We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were trying to find somewhere to eat, tired after a long day at the Eisteddfod. Stopped and asked 2 women on the street and they recommended the Talardy. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome. Cheerful and attentive staff and the food was not posh but very tasty indeed. My 13 year old daughter loved the ribs so much that she declared them 'best ever' and said that if the Talardy were nearer to our home (in Swansea) it would be her favorite place to eat out. High praise indeed! We would definitely call in again if we were passing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    88
    39
    28
    29
See reviews for
98
87
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We found the restaurant by accident while travelling from Betws-y-coed to Chester.

The place looked fantastic, nice sitting areas outside, children's play area, and generally tasteful and modern decor, which looked appealing as soon as we arrived. However, being that the pub belongs to a chain (Marstons), and having had a quick read of the latest reviews, we were a bit skeptical.

Any fears dissipated pretty quick, as the service was absolutly second to none, from being shown to our table, to the taking of orders, and the general demeanour and manners of the staff, left nothing to be desired.

The food was good (chicken dishes recommended, as they have their own rotisserie), and deserts were equally appetising.

The only glitch over the whole evening was some idiot mouthing off at the bar. The staff handled him in a professional manner (although in my opinion, they should have chucked him out!)

We're in the area for a few more days and might return if we get a chance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

On Sunday night, we found this hotel on one of the late room websites and decided to visit and maybe stay. Nice big car park and easy access from A55.

Our server Sam, was fine, attentive and pleasant. I explained my wife needed gluten-free and he went and got us an allergy list. We chose our food and ordered two soft drinks. I stopped Sam in his tracks and asked him to tell the chef, to his face, my wife needed Gluten-free. About ten minutes later our drinks arrived.

We waited quite a while for our starters and my wifes turned up with bread at the side. I asked the young waiter who delivered it, was it gluten-free and he said it must be. I rejected it and asked him to get Sam. Sam came over and said it wasn't. He took it away and brought it back with the bread removed and also confirming the Marie Rose sauce was ok.

We ordered more drinks while waiting for the main course. We waited, and waited, and waited. We asked another waitress for the drinks and she said they were on their way. We waited, and waited, and asked yet another waiter for the drinks to be told they were on their way.

Main course arrived and we tucked in. Not very hot, but I dont like burning hot food. Sam passed and asked was everything alright. I told him I was now asking for the THIRD time for our drinks. He went and got them apologizing the ticket must have got lost.

Very very average. Service lousy, could have poisoned my wife, massive waits for service.

Not a place I will be returning to. We never even asked about staying. Drove to Holyhead and paid 20 pounds for the next Stena home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a bad experience here a few months ago but thought we would give it another try. Big mistake!
The service is without a doubt the worst we have come across in any restuarant. It was not a busy night and it took over 15 minuets for our drinks order to be taken. Once our drinks had arrived we had pretty much finished our drinks before the meal order was taken. It was particulaly frustrating that the waitresses we stood directly opposite our table chatting and therefore completely unattentive. We also could have done without hearing their personal conversations! Our food was what to be expected from a chain pub but still enjoyable. Our plates were not cleared for 20 minuets dispite the staff including two managers repeatedly walking past us. We had to ask for the plates to be cleared and to order desserts. Again dessert plates not cleared and had to ask at the bar for the bill.
Shocking management and very poorly trained staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparklescat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a group on Tuesday August 6th. We placed a food order for the4peolpe on our table. We waited over an hour but no food appeared. A very charming waitress came to our table and apologised and told us that the kitchen had lost our order. We reordered and some considerable time later our starters which 3of us ordered appeared. There was then another delay and so we were about to cancel our main course when it arrived. My wife had ordered a rare steak but it came medium to well done and she sent it back. The same charming waitress was sent. Back by the chef saying the chef did not understand the problem. Eventually a second steak appeared but it was not possible to cut the meat and we had to send it back again. The poor waitress who was obviously upset came back to tell us the chef was not happy. My wife who had not ordered a starter went without any food at all. At no time did a manager come to see us but it was all left to the waitress who had done her best. Some of our party who were actually staying in the hotel informed us that the chef did not turn up for breakfast and that was chaos as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Was nice. Food was good but it was the service that will make me come back. Niamh was the best waitress I have ever had and I travel around a lot and have worked in training customer service etc. The others lacked something special that Niamh has. But overall it was a good experience. I did not stay over but dined in the exquisite surrounds within the beautiful views of St Asaph valley. I even treated myself to a sweet white wine with my meal which was of a good quality. I was a little greedy and went for the mixed grill. I absolutely loved the peas and meat and thought it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry_booker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were visiting friends and were greeted and treated by very friendly staff. We booked in and shown to our room which was huge. Very, very clean and welcoming. Haven't stayed in a hotel room this big ever. We had a tour round the grounds and had a drink outside. We changed for dinner we met outside for drinks and then were taken to our table for dinner. A good varied choice was available on the menu. We particularly liked the rotisserie menu, you can see the meat cooking and rotating and smells delicious. Food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast the next day was excellent and plenty to choose from. We went for fruit yoghurt and juice and then the cooked breakfast and were served plenty of tea and coffee.The beer was good and the food excellent which is what you want for a night away. Congratulations to the management and the staff, it was a great stay, considering it only re-opened in May after being flooded. We definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
1.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Property: Talardy Hotel
Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe. All our room rates are inclusive of a freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing