We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome back”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcome back”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Called in after hearing that they had re-opened. The Staff were very polite and friendly and attended to us very quickly. We were extremely impressed with our meals last night it seemed as if the Menu had changed a little but there was lots of choice. The Management had updated their ordering system to an electronic one but the staff were not used to it as yet, but we did all have a giggle about it and they will get quicker once they are used to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    42
    28
    29
See reviews for
106
92
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Gastro pub food but i wouldnt say cheap.
Hotel just getting back to business after the recent local floods but will have to improve to compete locally.
Perhaps the staff are coming to terms with the new regime but i do hope they are able to turn this once popular place around soon.
Meals deals will certainly help this place out and more focus on customer care will be needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely meal staff very friendly will definitely go back.nice atmosphere menu was good. The order was taken on a tablet and the drinks arrived before the waitress had finished taking the order that's impressive

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bluebob31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Called here quite on the off chance and was pleasantly surprised, after the floods this old building has been tastefully redecorated. On arrival was greeted by very helpful staff, offered a variety of places to sit, and was served with complimentary tortillas.
There were plenty of staff on hand so orders came swiftly.
The menu is varied and very reasonable, the childrens menu is THE best I have ever seen, my son(6) was very happy as he could choose exactly what he wanted. The food came quickly and was really tasty, they specialise in a rotisserie and my husband was very in impressed with the chicken and all the bits that came with it.
Our waitress (who had an Irish accent, sorry didn't get your name) was extremely helpful and provided our son with colouring stuff and stickers, as the waitresses took the orders on mini ipads they were able to notice when you needed things or just to check on how the meal was going, nothing was too much trouble for them!
There is a special area for small children and the outside area is outstanding, with childrens play area and lots of nice seating perfect for those warm summer evenings (fingers crossed).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebraelsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I had the duck dish and it was terrible, really dry and old looking. Family had steaks and all were unhappy with there food. Streaks of fat all through the serlion steak! Service was horrific to top it off

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colak94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Seriously poor food here, beef dinner was really bad and when asked if served pink the reply was 'no it comes in a bag', the 'roast' potatoes could of been bounced round the room, the British Platter consisted of a little pie, a few fish strips, chips and mushy peas for £9, this was unbelievably bad. The company obviously send all the food in pre packed, nothing local and fresh, just another chain with low standards of food and don't use local produce.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Look its quite a good hotel, staff very helpful, food as you would expect from a major chain hotel and had a 20% reduction because we stayed for two nights so that was a bonus.

My wife is a funny eater and even she enjoyed the food to my amazement, its better than the premier inn at Rhuddlan down the road. Breakfast was OK not a great choice of cold buffet but my eggs and bacon were good and not enough tea or coffee on tap.

Room was massive, very well decorated and comfortable, too hot for me but the missus liked the radiators bumping off the wall. Only issue was noise off A55, I am a light sleeper but started to pick up heavier vehicular noise around 4 am but for most people they would not notice it.

I would stay again and would recommend to anyone as this area of North Wales is bereft of many decent hotels. Price was not bad for three at £84.00 including breakfast.

Room Tip: avoid room 1 if you are a light sleeper due to noise off A55 but lovely size and comfortable. TV not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank russell24504207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
1.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
533 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
558 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
583 reviews
11.3 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Property: Talardy Hotel
Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe. All our room rates are inclusive of a freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing