We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Malcontenta Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Palamos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel was a fantastic find in the beautiful but sleepy coastal area near Palamos. Although it can be a little hard to find off the Palafrugell exit, it's well worth the effort. This hotel is a relatively small property and has acres and acres of undeveloped property that sit between the hotel and the beach. The beach is about a 1-mile walk and is also beautiful. The hotel rooms are spacious and modern, with somewhat hip decor and fixtures such as the 5 x 10 foot walk in rain shower . The staff was really attentive to our requests for help with directions to local sights. You will end up eating breakfast at the hotel because there really is no practical place nearby, and the breakfast is a fantastic spread of breads, cheeses, meats, eggs to order and more.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Irreverent-in-Cleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had passed by the hotel before , but in April , we finally stayed there .
It was small paradise. The hotel was empty , so they gave us an upgrade . Beautiful , perfect for us and our two little dogs . A great room with small garden terrace .........

The swimming pool was being repaired at the time .



Would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

ifnweather is on your side La Malcontenta is a wonderful experience. breakfast is great (although not included in the rate off season), the location very good and the atmosphere bucolic. do not miss hiking from castell to pagrufell. La Galera in Palamos is a good restaurant for dinner. Begur to stroll at night and Cadaques to daydream about Dali and his friends

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grunberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

A fantastic hotel from the location (hide in the countryside closed to one of the most beautiful beach of Catalonia) to the rooms which are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We love this place and come back every year to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittychan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This small boutique hotel was the highlight of our trip to Spain! The rooms are heavenly with a bathtub in the bedroom long enough to fit a 6'2" man with wife comforably. The grounds are beatifully manicured, the staff professional, friendly and helpful - spoke great English, & the food amazing and flavorful. The bikes they provided were an extra treat as it is only a short ride to the beach. Cannot say enough great things! A must!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k2theb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This beautifully restored small hotel is a few minutes walk or bike ride from a spectacular stretch of preserved coasline in Costa Brava. The rooms, suites and common areas are spacious and simply gorgeous. La Malcontenta is decorated in chic contemporary style while retaining the hisoric character and stonework of the original buildings. The hotel is surrounded by its own lushly landscaped gardens, a stunning pool, and acres of farmland. The included breakfast is superb.
It doesn't get much better than this

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I went with my wife and 6 year old for a 2 day getaway from the crowds and noise of Barcelona. We weren't sure what to expect given the reputation of the Costa Brava but what we found was absolutely delightful and satisfying. The staff was attentive without being stuffy or intrusive. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and included local meats and cheeses, the dinner at the restaurant was on a par with finer restaurants in Barca not only for cuisine but service and setting

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzigane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palamos
2.2 mi away
Hotel Trias
Hotel Trias
#1 of 10 in Palamos
438 reviews
5 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
921 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mas Falet 1682
Hotel Mas Falet 1682
#3 of 5 in Sant Antoni de Calonge
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#7 of 10 in Palamos
132 reviews
10.3 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 10 in Palamos
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Malcontenta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malcontenta Hotel

Address: Platja Castell 12 | Paratge Torremirona, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palamos
#2 Family Hotel in Palamos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palamos
Price Range: $105 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Malcontenta Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Malcontenta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Malcontenta Hotel Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing