We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'GUEST HOUSE PERFECTION'”
Review of Tan-yr-Onnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tan-yr-Onnen
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Asaph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful B & B for 1 night, although we both wished it was longer once we arrived. Although very conveniently situated just off the A55 and easy to find, you feel like you are miles away from any hustle and bustle due to the off road location and it is very quiet and relaxing. Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the owners Sara & Patrick, and when we were shown to our accommodation (Poppy Suite - comprising of bedroom, bathroom and lounge) where we were thrilled by what we saw. It was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and had lots of thoughtful little extra touches, and the views from every window were beautiful. The king size bed was extremely comfy! We found the guest information pack that was placed in our room really useful too, providing us with menus of local places to eat and plenty of ideas on where to visit which is so handy when you don't know the area. Breakfast next morning was excellent and cooked to perfection, and just like everything else during our stay, it was flawless and it is a guest house that truly deserves it's 5* rating! We have already recommended to family and friends, and will definitely be returning ourselves later in the year.

Room Tip: Whilst all the accommodation is fantastic, the suite is worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Owners really welcoming friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Everything was spotlessly clean. Very quiet and relaxing. Amazing breakfast with lots of choice. It's a pity we were only able to stay one night. I will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely owners. Accomodation and breakfast 5 star.
Super ensuite rooms ( i requested a bath) and such comfy beds. Free wifi.
Just off A55 so very convenient. The Cathedral in St saph is beautiful.
Would highly recommend. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just stayed at this bnb in the snowdrop room! It lived up to the 5 star accommodation rating!! Close to the motorway but off road and very quiet. The welcome from Patrick was warm and welcome! The room was very spacious with a large king size bed which was very comfortable! Breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of choice. Would recommend the local pub-the Farmers Arms which provides locally sourced food which is good value for money; situated a mile away from the BnB (walking time approx 20mins)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmamike77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just stayed at Tan yr Onnen guest house for a birthday and wedding anniversary break. What a find! The place strikes that perfect balance between a good b & b and a hotel. The rooms are in an annex so you have your own 'front door' and can come and go as in a hotel. The service from the hosts however is very personal and first class, including recommendations on trips out and good restaurants.

The room was lovely. Very large with French doors to a small terrace, a big bathroom and superb huge bed. The bed was extremely comfortable with lovely soft pillows.

Extra features included fluffy dressing gowns, good quality toiletries, tea and coffee in room, free view and free wireless Internet access.

The breakfasts were superb. We only wish we hadn't been so busy so that we had more time to relax and enjoy all that was on offer. Suffice it to say that after breakfast we didn't need to eat until evening.

Best B and B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilNerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

After looking to stay locally to visit family we came across this place on trip advisor. We were a little cynical that a place could have that many amazing reviews, and wondered if they had a lot of friends lol!
We stayed here for 2 nights in March, and will definitely be going back.
We stayed in Snowdrop. The room was big, light and airy yet cosy and comfortable against the snow outside.
It was spotlessly clean, as was the sparkling spacious en suite bathroom. Our bed was oh so comfy, as well as humongous and we slept so well.
Every attention to detail had been paid, from supplying gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom, to the fresh milk in the fridge and the robes supplied for our use.
The owners are a lovely friendly couple, very informative about the local area, places to visit and things to do.
The breakfast was hot, tasty and fresh cooked....and I could have proposed to Patrick after tasting his scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.
We absolutely loved our stay at Tan-yr-onnen and can totally understand why they have such amazing reviews.
Well deserved and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggyAggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on business, professional and welcoming hosts, brilliantly appointed bedrooms, great location, and fantastic breakfast.

Couldn't fault anything about this B&B... a well deserved top marks for everything!

The best Welsh B&B I've stayed in! Would definitely recommend....

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripangel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Asaph hotels
1.6 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
White House
White House
#2 of 4 in St. Asaph
55 reviews
2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rhuallt Country Park
Rhuallt Country Park
#4 of 4 in St. Asaph
4 reviews
0 mi away
Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park
Penisar Mynydd Caravan Park
#3 of 4 in St. Asaph
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-yr-Onnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-yr-Onnen

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Waen, St. Asaph LL17 0DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Asaph
Price Range: $115 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan-yr-Onnen 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a 5 Star luxury Bed and Breakfast Service in beautiful North Wales. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and our Guest house is a great location to explore all that North Wales has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tan-yr-Onnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Yr-Onnen St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing