We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience”
Review of L'Arnsbourg

L'Arnsbourg
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Baerenthal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $62 - $195
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Certainly among the top restaurants, L'Arnsbourg may be a little difficult to find but is worth the trip.
Located in a narrow valley away from the town, the dining areas offer a relaxing view of trees and meadows. Service is reasonably attentive without being oppressive and the staff is able to accommodate several languages. A little more attention from the wait staff might have been helpful at times.
Most surprising are the various flavors and textures of the various parts of the " Menu" selected. The combination of the ingredients is particularly impressive and presents a most unusual experience.
The wine list is extensive and includes many excellent Alsatian selections.
Recently same day reservations during the week were available. Prices are a little on the
high side.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    54
    28
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing experience....”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Living in London but originally from Eastern France, I went to L'Arnsbourg restaurant to celebrate my brother's birthday on a Friday night. It was the first time for me and this is the meal I will remember for ever!
Well, for anybody interested in food, this is the most wonderful experience in terms of flavours, textures and mariage of ingredients. It is a delight to the palate. The "Menu Découverte" was just sublime! Ambience, service and food were faultless.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
279 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in the world !”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Of all the three Michelin star rated restaurants in France, this one is for sure the most discreet.
It is located in the middle of a forest a couple of kilometres from the closest town in a beautiful Nature set.
My wife and myself have been there once or twice a year since almost ten years. We were never disappointed.
The Chef Klein's creations are very sophisticated though extremely refined in terms of choice of products, taste, texture and temperatures.
He never uses techique for the sake of showing off. He uses technique to create very fine and often surprising preparations.
We have had among our most exquisite "gastronomic emotions" sitting at this restaurant.
We strongly advise you to order the "Menu Découverte". It will give you the opportunity of discovering a vast landscape of the Chef's preparations.
Although there are the most prestigious first growths in the wine cellar, I prefer to ask the very knowledgeable sommeliers to advise on different wines that match the Chef's very personal cuisine. We often have a glass of white dry wine to start, then two different half-bottles of Alsace fine wines, one or two glasses of red wine with the meat and a desert wine.
Be reassured, I don't drive back to the hotel after so much wine. We take a specially arranged taxi.
As far as staying overnight is concerned, the Klein family own a five-star hotel on the site. It is very modern and luxurious. If you don't wish to spend a lot of money for the hotel, I recommend a small, modern and very clean simple hotel at Baerenthal : Kirchberg.
They are charming and will arrange for the taxi that will drive you to L'Arnsbourg and back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
195 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“One of my all time favs - a great culinary experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

You go there when you know where you are going to. Hidden in the middle of nowhere between Alsace and Lorraine, this restaurant worth the three stars.
High culinary experience with well executed tasting menus and a fabulous wine list to spend the whole evening on reading it!
Do not miss!
BTW: Their hotel K - such as Klein :) - is also very nice.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This restaurant appeals to all the senses on a level hitherto unknown to me (even more than at my first visit a year...”
Reviewed July 10, 2008

A truly magnificent place.

Helpful?
Thank Bib_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arnsbourg also viewed

Gundershoffen, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to L'Arnsbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing