We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy place for west coast north holland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Handy place for west coast north holland”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was chosen for a business trip. In terms of value it was excellent. Great space in the room. The view over the landscape is nice. Pity about the bit of flat roof to look over, but not a big deal. Breakfasts is served which is a nice change from the standard buffet on offer in a lot of places. Room with breakfast was excellent value. The location is very much a holiday resort environment. Very small, but of good taste.
The supper was a bit of an endurance in terms of waiting. Lovely starter. Main meal was obviously not served on time and not optimum anymore. Salad and chips arrived halfway through the main meal. The approach to the service might be a bit too upmarket for the actual dining experience it offers in the brasserie.
Definitely a great value place and can be a good base. You will like the place if you like "to be served". .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    48
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
91
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A nice place to stay for several nights.
We got a room at the quiet side of the house.
Room was nice quite large with a balcony and view out to the fields.
On the ground floor there is one of teh restaurant which probably also
serves in Summer time. I don't know about the noise in the evening.
When we have been there, it was cold and rainy.
The bathrom was extremly tiny. The first thing my wife did, she move the
bathroom furniture out of the bathroom. But even then it was extremely small
even for only one person.
I ate in th brasserie, which has a very special atmosphere, excellent food,
nice wine selection and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building have open bathroom with very modern bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights for business/leisure. Staff is very friendly and take time with you. We had a superior room, very spacious, nicely decorated, with revolving fireplace. The pool is underground along the spa and small fitness room. Restaurant is upscale/pricey but delicious (count €50 for menu),with good wines. They had a Michelin star in 2007. Please try the bar, it's very cosy and modernly decorated. Breakfast is simple but complete.

You are walking distance to the dunes and village center where you can rent bikes, restaurants, shops, etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvange
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a really nice stay there. The room was simply superb, food was amazing (we chose the culinary arrangement for our stay).
The village is also wonderful and there is a lot of activities to do outside.
The only small negative point is the really small spa.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLELV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoeterwoude
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with my sister while she was visiting Holland. We had a wonderful stay, the service was excellent and the restaurant outstanding. One of the best meals that I have had in Holland, every course was a creative surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetwood_ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Merlet restaurant is certainly very good. Most guides refer to it. The Hotel belonging to the same owner is extremely nice. Thematic rooms and suites, art collection everywhere. Lounge bar with wide selection of drinks. And the nice environment of the dunes for walking around. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a wonderful evening with excellent food and wine. The service was warm, friendly and personal.we very much enjoyed the locally grown baby vegetables and hand caught fish. Highly recommended. Heel veel dank voor een prachtige avond!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Caosrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoorl
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
2.8 mi away
Strandhotel Camperduin
Strandhotel Camperduin
#3 of 3 in Schoorl
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
1.9 mi away
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#7 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#2 of 8 in Bergen
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Hotel Merlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Property: Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Address: Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schoorl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Restaurant Hotel Merlet 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restaurant Hotel Merlet is situated in the rustic village of Schoorl, with a unique location in the meadows overlooking the dunes and on just 45 minutes drive from Amsterdam. Merlet has 28 uniquely decorated hotelrooms, including 9 special theme suites. The hotel offers 2 restaurants: bar-bistro Bourgogne where people can lunch or dine for a good price-quality ratio and a fine dining Restaurant awarded with a Michelin-star serving innovative meals with a classical touch. Weather permitting meals are served on the sunny terrace. The cosy lounge with terrace is available for hotel guests or can be used as a private function room. The hotel furthermore has 7 multifunctional meeting rooms equipped with modern technology. An indoor swimming pool, sauna and steamcabine and beatysalon complement the facilities at the hotel. To explore the beautiful area around the hotel, there are bikes available for rent at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Restaurant Hotel Merlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing