We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view of the Malecon”
Review of Hotel La Herradura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bahia de Caraquez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel La Herradura
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great view of the Malecon”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I ate here several times in the months that I lived in Bahia. The food is good but not extremely well seasoned or imaginative. It's a good place for breakfast and a view of the sea but not special and is a bit pricey for what is served. I liked the decor and it was quiet and sadly almost deserted except for rare occasion. The restaurant itself is poorly managed and the service is unimaginative. A chef who understands seasonings and a bartender who wants to be sociable would help. The staff is rather preoccupied with doing the bare minimum. The Hotel is comfortable and if you discuss it with them can be rather affordable but if you just accept the first price....? The reason I liked it? View of the Malecon without being involved in the action. The Malecon can be somewhat dangerous and Bahia itself is noisy and not overly welcoming although there are exceptions to be found. I'm really on the fence about my experiences there.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before paying. Haggle. These rooms are comfortable but not hmmmm, chic ? I liked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is unbelievable. It is filled with history, history, antiques. If you are lucky Miguel Angel Viteri, the owner will tell the history of some of family that are pictured at his hotel. It was a joy to see so many beautiful things that Miguel Angel has saved and displayed.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The owner has such a flair for desplaying his huge collection.

Room Tip: The new rooms have air-conditioning and balconies and face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

These guys have raised there prices to unacceptable levels for what you get. Stay at la Piedra or Casa grande for better value

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revisioncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filiberto José V, Gerente at Hotel La Herradura, responded to this review, July 17, 2015
Dear guest,

In the past there have been people who have provided altered information regarding our prices. Currently all our rates are available online for our customers to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bahia de Caraquez hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This Hotel is very comforting and secure. The decorating style is exquisite and features many antique furniture pieces as well as decorative antiques everywhere. The environment very uplifting as nice music plays in the hallways. The staff was very friendly and performed a good job. The restaurant was delightful and provided us with great dishes from breakfast to dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the location was right in front of the "malecon" where all the action is happening. Great Hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mechatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Upon arrival at Hotel Herradura, I was a bit underwhelmed by the facade but this hotel proved to be a real gem of Bahia. Although the staff consists of many younger males which was a surprise to this female solo traveler, I felt safe in its confines and treated respectfully. The hotel brings the sense of the history of the area in its lovely furnishings, many antiques and the ambiance of a time gone by. This hotel also has one of the best (and economical) restaurants I ate at while on the coast of Ecuador, with beautiful views of the ocean from the windows. I felt a sense of something proud and profound in the simple but historic decorations, the music (much of it was in the background and it was wonderful) and the nostalgia it invoked in this traveler. The only item I wished was available at the hotel was a computer terminal for brief internet access. Otherwise, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbell-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bahia de Caraquez hotels
0.0 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buenavista Place Hotel
Buenavista Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bahia B&B
Hotel Bahia B&B
#1 of 9 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Bongo
Coco Bongo
#1 of 2 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Hey-Sol
Casa Hey-Sol
#2 of 2 in Bahia de Caraquez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Herradura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Herradura

Property: Hotel La Herradura
Address: Ave. Simon Bolivar # 202 y Daniel Hidalgo., Bahia de Caraquez 131401, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Bahia de Caraquez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bahia de Caraquez
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Herradura, a place where the present recreates the past at every corner. Sculptures, oil paintings, feathers, stoves, running boards, pots and orchestra copper instruments from centuries ago, suddenly come alive, constantly harmonizing environments with a transition of shapes and colors. Prancing horses, that seem to move by lobbies and corridors, whips, brakes that marks the rhythm of a silent order. Hotel museum with stories and memories that keep decades of a journey that began in 1968. Located on the oceanfront main stage of the most spectacular sunsets, singular main attractive of Bahia de Caraquez. In more than forty years of service, the Hotel La Herradura has received tourists from all over the world, famous people including several former presidents of Ecuador. It has hosted countless conventions tourism, national and international; It has also provided training services to more than 5,000 people that are currently working in the tourism industry worldwide. The experience gained in this time gives us the confidence to offer high quality service and make your stay more pleasant . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Herradura Ecuador/Bahia De Caraquez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing