We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February on a KGB deal for 2 night and we found the staff very friendly and the service good. We chose to eat at the hotel as it is a fair bit out of St Asaph and we were not disappointed - the food was excellent.

The room we had was large with a large comfy bed. It was clean and had everything you would expect from a hotel.

The only bad point about the hotel is its leisure pool which is in dire need of a refurb. The sauna did too and the steam room doesn't work and seemed to be used as a store.

St Asaph itself is quaint, as is Rhos-on-sea (nearby). I don't however recommend a trip to Rhyl unless you want to fall into a depression...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 551 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable room, bathroom a little tired but otherwise a good stay. Lovely breakfast and on site facilities - well worth a stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful too, plenty of parking which is always a bonus! Had lunch there too which was reasonable and nice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curly_Wurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights in march 2013, very cold but plenty to do in and around hôtel. Swimming pool, gym, sauna & steam room all very clean. A la carte restaurant food great prices & well presented & very tasty. Breakfast time had lots of choice although welsh cooked breakfast is certainly worth having. Ryhl isn t too far away & à nice day out. Will return in the future. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidclaire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Arrived on a Monday night. Hotel was quiet but reception staff were friendly. Allowed me to sit in the restaurant and order off the Conservatory Menu.The steak oloroso pie was excellent. Bar and waiting staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was cooked after ordering. A good portion of black pudding not just a slice. Poached egg just right. Only downside to stay was bath and shower. Can be a bit fiddly - my shower only worked after really turning the hot tap on the bath off hard but then worked fine. Any problems ring down and they will help.
Free wi-fi is a bonus. Good to see a hotel that gives a price that covers all room facilities. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in a lovely spot within walking distance of the town. We had a standard room which was well laid out, roomy and spotless. The staff were very efficient and polite. The bar and dining area were very nice and comfortable. The place is easy to find on the St Asaph to Denbigh road, about 3/4 mile out of St Asaph, sat nav will say take a turning at a farm, ignore this as the hotel is only 200 yards or so from the farm turning on the main road. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly_tom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the oriel for a couple if days in February 2013. It was nice with a couple of exceptions. The milk and yogurt were room temperature when I went to breakfast and the floors and walls are thin so you hear every move of any guest that is coming and going. However, overall I loved this hotel. The staff was particularly exceptional and friendly and helpful. The water in the shower was good and hot and the bed was very very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this cute country place to stay. BTW the sea bass lunch I had there was exquisite and a super value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went for a quiet break away and this was just the job. On arival we had a lovely friendly welcome, the hotel was fully explained to us and we were booked in for Dinner that evening. The room was a very good size (a superior room) huge bed good sized TV and really nice looking bathroom. Dinner was ok, but let down slightly by poor service, which was rather slow and not very professional. The food was pretty good and reasonably priced though. Breakfast was continental with a hot option, we never eat cooked breakfasts so the continental was excellent with lots of choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc
The hotel was very friendly and clean and tidy, there is a spa but we didn't get time to use it as we were away from the hotel most of the time. The only slight disappointment was the shower had very low pressure so not very strong, it also took a while to fill the bath too.
On the whole a really nice stay and I would be very happy to return if I was in North Wales again as it was an excellent base, we got an excellent deal for 2 night stay but wouldn't have been as good if I had paid full price for the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Asaph
10.7 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
5.7 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
363 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
634 reviews
10.1 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriel Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing