We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best little hotel in Bahia and the highlight of our trip to Ecuador!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bahia de Caraquez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best little hotel in Bahia and the highlight of our trip to Ecuador!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband researched our trip beforehand and started communicating with Patricio at the Casa Grande. Bahia was the last stop on 6 weeks in Ecuador and we were blown away by the warmth and charm of this lovely home when we were welcomed into the hotel right by the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are very comfortable but what sets this hotel apart is the warmth and charm of the people you interact with. Patricio, his family and staff, went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one with fine service at the hotel, breakfasts that were fit for a king (cooking done by Mercedes who I wanted to take home with me) and that varied every day, and as the former Minister for Tourism on the Coast, detailed information and tours to the most amazing spots in the area. If you were looking for the unique experience, the family also runs Chirije, an Eco tourist hotel right on the Pacific Ocean. This is the real feel of Bahia and a chance to learn about the history of the area. We miss them already.

Room Tip: Communicate with Patricio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosemaryDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

It' s hard to imagine a more perfect place to enjoy Bahia than at CasaGrande. The boutique hotel is a converted private home, and while staying there we truly felt like welcomed house guests. The grounds are lavishly landscaped, the rooms are lovely and spacious, and the service is consistently impeccable. The guest rooms and cozy common areas are decorated with paintings by some of Ecuador's most important artists. Look forward to outstanding breakfast presentations like gourmet shrimp omelet, fresh fruit and juices, and a bottomless bread basket. Any concerns you brought with you quickly fade away as you linger by the pool listening to the surf and enjoying gentle tropical breezes. Each afternoon we sat beneath the canopy of trees with a glass of wine amazed by the "chirpy hour" serenade from dozens of birds in the branches above. CasaGrande is an easy 10 minute walk from any place you want to go in Bahia, and the staff is happy to direct you to the best restaurants and attractions in the town and surrounding area. CasaGrande merits our most sincere and enthusiastic recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddsaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

A beautiful, comfortable, clean and friendly Oasis in a beachfront town on the Pacific coast of Ecuador. You will feel like part of the family with the wonderful, friendly service. The daily breakfasts are served with pride and are something to look forward to each morning. The area is a "Birding" mecca and staff can direct you to wonderful spots for observing shore and jungle birds by the hundreds. Visiting ancient archeological sights,learning about shrimp farms, or relaxing by their beautiful pool, your days will pass way too quickly. You really don't need to speak Spanish to have a wonderful time at this charming spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybow410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Mama , Flor and her staff are gracious and accommodating. The tropical breakfasts and spacious rooms are only topped by the beautiful seaview and sound of birds bidding farewell to the night.

The most memorable times of our visit to ecuador are at Casa Grande.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrymacDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

If you like waking up to ocean breezes, amazing service and fabulous and HUGE breakfast....this is the place to stay in Bahia. From the moment you enter the property, the hospitality could not be better. The entire staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home...whether bringing a fresh lemonade, a cold beer...or tour info on the area. (which they gladly will set up) We were so happy to pick the right place to stay in this cozy fishing village. The room was very clean and comfortable...and we loved having a hammock to lazy away in while listening to the waves crash below.

Cannot wait to come back...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiogirlpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ames
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador? YES!!! CasaGrande, a little piece of Paradise. We read a little about Bahia on different websites, and through asking questions CasaGrande was recommended. First of all, Patricio was very quick returning email questions, which was very comforting and helpful. Once you walk through the front gates, the staff makes you feel as one of the family. We know very little spanish, so they did everything possible to accomadate our needs. There was always someone around that understood english to help out. Coffee was always waiting for you in the morning, and breakfast was whenever you requested. And by the way, it was awesome. Fruit, bread, cheeses, juice, and the shrimp omlette was outstanding.
The rooms were very clean, the swimming pool was very nice, and the views were one of the best in town.
CasaGrande has a very knowledgeable tour guide that showed us archeological digs, a working shrimp farm, and many other things up and down the coast.
Thank you to Maria and the entire staff (family) of CasaGrande. It is definitely a little corner of paridise. We will go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguigui, Administrador at CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
We can't be thankful enough for your comment. It really fills us with happiness to read that you had such a great time in CasaGrande. This motivates us to continue working hard to become the hotel of excellence you are all looking for. Remember you are always welcome whenever you want to visit us again.

On behalf on all the staff at CasaGrande, we wish you the very best.

Regards,


CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia de Caraquez
2.7 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.9 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenavista Place Hotel
Buenavista Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia B&B
Hotel Bahia B&B
#1 of 9 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.6 mi away
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Hey-Sol
Casa Hey-Sol
#2 of 2 in Bahia de Caraquez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel

Property: CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel
Address: Av. Circunvalacion # 606 | Luis Gatti, Bahia de Caraquez 25, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bahia de Caraquez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and enjoying Bahía de Caráquez and it's magical landscapes, stay at CasaGrande, in comfy and beautiful rooms with a Pacific Ocean view, where you will asset our hospitality and the quality of our service.CasaGrande is the starting point for all the nature and adventure trips Bahía de Caráquez has to offer. A place for a quiet stay, to taste the delicious sea food, to ease your senses at the endless beaches, to learn about archeological sites that speak about a splendorous past and of ancient cultures, to observe fauna and flora with a great biodiversity and to walk through a Tropical dry forest; are some of the activities you'll be able to do in one of Ecuador's most attractive and quiet cities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
CasaGrande Oceanfront Boutique Hotel Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing