We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
162
22
4
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
162
22
4
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 191 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017

My wife & I stayed her for the 2nd time for a week in May.We had half board and a room over looking the town of Merano in a comfort room with balcony.There is a walk in shower and a lift so access was no problem.The area of Sudtirol is outstanding,so much to see and do.Our hosts and the staff are excellent,the food wonderful,nothing is too much trouble and the hotels rooms are light and airy.There are also excellent spa facilities in the hotel and many walks from outside the door or shopping and sightseeing 10 mins away in lovely Merano.

Room tip: all rooms are excellent,maybe a room on the side or back away from the road if a light sleeper.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

This place grows on you, well at least it has for us. The wonderful owners and staff make sure that you feel like an honored guest. They treat you warmly from the start and it never stops. In fact, the hospitality is what attracts us back again and again. The food is amazing, and if you appreciate fine dining you won't be disappointed. Also, there is a lot of history with the Oberwirt, over 500 years. If you are looking to relax and de-stress, this is a great choice. Enjoy!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Shawn_and_Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

We decided again to travel not too far from home extending the weekend from thursday to friday. From the munich suburbs...3 hours it took. I do suggest leaving on a thursday because the weekend traffic is terrible on this Salzburg direction highway. Even the Brenner highway was no problem. Going there and coming back.

The hotel was very easy to find. About 10 minutes from the highway after paying the toll which was only 6,40 euros. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes from Meran city center. Parking though is a bummer but we found a small parking lot only about a 10 minute walk to the city center....1,50 euros per hour.

Romantic Hotel Oberwirt...wow!!!! The receptionist was very friendly. Parking was free! On their property! The room was like a small apartment. We had a nice mountain view with a long double balcony. Only 2 little things that i just have to mention. Ladies....i find that there is not enough light over the big mirror and the cosmetic magnifying mirror had no light either. I always bring with me a light that i can hang on that mirror. . Second thing which i did mention to the 'owner' himself that in the beautiful modern shower there is NO handle to grab. I found that i could NOT IGNORE mentioning this to the owner because while soaping up the shower tiles were......slippery! I do hope that he does add HANDLES on the shower wall before one has an accident.

The restaurant team super friendly and very tentative. Hugh dining room and offside rooms too to dine in. The outside terrace/garden was beautiful. We had the ala carte dinner...DELICIOUS! Breakfast was served on friday and sunday outside. My omelet... yummy! Hugh breakfast sortiment!! Saturday morning (for whatever reason) the breakfast buffet was set up in a very nice room in the back.

The bar counter is not big but since it is intergrated in the dining room it was very comfortable too. The bartender...thank you susanne!! A gem!

Wellness therapy is offered and they have an inside and outside lovely pools.

All in all...the reviews written were true!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank troopermini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015

My wife & I stayed here for 1 week on halfboard.We stayed in room 8 which is one of the Tower suites on the 1st floor with it's own outside balcony and sun terrace overlooking the hills and woods-beautiful!.Access to all floors is via a lift or stairs and the room has a walk-in shower.The area around Marling is beautiful, the location of the hotel fantastic surrounded by fields of apples,pears,figs,grapes.The public rooms are traditional,cosy and very nice,the service throughout excellent and the food was simply outstanding!.If you want to be cosseted for one week go here.You can dine in or outside,weather permitting.You can choose a la carte or a 6-course set menu which was wonderful and eat dishes you wouldn't normally choose.Breakfast is again,outstanding, juice your own carrots with fruit and ginger,choose from the many breads,fruit,meats,cheeses,mueslis or have a cooked breakfast with local mushrooms,bacon and eggs!.

Room tip: Any of the Tower Suites
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

This was our fifth visit and again the most relaxing and delightful experience . We were upgraded to a wonderful set of rooms and the weather was perfect . Eating breakfast and dinner outside , in a beautiful garden with a fountain, is to drop out of normal life into something romantic and almost film star like. The choice and quality of food, the friendly attentiveness of the wonderful staff..perfection. Its a peaceful and courteous place, there is good walking around the area or lying round the pool, visiting Meran, and a week flew by. If you want to truly drop out of every day reality for a while, this could not be a better way to so it.

Room tip: Well worth having a balcony for the lovely views and it can get quite hot in this area.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews