We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, never felt welcomed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our family had a amily room and it worked well for our famil, the welcome baby service was top notch, we have never expected that much stuff for the baby. We drove here from Toulouse France and brought the kids bikes as the reviews said and glad we did.
Overall we never felt welcomed at the hotel at check in no one explained the resort to us, they just gave us a map and sent us on our way. The last night we were there our bike rack outside the hotel was vandalized and my sone bike was stolen, the hotel desk could care less. They did not even care to act interested or concerned, luckly after speaking with security they found the bike somewhere on the result it was damaged but glad they found it.
The food was great, much better then any other all inclusive resort.
I liked the resort but don't think we would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have ac, the family room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dpatterson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We are a family with 2 boys, aged 4 and 2. The experience was very good overall. About an hour and half from La Rochelle airport (a dump!) with Taxis Cordouane - excellent service. Arrival could be handled better I feel - one is greeted by a GO and directed to your chalet which is fine; but having travelled for 5 hours with 2 small kids, a little snack provided in the room would be a great idea. When we arrived the restaurant was closed (also Club Med don't include meals in your package until the evening of your first day) and we were very hungry! Other than that, food was excellent: big buffets 3 times a day, different theme for dinner each evening. It's not Cordon Bleu, but it is very good. Note: no table service. The accomodation is very neat and clean, we were in a little chalet along a boardwalk in the woods, 2 interconnecting bedrooms, bathroom and a small deck outside. Activities are plentiful; though our guys were too young for most. They loved the pool though. I feel that kids from about age 6 up are best suited. There are kids clubs, though it would be best if your kids spoke french, the predominant language here for obvious reasons. Cycle tracks are plentiful so hire bikes (independent bike hire is available on site). The local towns are not especially attractive, and the scenery isn't spectacular in my opinion, but the beaches and woodland are great. The zoo (within a short walk of the resort) is well worth a visit. Very busy, and maybe not the most ethical in some respects, but the kids loved it. Overall, a very enjoyable week. One caveat: if one is trying to experience the "Real France" this is probably not it!

Room Tip: I would stay in the woods, rather than the seaside chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we liked this place very much. Its ideal for biking, swimming (in the pool or sea), laying by the pool, next door (9 holes) golf is great with excellent practice. For the kids there are the usual club med activities. Restaurants are good. We preferred the one close to the sea. Less choice but much more relax. Good place to have late breakfast. Hygiene is 'a la French'. French are not very focussed on having clean toilets...

Room Tip: due to evening activities it is recommended to ask for a place far away from the central bar. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were in Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique starting June 26 for a week with a family group of 14 people. We had a fantastic time. The resort is on the edge of some of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen. There is a bike path running both north and south from the resort many kilometres in each direction. Everything about the resort was great, fantastic food, great staff, and lots and lots to do. We would love to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendersonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We have spent the last 6 May half terms at La Palmyre and will be back next year. It has everything we want.
Having a very active 11 year old boy we need to go somewhere with activities, at Club Med he can play football, tennis, sail, volleyball etc with the club GOs and give his poor knackered parents a rest. He was playing footall up until 10pm some nights.
It is usually cool enough in the mornings to go for long cycle rides, or play tennis. It is much hotter later in the day, and you can spend afternoons round the pool or on the huge beach. Its very well spaced out with a lovely childrens play area and the children 11 and 8 can wander around with their friends. The food is always very good. For us its an easy drive over, no airports! and a very easy week with nothing to worry about.

Room Tip: Avoid sea rooms, older, smaller, bit damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Surreymum_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our La Palmyre Atlantique Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the Resort location and facilities and that your son liked practising sports with our well trained G.Os

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We decided to try Club med having spent the previous 3 years self catering on the beautiful Ile de Re and decided we needed a change. I was a little sceptical about the idea of a ' club' but was pleasantly surprised.
On arrival our car was met by white linen clad multilingial staff who lifted the children out of their car seats, took our luggage and handed me my club med id bracelet for the week. There was no need for check in. The secuirty staff had our names at the gate and the said staff on arrival handed us our room key.
We booked a standard club room and I was pleases I hadn't up graded to the more delux rooms as these are in another area of the club further from the pool, reataurant and other family activities. I suspect they might be a good option if one was travelling sans enfants but those rooms to me seemd a bit exposed and forlorn...and most of them do not have sea views...alot of them seemed empty to me.
The rooms are bungalow style- ours had a double in one room and 2 singles in the other with a bathroom. The rooms are cleaned daily / fresh linen etc. There are separate small buildings with 2 washing machines and a dryer to service every few bungalows( 5 euro for a wash and 2.50 for a dryer).
This club is run extremely well. Facilitis for families are excellent - bottle warmers, nappy bins in rooms, special bags daily for families with yound babies with food for day, fridges with milk supply for bottles++++
The mini club seemed excellent- my 4 year old refused to go and as we were not there during school holidays most of the kids spoke french.
Excellent long beach nearby- we hired bicycles and carriage at club med- very reasonable price. You can cycle for miles nearby on perfect cycle paths.The La Palymre zoo is directly opposite the entrance to club med.
Positives- Fantastic pool, arm bands +++ all avalable there, all food and drink included and excellent. Nespresso on tap !
Negatives- Could be a club med anywhere so to experience any french ' culture' you need to get out of the club. La Palmyre in my opinion is not a pretty town . We drove to La Rochelle aquarium one rainy day.
Also meals start at 7pm for babies/ toddlers and 7.30 otherwise so quite late if you( like us) are used to the standard uk/ Irish bed at 7.30 routine.Also the club meds shows( actually very good) begin at 9.30pm- tooo late for my gang.

Overall very laid back and easy holiday. Excellent facilities especially for slightly older children- eg 6 and up- tennis, rollerskating, archery, mountain biking, windsurfing+++.
Not as pretty as Ile de Re but other advantages...

Room Tip: Chooes a standard club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank florence6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our La Palmyre Atlantique Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the comfort of your room and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Staying with CLub Med is always a pleasure. Our holiday in La Palmyre was one of the best. The rooms were large and very clean. The beds were a bit to hard for our liking though.We were lucky enough to have our accommodation on the ground flour, so we didn't have to climb any stairs. The "babywelcomekit" provided had everything we needed for our youngest child. The resort itself was very beautiful and safe. With the Palmyre Zoo just a 10 minute walk away and the beach right outside the resort the location could not have been more perfect. In all a great holiday with young children (1,5 - 7 years).

Room Tip: Ask for a familyroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lg5Hilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Palmyre-Les Mathes
9.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
#3 of 4 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
111 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Flots
Hotel Residence Les Flots
#1 of 9 in Saint-Palais-sur-Mer
348 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Cordouan
Hotel Cordouan
#3 of 43 in Royan
523 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Grand Chalet
Le Grand Chalet
#2 of 4 in Ronce-les-Bains
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique

Address: allee du grand Large, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Price Range: $299 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a unique 26 hectare site in Charente-Maritime, a paradise for nature and water sports enthusiasts. This Club Med Village of bungalows was inspired by oystermens' cabins with decor selected to blend seamlessly with its natural setting, achieved with an interplay of lively colours and natural materials. Located in a revitalizing conservation environment featuring 30 km of beaches, 65 km of cycle tracks and 8000 hectares of forest, this is the ideal place to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmyre Atlantique Hotel La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Club Med La Palmyre-Les Mathes
La Palmyre-Les Mathes Club Med
La Palmyre Atlantique Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing