We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Le Palmyrotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Palmyrotel
Reviewed June 6, 2008

A well placed hotel in the centre of La Palmyre in the Charente Maritime region of France. Rooms a little on the small side, but comfortable. Excellent breakfast and a good selection of food on the restaurant menu, at reasonable prices.
Secure parking is available at extra cost. Friendly staff, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velofellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2005

La Palmyre - Les Mathes, in Charente Maritime, is a relatively quiet holiday town in the west of France. When searching for a hotel here, very few results come up as it is mainly dominated by holiday camps and mobile home parks. I found the website of the Palmyr Hotel (---) which helpfully can be viewed in English, and at 3*, it seemed suitable enough to spend a few nights. The prices were fairly good, at 85 euros per night at high season, with just three more euros a night for a room with a balcony or terrace. It was this feature which appealed most to me, so I booked up with not too much difficulty.
The Palmyr Hotel is easy to find and is in a very good location. The La Palmyre Zoo (Europe’s biggest zoo) is literally just down the road, easily within walking distance. It is also close to the beach. Check in was fast and simple with the bilingual receptionist, and a trolley was available to transport our luggage to the next floor via an elevator.
With a 3* hotel, it can often go either way – you are either disappointed or pleasantly surprised. In this case, it was the latter. Thankfully the room had a cheerful colour scheme, making the room seem airy. It was decorated with summery blues and yellow flowers. There was a small wardrobe, a set of drawers, small fridge (but not equipped with drinks, unlike a proper minibar), a desk and chair. Above the wardrobe was a television, but none of the nine channels were in English so we never bothered to watch this, but then the last thing you need while relaxing in La Palmyr is television, really. In general, the room was mostly used as a base from which to sightsee, and head to the beach, from.
We had booked a double room, but as is frequently the situation, it came with twin beds rather than the double bed I had hoped for. They could be pushed together if you wished, however. I chose to discard the boot camp-like brown blanket and white top sheet, sleeping instead just under the lightweight duvet. The beds were fairly comfortable, but I resented the sponge material inside some of the pillows.
The balcony was accessed by double doors and was a reasonable size. Myself and my partner could easily sit outside together. There was a white plastic table and two chairs provided. We opted not to pay the seven euros a day to have breakfast at the hotel, instead buying French pastries from one of the local shops. It was nice to eat breakfast outside on the balcony. It overlooked the restaurant and some of the road, but was always pretty quiet. I was certainly glad we had booked a room from the balcony and would definitely advise people to do this. If you have a family, you can also book a mezzanine room.
The bathroom was clean and white, with a large mirror, sink, toilet and shower/bath combination. We were supplied with the usual freebies such as shampoo, shower cap and soap. The bath has a shower curtain and detachable shower head, with instructions on how to work the shower, but it is very simple to do. It was a powerful shower which is much needed for those hot summer days!
The maid service for the hotel was good, seemingly operating between half nine and as late as one o’ clock, because I departed the hotel at one o’ clock one afternoon, and left the ‘please make up my room’ sign on the door. When I returned that afternoon, it had been cleaned and given a brief tidy, i.e. picking my clothes up from where they had been slung on the floor!
One of the highlights of the La Palmyr hotel is its restaurant, the ‘Flamant Rose’. This is arguably one of the best and fanciest restaurants in La Palmyr. Much of the menu was seafood, other than the childrens menu – this can be a bit of a problem if, like me, you hate the stuff, but I have this trouble at most restaurants. You can dine inside or outside, and we were gently serenaded by one man and his guitar on the small stage. It was an enjoyable meal for all.
If you are coming to La Palmyre, I would definitely recommend the La Palmyr hotel. It has facilities for everyone including children and pets(!), and is the best accommodation in the area. It is not particularly luxurious, but then at 3*, what does one expect? Most importantly it was clean, comfortable and respectable – a pleasure to stay at.

17  Thank heavens_and_storms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
13  Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank josselinebonnetaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C11C47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Valkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Palmyre-Les Mathes
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
Hotel La Cote D'Argent
#3 of 4 in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
111 reviews
6.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
B&B Hotel Royan La Palmyre
#2 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
108 reviews
6.3 mi away
Le Heron Cendre Hotel
Le Heron Cendre Hotel
#3 of 7 in La Tremblade
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Residence de Rohan
Hotel Residence de Rohan
#1 of 3 in Vaux-sur-Mer
412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Phoebus
Hotel Phoebus
#4 of 7 in La Tremblade
41 reviews
8.8 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palmyrotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palmyrotel

Address: 2 allee des Passereaux, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Price Range: $59 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palmyrotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palmyr Hotel is located in the heart of a pine forest, close to the immense beaches of France's wild coast. All the delights of water-based activities, fine seafood and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Palmyrotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing