We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one Sunday night at May bank holiday when visiting friends in St Asaph. Had dinner which was ok but typical pub grub. The accommodation was very confortable, clean and obviously quite new following a recent refurbishment. Breakfast when it came was excellent. No hesitation in recommending it for b&b. Not much wardrobe space the only thing I noticed. Couldn't stay much longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 388 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first visit for many many year. The newly refurb restaurant/hotel after the floods looked fantastic. Really loved the whole look of the place.......the staff were fantastic.......menu choices were good.........but sadly that was where the great experience started to go downhill. The main part of the meal was good, but the vegetables, chips and plates were all cold on all of our six dinners. The staff were apologetic and informed the chef but I do not know if they were concerned about the cold meals. After the main meals we tried the desserts......mostly were great but my daughters dessert had been microwave far too much and was rock solid. I would like to think that this was a one off problem......but during our visit I heard several tables complain about cold meals, waiting far too long (wasn't that busy) incorrect meals etc etc. Sadly I will have to think twice before I visit again, I so wanted to love this place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Took mum in law here for a meal in April. Not long after the Talardy reopened after the floods. We arrived about 4pm the restaurant was not busy but nice and clean and we where quickly seated at a table. The meal served was very pleasant , nicely cooked and served. Service was quick although we where not rushed. Would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are much improved, the bar and restaurant are superb. The Talardy was a delight a great all round experience. We stayed on a deal so it was true value for money I can thoughly recommend thi hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoggiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Dined there today. Free wifi (download speed about 2mb). Nice inside. Had chicken with baked potato. Chicken was nice, but the potato wasn't anything special. Outside was great for the kids, lots of room for them to run around and play.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Richard_2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We dined here on a family member's 80th birthday last week. There were 8 of us including two young children so we were seated in the children's section located at the back. The room is decorated beautifully and has toys for the children to play with so they don't get bored. Our meals arrived quickly and were delicious. For my starter I had jalepeno flamers which I would recommend and for my main meal I had a gourmet burger which was presented beautifully. The menu is very extensive so there is bound to be something to suit everyone and it is extremely reasonably priced. I would definitely go again and would recommend to others. The staff were all friendly and very helpful - a real credit to the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just off the A55 at St Asaph on the roundabout under the expressway. Plenty of parking. Great disabled access.
Smoking room outside enclosed by glass windows on 3sides with comfy seats!! Well protected from the elements of the weather..Great if you are a smoker .
We stopped here one evening for something to eat. Serve food until 10 pm. it had lovely decor and was well presented . the pictures hanging from the ceiling was a bit strange as were the pictures of animals dressed in suits but still very quirky and well worth a look. ( as you go in the door turn to the right and go to the end of the room. !!) It also had great disabled access . Was very clean.Staff very helpful.
Service was quick. Food was very well presented and well cooked. Reasonable prices too. Great ambience. Rump steak and chips £12.95 husband recommends Hot Pot ! Has accommodation too although didn't stay there sadly.
Heard it had been badly flooded so to get to this standard so quickly needs commending. Overall a big thumbs up . Would definitely go again .

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
2 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
1.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
575 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
660 reviews
10.9 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
494 reviews
5.4 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: $66 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe with the option of adding a delicious continental or freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing