We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roccella Ionica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It is a very good place to stay in Roccella Ionica, You can get in touch with Sandra and she will take very good care of you.From here you can go to visit some of the nicest places in Rocella has to offer. The rooms are clean but what needs to have a reshape is the breakfast menu and maybe some more people more concern about service. Maybe at a different month will be more lively.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a few days here on a recent trip around Italy . This hotel is Fantastic .. The whole place is such value for money no one could ever complain
The service is wonderful although I think a little understaffed.. but all the same no complaints
Rooms are spacious and clean
Lovely pool and surrounds close to good restaurants and facilities We didn't mind the short travel to the beach..
Definitely would revisit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtmarsh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was born and raised in a town nearby. Two years ago my daughter got engaged and decided to marry in Calabria. Most of her guests stayed in apartments but I decided to stay at the hotel for convenience. I had a car and knew my way around so getting to town and the beaches was simple enough. The hotel was peaceful, well kept and very pretty.

The best part of it though, was the staff! On the day of the wedding they allowed us to spread out on the second floor and offered us the junior suite so that my daughter could have her pictures taken there. Throughout the whole trip everyone was just amazing to work with and very friendly. Having seen customer service suffer greatly in the States I found it very pleasant to be able to once more let someone take care of me for a change. The cleaning staff was also wonderful. Everything was kept so clean and tidy each and every day. Thank you Parco dei Principi. I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel on the quiet east coast of Calabria.

The rooms are very spacious, clean, properly maintained and have the necessary amenities. We had rooms with sea view, which are definitely nicer than the rooms with mountain view. Rooms with sea view overlook the garden with magnificent old olive trees, big grass field, the inner fountain and the swimming pool. There is indeed the busy national road 200m in front of the hotel but it's not noisy. And though the sea is a bit far away and you won't hear the waves, there is still the nice view. Nice drive way surrounded with oleander trees. The simming pool (both the one for adults and children) is also well maintained. There are sunloungers and sun umbrellas though the umbrellas could be a bit larger so as to give better protection against the sun.

Buffet breakfast gives ample of choices: bread, toast, croissant, all sorts of marmalade, different types of fruit juices, ham & cheese, fruit, cornflakes, yoghurt, etc. The food is fresh, the staff serves the coffee you want.

Staff is friendly and helpful. They speak good English, at least those at the reception desk.

You can also dine at the hotel but we did not try it out. Nor did we try out the shuttle bus to the beach. Understand that the beach at Rocella Jonica is of high quality.

You need a car to get around as public transport is not frequent. Plenty of ancient sites to visit in the neighbourhood and the nearby mountains could also keep you busy. Even doable to visit Tropea area if you don't mind a 1hrs15 car trip.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are better than those with mountain view. Some rooms with sea view have a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgian_traveller118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

de luxe hotel, wide rooms, very good service, high cuisine... only the location is not gorgeous, nearby the main road in an arid zone, but there is the shuttle service for the beach, very nice with white sand and deep blue water, Roccella beach was awarded of the blue flag!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INESMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Rooms are very clean and spacious. The only minor issue we had were a bunch of ants :-) but we weren't so disturbed by this as they wouldn't crawl into bed; anyway housekeeping took care of it...We also had a balcony with a table and chairs.

The hotel in itself is elegant, although a bit kitschy in some aspects(huge painting with ducks in the lobby or something...). Service is ok - I went in the bar for a coffee and there was nobody around; when the bartender came he offered it on the house because he had kept me waiting (nice gesture).

Breakfast has a wide offer of sweets (croissants, danishes, muffins, pies) but only one type of ham and one type of cheese which, for a country with so many assortments, seems a little poor. Otherwise, food is fresh and very ok.

It's true that they are not very close to the beach, but they have a free shuttle that can take you there at certain hours, and the trip takes 5 mins, so there was no setback here.

We were here at the end of August (very hot) and although they have a pool I haven't seen anyone there, don't know why.

All in all, it is a very good option for accommodation in the area, probably the best you will find.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihaelalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

this hotel looks elegant, but i can tell you that it is not a 5 star hotel. there is no bellman, we had to carry our bags all the way up to the rooms. the rooms looks good, but they don't provide hair conditioning, body lotion etc. the breakfast is nothing to rave about. the staff are nice enough, but not great. like most people mention, it is only good for weddings. it's far from the center of town and beach. I would not go back there again. nothing going on in the hotel either. it seemed like we were the only guests! and there was a jazz festival in town!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank antreass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccella Ionica
14.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Afrodite
Hotel Villa Afrodite
#1 of 1 in Bovalino Marina
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Hotel Kennedy
Club Hotel Kennedy
#1 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
405 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#1 of 2 in Siderno
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#3 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
99 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#2 of 2 in Marina di Gioiosa Ionica
55 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Citta del Sole
Hotel Citta del Sole
#1 of 1 in Stilo
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Hotel

Address: Contrada Barruca S.S.106, 89047 Roccella Ionica, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Roccella Ionica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roccella Ionica
Price Range: $77 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel in Calabria, Parco dei Principi Hotel offers a wide range of services and facilities that meets the guests’ needs and wants.It’s located on the Ionian Coast, 150 m far from the beach.Service quality is our strong point; in-room courtesy line service offered by the hotel included.Breakfast is served from 06.30 to 11.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parco dei Principi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parco Dei Principi
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Calabria/Roccella Ionica, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing