 5-10min walk to the seafront, and another 10 into Palamos.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jellyburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

It 's a family run hotel not far from the city centre (10 min walk) which males it really quiet and relaxing. Staff is very kind and helpful. Our room was big and clean. Breakfast is delicious with all sorts of food: cheese meats egg fresh fruit. 6-7sorts of bread..... We really enjiyed our stay in palamos

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is homely rather than hotelly. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and the room we had was comfortable, but quite basic. There is a nice garden with sun loungers but no sunshades except those over the tables and chairs - a bit of an oversight I think as it really restricts where you can sit in the garden. Breakfast is served until midday, but, as I discovered, if you are quite late down and there is hardly anything of the hot food left they do not offer to replenish it for you. It seemed that when it was gone, that was your lot! I would not have thought that this was the number one hotel in this town, but it is nice enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have to admit I was a tad disappointed when we first got to Hotel Sant Joan. Neither the hotel and nor the town of Palamos look like much when you first arrive. But the place quickly grew on me and ended up one of my favorites stops in our trip to Spain. The hotel itself has a lovely garden with a fountain, a big lawn, a hot tub and a small but refreshing pool. The public rooms are lovely and breakfast is terrific -- fresh breads, fruits, cheeses, meats and a hot dish each morning. Our room was small but comfortable. The front desk is very helpful. Palamos is a delightful town -- much less touristy than some of the towns on the Costa Brava. Walk the few blocks to the commercial district and you'll see families out in the streets. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jourprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palamos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal la Fosca
Hostal la Fosca
#8 of 10 in Palamos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#6 of 10 in Palamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#7 of 10 in Palamos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Malcontenta Hotel
La Malcontenta Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Joan

Property: Hotel Sant Joan
Address: Avenida de la Llibertat, 79, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palamos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Joan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Joan is the ideal place for those who are looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with a personal touch. It is a family run hotel situated in the heart of the Costa Brava, 40km from Girona airport and 100 km from the French border.The Hotel is a XVIII century restored masía (Catalan Cottage), located in the old quarter of Sant Joan de Palamós (900mts from the beach), with a large garden (550m2) with an outdoor swimming pool (heated from June to October) and a hot water Jacuzzi that, due to its singular location, offers the guests quietness and privacy. The 20 non-smoking rooms are unique and personalised to enjoy a good rest with attention to detail to ensure your comfort. Most of them overlook the garden and all have bathroom with tub or shower, hairdryer, TV, safe, air conditioning (heat/cold) and free Wi-Fi. The junior suite and Superior rooms have mini bar. In order to have a good rest and to get up in no rush, our buffet breakfast is served from 8.30 to 12.00 and from 9.00 to 12.00 during the low season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sant Joan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant Joan Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing