We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel and in the country side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Restaurant Hotel Merlet to your Saves list
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Certificate of Excellence
Global
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and in the country side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights for business/leisure. Staff is very friendly and take time with you. We had a superior room, very spacious, nicely decorated, with revolving fireplace. The pool is underground along the spa and small fitness room. Restaurant is upscale/pricey but delicious (count €50 for menu),with good wines. They had a Michelin star in 2007. Please try the bar, it's very cosy and modernly decorated. Breakfast is simple but complete.

You are walking distance to the dunes and village center where you can rent bikes, restaurants, shops, etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
65
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elvange
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a really nice stay there. The room was simply superb, food was amazing (we chose the culinary arrangement for our stay).
The village is also wonderful and there is a lot of activities to do outside.
The only small negative point is the really small spa.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLELV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoeterwoude
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with my sister while she was visiting Holland. We had a wonderful stay, the service was excellent and the restaurant outstanding. One of the best meals that I have had in Holland, every course was a creative surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetwood_ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Merlet restaurant is certainly very good. Most guides refer to it. The Hotel belonging to the same owner is extremely nice. Thematic rooms and suites, art collection everywhere. Lounge bar with wide selection of drinks. And the nice environment of the dunes for walking around. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a wonderful evening with excellent food and wine. The service was warm, friendly and personal.we very much enjoyed the locally grown baby vegetables and hand caught fish. Highly recommended. Heel veel dank voor een prachtige avond!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Caosrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
332 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The hotel is actually a bit hard to find if you dont know where it is. It does not look as a hotel from the road. We passed it twice but also because they were building. The hotel is increasing its capacity with a underground garage and more rooms.
The rooms are very large, very clean and the food with the service is stunning.
A very nice place where the owner is personally involved in the running of the hotel and takes care of you.
A tip for everyone that want to stay central but peacefull and in a "Silent" place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten, Neth. Antilles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We went to Merlet just at the beginning of spring. The nice surroundings, a bike ride to the sea, the charming town and to the bike paths through the dunes makes it a destination itself. The suites are by topics, we had the "Heidesuite" which was like being in a strawberry field, charming and enchanting, with great view over the fields. The food is very good, we really enjoyed the chef menus.

Room Tip: The themed suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalviaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoorl
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
1.2 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Strandhotel Camperduin
Strandhotel Camperduin
#3 of 3 in Schoorl
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
Amrath Hotel Alkmaar
#1 of 5 in Alkmaar
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parkhotel Bergen
Parkhotel Bergen
#5 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Restaurant Hotel Merlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Property: Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Address: Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schoorl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Restaurant Hotel Merlet 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Restaurant Hotel Merlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing