We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice night out”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in St. Asaph
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Swan Inn has been under the same ownership for over 17 years and has stayed loyal to the Marstons beer brand from whom the premises where purchased.The premises where refurbished fully when the smoking ban was introduced and now boasts a clean bright decor whilst keeping the old pub charm including a real open fire. In 2012 we introduced food to The Swan, and after a redecorate and the purchase of modern dining furniture, we pride ourselves on using localy sourced fresh produce, all meats from Daniel Jones butchers St. Asaph and all seafood from Mermaid Seafoods Llandudno, real home cooked chips are our trademark and most of our menu is cooked on the premisses from fresh, we also offer a wide range of Gastropub pies which have proved a great favourite, our fish and chips are battered with real Marstons beer.We are growing from strengh to strengh which has resulted in us being voted number one in the area on Tripadvisor, please visit us I can give my personal assurance you wont be disapointed. John Fisher
Reviewed August 17, 2013

visited after a friends recommendation and can honestly say that I am pleased that I went ...There was plenty of choice, my partner chose the swan burger and I opted for the steak ,both meals arrived freshly cooked ,hot, well presented and with a nice smile .Staff ensured the meal was to our satisfaction after couple minutes and were very pleasant overall. Unable to sit in beer garden as weather overcast but next time weather permitting would take meal outdoors as garden lovely cared for and flowers etc . Will definately return as good standard and very reasonably priced .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank caravan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a table so were expected. Notices outside the pub proudly proclaim their number one status on Trip Advisor and the varied, fresh, locally sourced menu.
The place was empty when we arrived, to the smell of disinfectant and the blaring of a large television. Only one of our party was able to have the meal they ordered as it turned out that there were several things not available from the menu. The food quality was average. For example the rice for the beef stroganoff was barely cooked and in clumps. The beef burger tasted as if it had come from the local freeezer shop. The service was polite but perfunctory and there was no welcome from the manager at all. There was no atmosphere in the place; it felt like a sad waiting room and we ate our meal to the background of television noise, when muted music would have been more appropriate.
From this disappointing experience and from reading the other reviews, it seems that this place has gone downhill rapidly and the owners are just going through the motions until they sell.

3  Thank c00kiebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

quick service and food came fairly fast but tasted of stale grease .the worse part was the electric ran out and we had to wait for the landlord to get the electric key and go to post office to charge it up. I have never seen a business run like this before .I suppose for a little pub it is ok but only for a quick bar meal.someone said they have a new cook there now so it may be better.

Thank kipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent review which I found upsetting, I cant understand the stale fat comment as we change our oils regularly using the best quality and have never had such a complaint before, yes we do have a pay as you go electric meter and I'm glad we do, however on the seldom times that it runs out during opening times the slight disruption is minimal and I'm surprised that this upset you so much. Our new cook has been with us since Easter so is now well established, you say the service was good and a nice little pub, yet you score me so low, perhaps the punishment doesn't justify the crime.

John Fisher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Travelling from a shopping day out myself and daughter needed a meal save me cooking once home .... so glad we pulled off A55 in St Asaph and found such a great place .After ordering drinks and asking for menu the barman recommended us to sit in the sunny rear garden ...(.how lovely )he was soon out to take our order and off to prepare as all the food cooked fresh
The starter for my daughter was nachos ,nice to see food that appeals to younger customers .......her comment of the huge nachos serving was ,,,,this is lovely .,Our main. I had the steak which was tender and cooked exactly as requested and my daughter had the lasagne ,piping hot cheesy and plenty of it. ,
washroom was clean well stocked hot water and proper handwash soap ,Couldnt fault anything about the place impressed with the service,food and pricing will certainly recommmend and would visit again when in area

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 466jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

I would like to thank you for a lovely review, I am glad you and your daughter enjoyed your visit and your meal and I look forward to seeing you in the near future.
John Fisher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Followed Trip Advisors recommendation and we were not disappointed. For a holiday area and lots of potential customers there are very few pub/restaurants we have tried that I would return to, but my friends and I unanimously agree that The Swan is our number one! Great food - especially the chips! The staff are so friendly too. Looking forward to sampling the Sunday roast next time. l

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John F, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic review, I will pass your lovely comments on to all our staff and I look forward to seeing you soon, many thanks.

John Fisher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

St. Asaph, Denbighshire
St. Asaph, Denbighshire
 
St. Asaph, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing