We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEISURE WEEKEND WITH FRIENDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is located near the centre of Schoorl. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is modern and has a cosy atmosphere. We had booked rooms in the categorie Charme and there were pleasant. Too bad that the light dimmer switch was defective. Room service did not empty the waste bins and the beds were made up without much enthousiasm since they looked like we left them in the morning. Wifi is high speed and free through-out the hotel. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first evening which was good but no vegetables with the food which was a pitty. I had a schnitzel which came with a plate full of not very well done french fries. Breakfast is excellent.
Parking is not free of charge which is stupid, especially when you consider that 99% of the guests come by car.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRIPSPJLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Maybe it was by chance, but we went to sleep in the evening without checking the bedding. The next morning we saw that the sheet that we slept on was full of blood! Clearly a lady had an accident and they did not change the bedding. Will not return. What a bad experience. Disgusting.

Honestly - without this bad experience we would have enjoyed the place - but for those who go to this hotel, check your bed before you go to sleep!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank FlyingPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

During November 2011 with some friends we spent a 4 days/nights at the JAN VAN SCOREL hotel. We booked deluxe rooms (there are 3 types of rooms and some suites)
It was an absolutely positive experience

Plus points:
- Location; next to the splendid information centre and the start of several hiking and biking tracks trough the protected natural dune landscape (at certain parts up to 5 Km wide and some 50 Km long from Camperduin to Wijk aan Zee)
- Quiet surrounding and at a 15 minutes walking distance of the (busy) commercial street(s)
- Low rise building (only 3 floors)
- Though the staff is very young, we had only positive experiences and witnessed an efficient and friendly way of operating. A special mention for Ms Jocelyn at the “De Kannunik” restaurant. She was very professional and personal at the same time. The same can be said about her young male colleague who surprised us with his knowledge of the meat plates mentioned on the menu.
- Very acceptable quality for the buffet breakfast
- The lunches and dinners at the quaint Kannunik restaurant were served in a sophisticated way. The food was of an acceptable quality.
- The hotel in general and the rooms in particular give an overall clean impression.
- Wheelchair accessibility
- The (deluxe) rooms are very wide (aprox. 4 X 6 meter) + entrance hall + bathroom with full bath, amenities (shower cap + soap + shampoo + bath gel), hairdryer and good towels. Some rooms have separate toilets. Terrace with 2 comfortable chairs (no real “views”) Flat screen TV. Coffee and tea making facilities. Some rooms have a safe. The beds are of an acceptable box spring quality.
- Free wifi

Minor points
- The hotel, on its “in room” information sheet, mentions the Jan Van Scorel as a 4 star deluxe property. As a world traveller, personally I would rather qualify the hotel as an excellent 3 stars.
- We have not seen a private garden – the beach is at a (beautiful) walk or bike ride of 4,5 Km! The hotel parking surrounds the hotel building.
- Surprising charge of 7,50 Euro for parking the car on the open air hotel premises open and accessible to any individual
- The De Kannunik restaurant was to small for the number of guests. During the self-service breakfast you had difficulties to slalom between the tables and the guests. We suppose that during the high summer season, meals might be served also at the terraces which would lift a bit of the to high crowd pressure and lack of privacy while having a meal.
- In the rooms, the free of charge WIFI is extremely slow . Opening an internet site might easily take up to 5 minutes;
- No mini-bar in the rooms
- The use of the safe in the room is charged at 1 Euro a day
- There is a tax and handling fee at 2,25 Euro per day extra.
- The “Trappist” bar needs a refurbishment and a decoration rethinking. Emblematic was a TV screen hanging at eye height with the ongoing open fireplace image with “virtual burning logs” and with underneath the electricity cable hanging. The plastic vault decoration on the walls etc… were not really our idea of a 4 stars taste.

Overall we would be very glad to stay again at this hotel and forget about the sometimes plastic well meant decoration. It was certainly the location and the quality of the staff that made our stay a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank INSEARCHOF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Hotel Jan van Scorel is a lovely place, like the town of Schoorl itself. We were visiting family in the area, but imagine it would be a good holiday destination as well. The public areas were pleasant, the staff first-rate, and the breakfast was great -- good variety and high quality. The room was fine -- clean, modern, and well equipped. Highly-recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Pluses: nice place, nature, good restaurant (one thing was a bit strange, all tables were without tablecloth!!!), sauna, swimming pool, nice bar in the basement, free wi-fi.
Minuses: the room definitely need renovation. Looks like last time it was renovated 15 years ago! Swimming pool is much smaller than on the pictures, wi-fi was very slow with kicking me out all the time.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have renewed rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We spend one night in this hotel and the location is superb. We walked to the KLIM-MUUR and had a nice meal at Honky Tonk. The room itself was not special. 2 seperate beds and if you want 2 extra beds near the entrance of the room.
The towels we had in our room looked old. One was with clean but you could see there was mold on the towell before.
The people were friendly however we had to pay 7.50 for parking and 4.50 for handling and tax. Breakfast was great and plenty of choice (13.50 per person)

We didn't use the swimming pool but it looks nice (but small)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We have spent two weekends at the hotel during the winter.

It is a nice and clean hotel, located in a lovely town with wonderful walking options just outside.

Rooms are small but clean. Having a water boiler, tea and coffee in the room was a nice plus. The lack of a mini bar was a minus.

The swimming pool and sauna is free for use, but is very small and tend to be crowded. The sauna and pool do not seem to get sufficient attention (not very clean, no hooks by the sauna).

The restaurant serves ok food, but we did not find the dinner worth the price. However, the bar in the cellar serves very good and reasonably priced traditional Dutch dishes.

Breakfasts were ok and have a big choice. We spent new years eve there, and were happily surprised to be served cava with the breakfast. The so-called scrambled eggs were unacceptable, and tasted like it was made of some powder rather than real egg. The coffee was equally of an unacceptable quality.

The administration of the place seems to be problematic. We had bought and arrangement with breakfast included, but were surprisingly charged an extra 27 for breakfast! Later on the hotel committed to return the amount, which we however still wait for.

Despite the problems, we find the hotel cosy and might consider returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmsterdamOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schoorl
0.5 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
2.3 mi away
Strandhotel Camperduin
Strandhotel Camperduin
#3 of 3 in Schoorl
46 reviews
9.3 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke
2.5 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
1.8 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel

Address: Heereweg 89, 1871 ED Schoorl, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Jan Van Scorel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schoorl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Price Range: $42 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel is located right at the edge of a dune area in the cosy village Schoorl near the cheese city Alkmaar. Our luxurious four star hotel offers a French cuisine restaurant, a bar with pool table and a terrace. We hope to welcome you in the nearby future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Alkmaar
Alkmaar Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing