We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely and peaceful

Only a tiny Cathedral not much bigger than an average Anglican Church but well worth a visit. So... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
nessief
,
Worcester UK
via mobile
A little Gem

You don't have to be religious to go here. The Cathedral is open to everyone. Fantastic place with... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
WendyLou03
,
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 107 reviews
  
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
60
37
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
37
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews worth a visit great britain welsh language stained glass feel very welcome little gem fascinating history current building display case magnificent architecture visitor information holy place civil war car park information boards friendly staff bible
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only a tiny Cathedral not much bigger than an average Anglican Church but well worth a visit. So peaceful.
No guidebooks available which is a shame but the exhibits are well presented inc the first Bible in Welsh and the story behind it. You can download and use a guide on your android or I phone which is very good.
The new cafe is a welcome addition and is good value with friendly staff

Thank nessief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You don't have to be religious to go here. The Cathedral is open to everyone. Fantastic place with information. Its a 13th century Cathedral and is reputed to be the smallest in Great Britain.
A must visit for anyone remotely interested in history.
Its Wheelchair friendly too.

Thank WendyLou03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

As a local I know the cathedral well, and it is well worth a visit to view the magnificent architecture and to learn about its fascinating history. The purpose of my recent visit was to check out the new cafe. I was not disappointed. Excellent barista made coffee and fresh sandwiches and cake, well worth the trip!

Thank JKG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

St Asaph Cathedral is amazing so beautiful and well maintained, so we'll worth a visit also has a coffee shop.
In the grounds is the translator's memorial was erected n the North side in 1892 commemorating the tercentenary of Bishop William Morgan's Bible of 1588.

Thank lorrainelewis891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Steeped in history, a brilliant little cafe for refreshments . Unfortunately St Asaph itself appears to be closed, nearly all shop,pubs are shut although there is a lovely pottery and gallery to go and see, as you walk down from the Cathedral it's like ghost town.get to the bridge and the pottery n gallery are on the right after a lovely playground. Stand on the bridge and watch the water rushing below.great if you want to walk along side of it to.

Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a very interesting visit to St Asaphs and found the people so lovely. At the cathedral we were stood looking through the internal glass door as we had our dog with us. A gentleman came and opened the door and said our dog was welcome to come in. This enabled us all to visit this beautiful cathedral, take our time and read all the interesting information they had in there. A lady even came and checked we knew where the water bowl was for our dog. It was so nice knowing we were all welcome and could concentrate on the history and beauty of the place.
The art work was of particular interest to me and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Thank Sloney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

I visited the tearoom and enjoyed coffee and a fresh scone - then went to use the loo. Its unisex and not that close to the cafe so not great for letting kids go on their own. Big concern they haven't provided a sanitary bin in every cubicle since i complained they've taped a note on the cubicle doors that do contain them so highlighting when you go to the loo that you may be on your period! No dignity or privacy for girls /women because they don't feel we're worth the additional cost.

Thank liznwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

The smallest (or next to smallest) cathedral in the UK, dating back to the 12th century, with a fascinating history that can be followed through the excellent set of information boards throughout the cathedral.
The third building on this site, and the first to built of stone: the previous two having been destroyed by fire.
Of special interest are the original bibles first copied into Welsh,and still in pristine condition.
With limited free parking in the grounds and pay and display parking immediately opposite, the Cathedral is easily accessed.
There is a small cafe/tea room on site.

Thank 2mercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

The church is well maintained. The grounds were kept well too. Interesting stained glass windows. Pulpit had lovely carving on it. Worth the visit

Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Enjoyed an interesting hour or so looking around the cathedral, followed by a lovely pot of leaflets test & scone in Refectory whilst on a cycling tour of the area.

Thank NorthWalesSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews