We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money from KGB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mortimers Cross Inn
Wirral
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value for money from KGB”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, hotel bar a bit run down but room was excellent with a jacuzi and 4 poster bed. Deal included breakfasts and a meal on first night, we chose steak and were not disapointed. As other have said its a country location so nothing nearby and no street lighting but its good for most of the attractions in Ludlow and Leominster as days out.
Would not hesitate to go there again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can suffer from road noise we stayed in a back room above the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmite-XO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned today 11 November 2012 from the Mortimer’s Cross Inn, looking at some of the comments on trip advisor we wonder after reading one review in particular if we stayed in the same place in fact the same room!

Let me elaborate a little the Gentleman from Nuneaton appears to have stayed in the same room 6 as us only a few weeks earlier, let me give my views on our stay comparing to his comments

1. From our perspective we were give a very warm welcome by Viv who showed us to our room (incidentally room 6). When we came back down stairs she was very chatty and extremely friendly

2. All I can say here is Viv and the team must have removed the plank and put on a lovely mattress.

3. let me see Bacon Egg (incidentally a choice of how you would like the egg cooked Fried/scrambled/Poached) Sausage, Hash brown, Tomato and Beans to me has always been a full English this of course does not include that fact that you can also help yourself to a choice of Cereals, Tea/Coffee/Juice and Toast, in fact the waitress found it strange that my wife and myself couldn’t fit in the cereals as well

4. Now let’s be fair here you are staying in a country Pub and incidentally paying £59 for 2 night’s Bed and Breakfast and a 3 course evening meal, the food was excellent pub fair. If you want Champagne and Oysters then go to a 5* hotel and pay £180 per night upwards – We could find no fault and great value for money, incidentally also excellent service

5. Ok I have had larger towels but I am 17 stone and had absolutely no problems drying myself personally I didn’t feel the need to take a towel outside to sunbath

I can honestly say that my wife and I both enjoyed our stay and should another deal come up we would jump at the chance of staying again, as for out last night following our meal we went back into the bar and had an absolutely fabulous time with the locals. Thank you very much everyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeriKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

First let me say that the staff were very good. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the hotel, it's out in the sticks with nothing but a few houses around, no street lighting means no stroll after dinner. The food was pretty good, we ate there both nights, and the local beer was good too.
The hotel is a bit tired and could do with a bit of tlc. The room was small and the the bed was not very comfortable. Tea and coffe making facilities were available but had not been replenished so we had to ask for more t-bags and milk both days. No hairdrier in the room but we asked for one and it was provided. The bathroom was even smaller, if you washed your face in the sink you banged your head on the shelf above. The shower looked mouldy between the tiles and the towels weren't changed for the two days we were there. We went out on the Sunday and came back to a room that had not been made up.
The room was above the bar and you could here every word said between the people down there, including the fight on Sunday night and the phone call to the police. All in all, although it was a fair weekend we would not make a return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaly G, Owner at Mortimers Cross Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello,

I am sorry your stay wasn't very good. I would like to inform you that there is now new ownership and we have many of changes to be made and will be giving the place a lot of tlc.Would be lovely to see you here and hopefully you will be much more pleased with your stay.

Annaly Goodwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Like other reviewers we were on a KGB deal that was remarkable value for money. This is basically a pub doing B&B with evening meals available. We were checked in by a helpful chap who was also the barman. The room was fine being clean and with a comfortable bed. The first nights meal was included in the deal and it showed. Perfectly acceptable three course meal but of average pub quality. Breakfast choice was a bit limited but OK. Make your own coffee or tea using a hot water jug and a container of instant coffee. The second night we ate from the standard pub menu which was better than the first night but still standard pub food. The rack rate shown at reception was £65 which I think was expensive but most of their trade seems to come from discount break sites. It would be worth ringing the hotel direct to see what their best rate would be. There were very few staff so if you need anything they are difficult to find. Nevertheless we would stay there again as it is very well positioned for visiting Hereford, Leominster (a nice town) and Ludlow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This has to be the best waste of a KGB deal we have ever bought, when it could have been so much better if only....

If Only....
The "Warm Welcome" we were promised on the new website made us feel "Warmly Welcomed" - it didn't.

If Only.....
The 4 Poster bed - " furnished and equipped to the highest standard, with luxury in mind and with no expense spared" - was replaced with one that was not masquerading as a plank.

If Only....
The breakfast did not masquerade as "Full English"

If Only....
The 3 course meal included in the deal was actually as good as the excellent bathroom shower in Room 6.

If Only....
The bathroom towels were not masquerading as napkins.

If Only....
Alex Polizzi had been here beforehand............never mind. (The shower is really good!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not a lot more can be said about this place...Went on a KGB offer, excellent value. Anyone with limited mobility may struggle as all rooms are accessed via a steep stair case and rooms 8 & 9 are up a second flight. Room 8 large and comfortable with jacuzzi bath. Staff friendly and helpful. Food okay,standard pub fare.Beer quality was very in & out, which with Wye Valley ales was disappointing - doesnt do justice to the brand name.We would happily return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed a 2 night KGB deal at Mortimers Cross Inn recently. It was extremely good value. The room was very clean,large with high ceiling and exposed roof beams. The shower was very efficient and plenty of hot water.The food was tasty and well cooked. The staff were friendly.The road can be noisy, but that would not put us off returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mortimers Cross
0.0 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bateman Arms
The Bateman Arms
#1 of 1 in Shobdon
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
Mortimer Trail Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Mortimers Cross
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortimers Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortimers Cross Inn

Property: Mortimers Cross Inn
Address: | Kingsland, Mortimers Cross HR6 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Mortimers Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mortimers Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mortimers Cross Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mortimers Cross is now under new ownership since April 2014, we are a family run free house and welcome all into our home. We have renivated the property making a large pulic games bar, a soft quiet lounge bar with large open fire, a large restaurant, meeting/function room and a large landscape beer garden with a play area. We have 6 guest rooms; 3 king size or twin beds and jauzzi baths plus showers, 2 standard double beds and jauzzi baths plus showers and 1 double bed and ensuit shower. Our inn is located on the crossing of the A4110 and B4362 making it easy access to many tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mortimers Cross Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mortimers Cross Hotel Mortimers Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing