We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt
Certificate of Excellence
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Really friendly and personal staff. You can tell that it is a family-runned hotel where everybody is making sure you have a pleasant stay. Beautiful area, nice rooms (we had a "sunny balcony" room) and great spa area with different saunas etc. The massage was a bit soft, but I guess you can ask for different treatment. Food was good and plenty of choises. We want to come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ecbj-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
34
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We first visited this wellness hotel in autumn 2011 and decided to return again this year for a short get-away with the kids.

It’s a lovely hotel with very kind & professional service, pleasant wellness facilities and perfect atmosphere for a chill-out vacation.

Rooms are spacious and spotless clean, the all-inclusive concept works perfect with “quality ahead of quantity”!

Only two minor hick-ups, which I would recommend the hotel to consider:
- Wifi connection is only available in the hotel reception. I appreciate there’s no connection in the wellness facilities, but a connection in the rooms would have been appreciated.

- Part of the wellness facilities is dedicated to guests from 12 years and up, which is nice for adult guests without kids. But the family sauna & steam bath is only active from 4 p.m., which is a bit late when the family has been in the wellness since 10 a.m.

Overall a very nice hotel for a relaxing wellness vacation. We will certainly be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDCPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel is affiliated to the "Best Wellness Hotels": we had done 2 of them previously (Theresia, and Alpenrose), and loved it each time, because of many things: all inclusive, good food, wonderful spa, typical Austrian decoration, and above all very good and personalized service.

This time, it has been okay but not great...
The infrastructure of the hotel is okay but not great if we compare to another hotel of the same affiliation like Alpenrose: the Eggerwirt is a comfortable place but it lacks this little something that would make it warm and charming like the other best wellness hotels we have tried.

The Spa (sauna, hammam, etc) is not open before 4:30pm, and closes at 7:30pm, when at the Alpenrose it is open all day long.

Right from the start, and throughout the whole 8 days, we have felt the staff was stressed, somewhat tensed or tired... No enthusiasm, no ability (no will?) from the staff to bring any specific attention to you and your vacation, no sense of personalized service. They are not rude but they just work their hours and go home. They don't speak French, and hardly any English for most of them. As a result, overall, the atmosphere is cold, as if the hotel was on the decline.

And above all we have been shocked by the fact that we have decided to stay one night less than originally planned, we have warned the manager 4 or 5 days in advance, but they had charged us for the 9 nights and not 8 anyway. We had to bargain, and they finally accepted to reduce the cost by 2, but this is the first time that something like that happens to me in a hotel (and as a consultant, I used to travel a lot and many countries, and often had to change my plans at the last minutes).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageimmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I found the Moser family and all the staff extremely helpful and patient with my lack of the German language. Speaking English was not a problem for them - indeed they welcomed the practice! The food and wine cellar were excellent, and the restaurant staff delightful. A minor problem in the room (a broken wooden strut under the bed) was fixed instantly. The spa facilities are extremely good, and the treatments very professional. Reception service was friendly and efficient. I enjoyed myself very much here, and I have extensive experience of Austrian wellness holidays. All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed at this hotel over a long weekend. The buffet lunch is always the same, dont go if you are hungry as it is not enough. They give the children, dried up fish fingers, plain spagetti with no sauce, you have to ask for vegetables if you want for you children. Otherwise it is not very heathly.

Typical Austrian Hotel, so dont expect them to speak any english. The breakfast is always the same, old lady who does the eggs, makes raw scambled eggs, yuk!!

The last thing is the owner, a Frau Mosser, who is so full of herself, extremely rude. She has never herd of a french pedicure, the salon is so old, from maybe a military hospital (chair). The nail polishes are few and far, old and just 3 colours to choose from, the hotel video is so far fetched, totally unbelievable, dont go if you have small children, as it seems to only want couples.

Only thing i enjoyed was the skiing in Katschberg, but the hotel with the Frau Mosser, never ever go back!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KDVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michael im Lungau
0.0 mi away
Der Wastlwirt
Der Wastlwirt
#2 of 5 in St. Michael im Lungau
61 reviews
3.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Cristallo
2.7 mi away
Grizzly Sport & Motorrad Resort
Grizzly Sport & Motorrad Resort
#1 of 1 in Sankt Margarethen im Lungau
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Katschberg
0.6 mi away
Stranachwirt Apartments
Stranachwirt Apartments
#10 of 19 in St. Michael im Lungau
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Weissen Stein
Hotel Zum Weissen Stein
#8 of 19 in St. Michael im Lungau
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt

Property: Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt
Address: Kaltbachstrasse 5, St. Michael im Lungau 5582, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St. Michael im Lungau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Michael im Lungau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wellnesshotel Eggerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing