We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, perfect service, reasonable price”
Review of La Fabrica del Gel

La Fabrica del Gel
Ranked #5 of 168 Restaurants in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leiden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect service, reasonable price”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

On two different days we had the 3-course lunch menu which contained a great choice of fish in various preparations; hake, cod fish, sargo (white seabream), monkfish, or seabream; either grilled or baked. Our favorite first course was cod fish carpaccio, our favorite dessert was cheese cake with red berries. A half bottle of delicious white wine per person was included in the menu. The service was impeccable and friendly. Great value for money. We hope to be back next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank renemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    135
    30
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Putte, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A Tuesday evening in September means fewer tourists and almost empty or partially filled restaurants. El Fabrico del gel has a surplus disadvantage: it is the last restaurant at the central square/street near the Palamos harbor: when we entered, there was only 1 table occupied.
And yet, they deserve better than that because food is very good and service attentive and friendly.
The appetizers were well-presented and tasty, the fish (sea bass and sole) was first uncooked, whole presented and came later as fillets on the plate and the Girona beef with liver/foie (Rossini, in fact) (why it is translated as veal, I have no clue because it is beef) was cooked medium to medium rare like it should and was very tender and tasty.
Of all the restaurants at this square, it is probably one of the more expensive ones (appetizers around 10-13€ and mains between 15-23€) and that too will frighten some diners, but the food we had, was worth the money: I prefer 1 good restaurant experience above 2 average restaurants visits. So next time in Palamos, I will certainly return to this place…

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish beautifully cooked”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good evening meal, the highlight being the beautiful fresh fish and famous Palamos prawns..delicious! Staff were good but not over bearing; we really enjoyed the evening. Pretty good value compared to some of the restaurants in the area as well..would have gone back if we hadnt run out of days;-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreysOtherHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Careful : germs in food, dish made me sick!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am writing this review to warn future guests : went to this restaurant a few nights ago and had their "Mar y Montaña" dish (meatballs in a fish sauce). I was sick the whole night right after eating there and then the whole day after... Had to take medecine to recover.

So be careful, this restaurant obviously doesn't obey primary sanitary rules with their meat or fish despite the high prices they ask for.
This dish was definitely not freshly cooked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CedricMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Class as always.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another wonderful meal. We've been coming to this restaurant for many years and will make another visit next week and then have to wait to next year. The carpaccio of beef with goat's cheese was excellent and the coconut caprice dessert is my all time favourite. Recommended wines were also very good. We're always welcomed as if we were regulars.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienneQn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fabrica del Gel also viewed

Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 

Been to La Fabrica del Gel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing