We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel, excellent food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a theme-room at Merlet: De Duinsuite (Dune-suite). The room was very spacious and it had high ceilings. It was nicely decorated, very light and fresh.

However there where some minor details that where not perfect. For example the 220V outlet was smaller then the hole behind it and the AC-panel was a bit tilted. These are no big issues off course, but in a hotel like this the finishing should be better.

The bed was BIG and very comfortable.

There where two chaise lounges from which you could enjoy the beautiful view.

We had a 5 course diner at the Merlet Restaurant located directly beneath our room. It has been awarded a Michelin Star, and lived up to every expectation. Service, food presentation and quality where excellent!

The only real downside to our stay was the poor sound isolation of the room. In the room next to us there was a small child which started crying for quite some time at 5 a.m. After we fell asleep again the child woke us again at 7 a.m, crying and shouting . We have children of our own, but this weekend was supposed to be without being awoken by them....

The parents off course could not have prevented the sounds coming from there child, but the hotel could have made more effort providing better sound isolation. This wing of the hotel was newly build only last year.

In the future we would definitely visit Merlet again for there excellent food, but perhaps stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: The Themakamers/ThemeRooms have beautiful views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
66
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was chosen for a business trip. In terms of value it was excellent. Great space in the room. The view over the landscape is nice. Pity about the bit of flat roof to look over, but not a big deal. Breakfasts is served which is a nice change from the standard buffet on offer in a lot of places. Room with breakfast was excellent value. The location is very much a holiday resort environment. Very small, but of good taste.
The supper was a bit of an endurance in terms of waiting. Lovely starter. Main meal was obviously not served on time and not optimum anymore. Salad and chips arrived halfway through the main meal. The approach to the service might be a bit too upmarket for the actual dining experience it offers in the brasserie.
Definitely a great value place and can be a good base. You will like the place if you like "to be served". .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A nice place to stay for several nights.
We got a room at the quiet side of the house.
Room was nice quite large with a balcony and view out to the fields.
On the ground floor there is one of teh restaurant which probably also
serves in Summer time. I don't know about the noise in the evening.
When we have been there, it was cold and rainy.
The bathrom was extremly tiny. The first thing my wife did, she move the
bathroom furniture out of the bathroom. But even then it was extremely small
even for only one person.
I ate in th brasserie, which has a very special atmosphere, excellent food,
nice wine selection and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building have open bathroom with very modern bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights for business/leisure. Staff is very friendly and take time with you. We had a superior room, very spacious, nicely decorated, with revolving fireplace. The pool is underground along the spa and small fitness room. Restaurant is upscale/pricey but delicious (count €50 for menu),with good wines. They had a Michelin star in 2007. Please try the bar, it's very cosy and modernly decorated. Breakfast is simple but complete.

You are walking distance to the dunes and village center where you can rent bikes, restaurants, shops, etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvange
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a really nice stay there. The room was simply superb, food was amazing (we chose the culinary arrangement for our stay).
The village is also wonderful and there is a lot of activities to do outside.
The only small negative point is the really small spa.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLELV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoeterwoude
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with my sister while she was visiting Holland. We had a wonderful stay, the service was excellent and the restaurant outstanding. One of the best meals that I have had in Holland, every course was a creative surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetwood_ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Merlet restaurant is certainly very good. Most guides refer to it. The Hotel belonging to the same owner is extremely nice. Thematic rooms and suites, art collection everywhere. Lounge bar with wide selection of drinks. And the nice environment of the dunes for walking around. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoorl
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
1.2 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Strandhotel Camperduin
Strandhotel Camperduin
#3 of 3 in Schoorl
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parkhotel Bergen
Parkhotel Bergen
#4 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Hotel Merlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Property: Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Address: Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schoorl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Restaurant Hotel Merlet 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Restaurant Hotel Merlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing