We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see it renovated and back in business”
Review of Talardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talardy Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Called with a friend for lunch, not been in since the new owners have renovated the hotel and re-opened for business. Like the country house style revovation, nothing matching but it all blends well. We had good service from the staff and we had a main meal from the specials which was well cooked and presented. I will certainly be calling again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having checked the reviews i was a bit concerned.However not 2 be put of we dicided to give it a go at lunch time on 12 sept 2012 ,we found it busy which was good but plenty of tables .Service was quick for drinks and for meals,however wives meal not available red current shank so dicided on lamb stew i had stickey duck .Meals turned up 17 minutes later which was very good. Overall was pleased with the service and meals so well done to sam and all .The real test will come on a saturday night when people are Qing to get a table 8 and half out of ten

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TURBOStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went for a birthday dinner, tried to book in advance for a table, but were told we couldn't but to turn up on the night. W duly did so, only to be told that tables could not be put together for our party (of 11).
We ended up sitting outside and putting the tables together ourselves. We ordered at the bar and were told after a short wait that the food ould be 40 minutes. In the end it was nearly an hour and a half. We ad to request cutlery, and also steak knives as these weren't given with the meal. At least 7 of the orders were wrong, the cooking of the steaks left a lot to be desired, well done apparently means cremated on the outside and bloody inside, the plates were cold, so the food arrived cold, several items were missing and/or incorrect. The food quality as pretty abysmal, even if it had arrived hot. After complaining at the ed of the meal, we were told, rather curtly that we should have said when it arrived, and that our comments would be passed to the chef. NO apology was given whatsoever, only a sour attitude. My heart actually went out to a lot of the young staff who are clearly under trained and clueless as to what restaurant service entails. The bar staff simply could not seem to remember the order of the persons waiting and several times served customers who had only just arrived and ignored those who had been waiting 20 minutes plus.
A very disappointing and poor service. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bellevuehotel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A group of us wanted to book a table for 11 only to be told you can't book a table you just have to take pot luck & turn up & hope they have space.
We turned up & asked if we could have some tables put together so all 11 of us could sit together for a birthday meal only to be told no we can't do that.
We ended up sat in a 3 sided conservatory type of thing where we push the tables together.
So we all ordered our meals & paid for them. We were informed there would be about a 40 minute wait for our food, no problem we were having a good chat & drink so 40 minutes was not too long.
Food arrived after 1 hour 15 minutes, on cold plates & it was warm not hot, we had to ask for cutlery & condiments then steak knives (which were hotter than the food)
Orders were wrong & if that is their idea of a rare steak I'd hate to have a well done one!
The rack of lamb was cold, the vegetarian dish was unbelievably hot spice wise & you couldn't taste it.
It took at least 10 minutes to get served with drinks when we went back in whilst waiting for the meal.
We attempted to complain but the attitude of the senior person was not very professional to put it mildly, it actually felt like "we've had your money now go away"
Having said all this on facebook we were amazed how many other of our friends had the same experience.
All in all, cold food, slow service not very helpful & under trained staff.
needles to say we wont be taking our business there again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gareth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at the Talardy Hotel on the weekend and had a great experience! The rooms were spacious and clean and the beds comfy! What really completed our visit was the actual restaurant downstairs. The menu is really extensive and the food that was served was delicious. I would recommend this as a hotel or a restaurant to anyone - glad it's back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Decided to try the newly refurbished restaurant as we'd been a few times before. Lovely setting, staff very pleasant, and the food was good though was missing the onion rings. We're finding that items that are listed on the menu are missing when served.....not just here. I can't understand that the chef doesn't know the content of the meals on the menu. A very good selection of meals, though my steak was supposed to be rare and my partners...medium. We were served by a different person than the one who took our order...only when we started eating, did we realize that he hadn't asked who had ordered what......they were both same..somewhere in between. Regardless...we'd go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Newly refurbished by new owners Marstons, The Talardy is now primarily a Restaurant and an excellent one at that. I am unable to comment on the Hotel accommodation, in fact I am not too sure that it is still provided.
Only opened three weeks before our visit teething problems have been solved and a delightful experience can now be enjoyed. The Menu is varied and inviting, pricing pitched at the right level, catered by willing and friendly staff delivering good quality food, served hot and efficiently. With four of us selecting differing dishes there was no cause for complaint as each plate as requested and presented as it should be. The sauces were delicious and more would have been welcome. One member of our party alluded to having the best Scampi ever!!. Wine and drinks were not overpriced and of fair quality, more so than some establishments I know. Not a great variety of desserts, but quality was very apparent. The greatest omission for me was not having Cheese and Biscuits available on the menu or by request.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhjfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
2 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
1.2 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
574 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
659 reviews
10.9 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
493 reviews
5.4 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Address: Talardy The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 stylish en suite bedrooms and a brand new 24 bedroom annexe with the option of adding a delicious continental or freshly cooked breakfast - the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day. Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children's play area. The Talardy is the perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can't wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing