We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited the Talardy a few times before the 2012 flood and good to go back since re-opening after the flood. We've only been to the restaurant so can’t comment on the rooms. Restaurant is large L shaped with different décor at each end so you can sit in what suits your moods. Ceilings are high so is airy. It’s all decorated and laid out very nicely. Loads of choice on the menus: about 20-30 main courses plus another dozen on the specials. The girls like chocolate and commented there wasn’t much choice of chocolate on the sweets menu. My wife loved the chocolate bread and butter pudding which is no longer available. We were a party of 8 which turned up without notice one quiet Monday early evening and we were accommodated without problem. The Talardy operates an “at table” service so you don’t go to the bar, they do everything for you. The staff were using a new electronic ordering system with had a few hiccups: they had to come back for the main course because one item ordered had not been saved. The staff resorted to paper for the sweets. If the electronic system is programmed well it will be helpful because pre-flood they used to have deliveries on a Tuesday and were low on many lines by Monday evenings (which is when we tend to visit) and we used to find that sometimes after taking our order the staff had to come back to explain that what a few of us had ordered wasn’t in and once that even what we re-ordered wasn’t in for one of us. This wasn’t a problem this time for the 8 of us. Service was quick: food and drinks. The food was all cooked and laid out well. My sons always have burgers and both commented that the portions were smaller than pre-flood. Teenagers like large portions but I prefer taste and like to leave feeling satisfied and not bloated. The grand deserts are huge: be warned that the carrot cake is a lot larger than it looks on the photo on menu! Prices are reasonable: the 8 of us main courses and sweets and one drink £123.

Room Tip: Visited restaurant only so have no experience of the rooms. Talardy is right next at junction of ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    92
    41
    28
    29
See reviews for
106
87
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
denbighshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good value for money although the beef carvery was a little mean on the slices. Partner had half a chicken which was nice. Staff are helpful and food is tasty. Excellent choice on the menu. Restaurant is huge with plenty of space and service is fast. We were greeted at the door with 'have you eaten here before' which was a bit weird because they were affected by the floods at the end of last year and only just reopened. Electronic tablet was used to order our food by the waiting on staff instead of paper no problem.

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the hotel but is situated on main A55. Excellent location and handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Called in after hearing that they had re-opened. The Staff were very polite and friendly and attended to us very quickly. We were extremely impressed with our meals last night it seemed as if the Menu had changed a little but there was lots of choice. The Management had updated their ordering system to an electronic one but the staff were not used to it as yet, but we did all have a giggle about it and they will get quicker once they are used to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Gastro pub food but i wouldnt say cheap.
Hotel just getting back to business after the recent local floods but will have to improve to compete locally.
Perhaps the staff are coming to terms with the new regime but i do hope they are able to turn this once popular place around soon.
Meals deals will certainly help this place out and more focus on customer care will be needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely meal staff very friendly will definitely go back.nice atmosphere menu was good. The order was taken on a tablet and the drinks arrived before the waitress had finished taking the order that's impressive

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bluebob31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Called here quite on the off chance and was pleasantly surprised, after the floods this old building has been tastefully redecorated. On arrival was greeted by very helpful staff, offered a variety of places to sit, and was served with complimentary tortillas.
There were plenty of staff on hand so orders came swiftly.
The menu is varied and very reasonable, the childrens menu is THE best I have ever seen, my son(6) was very happy as he could choose exactly what he wanted. The food came quickly and was really tasty, they specialise in a rotisserie and my husband was very in impressed with the chicken and all the bits that came with it.
Our waitress (who had an Irish accent, sorry didn't get your name) was extremely helpful and provided our son with colouring stuff and stickers, as the waitresses took the orders on mini ipads they were able to notice when you needed things or just to check on how the meal was going, nothing was too much trouble for them!
There is a special area for small children and the outside area is outstanding, with childrens play area and lots of nice seating perfect for those warm summer evenings (fingers crossed).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebraelsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the duck dish and it was terrible, really dry and old looking. Family had steaks and all were unhappy with there food. Streaks of fat all through the serlion steak! Service was horrific to top it off

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
1.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
528 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
4.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
612 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
570 reviews
10.9 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Property: Talardy Hotel
Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe. All our room rates are inclusive of a freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing