We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2013”
Review of Tauerna Urtau - Palamos - CLOSED

Tauerna Urtau - Palamos
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holiday 2013”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We found this back street restaurant as we were walking around the old part of paramos and were greeted by a friendly waiter who spoke Spanish English and French.
The food was really good, traditional dishes, service with a smile and he offered to take our photo almost as soon as we'd sat down! And great value for money.
We weren't rushed and we booked a table to return the following day with 7 members of our family for my birthday lunch meal
I would recommend this restaurant and would return to it if I was in the area again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urtau_Monica, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tauerna Urtau - Palamos, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hie! Thankyou very much for sharing with us your opinion! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the experience with us and the pintxos and tapas you eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Customer service inexistent”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table in the morning , asked for a table outside .
They told us it was impossible to reserve a table outside , it was possible to reserve just inside, on the second floor.
Once we reach the restaurant there were 2 tables free outside and they told us we could not sit there because people were waiting for the tables, no one was there waiting for it.
They bring us upstairs where there s no table available, it s completely packed and it was extremely hot with just one fan covering the whole floor.
In the end we decided to leave because the service was unacceptable. Be sure to go on a quiet day if you wish to try this restaurant , but there are better places just down the street .v

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mònica S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tauerna Urtau - Palamos, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
First of all, thakyou for sharing with us your experience.

As you have said, we do not book the tables outside, as it is quite complicated to be sure that they will be free when you arrive, even if it is aso true that if when you came there where some free tables outside our servers would have had to offer one of them to you and we have allready talked with them about it.

In the first floor we have the main restaurant area, as in the entrance we have de bar with all the tapas and pintxos, and therefor eating there is not very confortable. It is true that sometimes it is very hoot, even more in August with so many people. For that, we can only apologize.

Even all this, we would like to invite you to come again and try our service and food, to see by yourself that usually we have a better customer service thant the one you had and also to try our food, which with no doubts you will enjoy.

We will be also very pleased if you could share some more details about you experience in the mail monica@urtau.com to know a little bit more about who served you and when.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Straight from the Pyrenees to the Costa Brava!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

They started up in the Occitan-speaking valley of Aran, in the north of Catalonia. They offer a wide range of food from help-yourself "montaditos" (they charge you on the basis of the number of toothpicks on your plate at the end!) to cooked dishes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miquel_Strubell_True
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauèrnes U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tauerna Urtau - Palamos, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your opinion! We hope everything was OK with your meal and we are waiting to see you again in one of our bars!! Enquia alavetz, adishatz!! (that was aranés and meant: until then, good bye!! or... see you soon!! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun "pica" tapas spot”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant was recommended as a good local spot and didn't disappoint - had a massive smattering of tapas off the "help yourself" bar and managed to gorge ourselves and have a couple of beers each for only about €35 total (for 2). the areas is cute too and we even wandered down the road for further tapas/drinks. If I had it to do again I'd have made a whole evening's crawl out of it but was equally happy to fill up in the Urtau with tables/bar tables and friendly service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonSohoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tauerna Urtau - Palamos also viewed

Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 
Palamos, Province of Girona
Palamos, Province of Girona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing