We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
groet, the netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the sonnental. the staff were very kind and helpful. the restaurant, for breakfast and dinner, was first class. the only "bad" thing we have to say is, that we both found the matresses very very soft.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    103
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
37
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. No complaints.
Free wi-fi was useful and you don't have to get sent the code by SMS, you can get a voucher from reception. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Restaurant food was good as was the breakfast buffet. Location was perfect from my business trip. But it is not downtown Zurich by a long way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked a "budget single room". It was very clean, spacious with everything I needed. Definitely great value! The personnel is also very nice and helpful, and the restaurant is convenient and good. The only thing is the location. If you want to be in Dübendorf for business (as I did), then it is perfect. If you are actually on vacation and interested in Zurich, then know that you are about 1/2 away from downtown using public transit (still not too bad) and that you will not find many shops, restaurants or other entertainment directly in the area. If you're looking for quiet, then it is still great. And they do have a spa in the hotel that I did not have the chance to try, which may justify the location on its own...
As for me, I plan to go back on my next business trip to Dübendorf!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for couple of days. The first room was okay but I heard everything from the neighbors ...everything... It was nightmare. I reported to the GM who gave me a new room..the same situation and worse the quality of the room even worse! Odor like hell.. I definitely not returning here! Even the spa area is okay this hotel I do not go back..nightmare

Room Tip: Main building or not u hear everything from your neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avivacologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in February en route to Bormio.
The welcome was excellent and parking was very easy although I would not have found the hotel easily without sat nav.
Plus points are that the place is exceptionally clean and well presented so 10 out of 10 to the housekeeping team, but this isn't a luxury hotel and fittings and furnishings are pretty basic but there again, it's not priced to be in that market.
Wi-fi was free and fast and there was no intrusive traffic noise.
My 'single' room was actually a double bed pushed into the corner of a room. The bedding was fine although the bed itself felt like a trampoline!
Breakfast was the usual fare and absolutely fine, so all in all, good value for money and no regrets about choosing this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed here once or twice a year for the past 5 years. For my business purposes, it has been very convenient, very close to ZRH airport with relatively easy access to Zurich and only steps away from the building where my meetings take place. The hotel is accessible by train/tram from the airport, otherwise it is an approximately 40-45 Euro taxi ride. The rooms are somewhat spartan, but clean and well-organized. The staff is friendly and efficient (and generally speak English very well, if that matters to you). Wifi is available (free for 48 hrs if you are willing to provide your cell phone number and are able to receive SMS messages - a problem with some American carriers - otherwise it's fairly expensive via Swisscom) and the connection is reliable and fast. The staff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant is very good and has Swiss/Austrian/French features with a very good selection of meat dishes in particular, but is expensive and the service is polite but otherwise nothing special and can be quite slow. They have a very good buffet-style breakfast which is included. The hotel contains a spa ("wellness center), though I have never had the time nor inclination to avail myself of this resource, and therefore can neither comment on its features nor its quality. For a town in such proximity to the airport, Dubendorf is quite charming and relatively pastoral, unlike the concrete jungles I am accustomed to in similar circumstances within the US. I enjoy being able to run while traveling, and Dubendorf has well-maintained pedestrian and bicycle paths along the river coursing through town, which can be accessed approximately 0.5 km away from the hotel by exiting the hotel and heading north on Ringstrasse. Once reaching the river, going right (east) will take you toward empty fields and then running trails in the hills, with thick woods and even waterfalls within 5-6 km. Although reaching the heart of Zurich is relatively easy from this hotel, a more central location within Zurich would probably be more desirable for tourist purposes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a stay during a business trip.
Rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable, but pillows are too thin. They have a wifi connection that works very well (I mean fast) and this detail is important if you want to work from your room.
I'm staying in this hotel at least once a month, so I always get the same room, at the far end of a corridor. (the farthest as possible from the quiet elevator).
The pool & spa is very convenient, very clean as well.
The only minus point is that there is nothing to do in the vicinity appart from the hotel restaurant (expensive) and a bar (Coconut Bar on "Neugutstrasse", good one!) 5-10 minutes walk toward the river.
If you want to go to the city of Zürich, no problem, there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel! Then jump in the S-Bahn and after a few minutes you are at the main train station... Life can start again!
After your evening downtown, I can promise that you will be happy to spend a quiet night in this hotel!

Just to mention their "loveroom". As the hotel was fully booked... the only room left was their "loveroom" or suite. I do not specially like to sleep with mirors facing the bed or above me plus the bath is in the room. Maybe the reason of this strange impression was due to the fact that I was on a business trip, alone.

Room Tip: Higher floor are the best option, plus ask for a corridors end... At least you will have less people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubendorf
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
418 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fluntern
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
#57 of 138 in Zurich
297 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 138 in Zurich
756 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#38 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Sonnental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Sonnental

Property: Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Address: Zuerichstrasse 94, Dubendorf 8600, Switzerland (Formerly City and Wellness Swiss Hotel Sonnental )
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Dubendorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Sonnental 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's real convenience when you don't need to travel into the city! And only 10 minutes away from the airport or the exhibition centre. Maybe that's why the Sorell Hotel Sonnental is so popular. We have a wonderfully flexible hall available for banquets and seminars. A generous 300 m2 wellness oasis guarantees relaxation. Just as relaxing: 100 free parking spaces! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Sonnental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnental Hotel Dubendorf
Sorell Hotel Sonnental Dubendorf, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing