We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere- but the restaurant is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere- but the restaurant is great”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Came for business
No car (so I was dependent on the tram)- so so....but doable
The room was basic- bed was hard as a rock and the mattress thin
Not enough blankets in the room and it was cold
bathroom was super basic too
BUT it was clean and for a night...ok....manageable
Would rather spend more and stay elsewhere...
That said....there are two restaurants....one that is 'meat oriented' and the other that is classic- I went to the normal one and ordered a great and affordably priced tartare...
Service was nice as was breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    103
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
37
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here on August 9th 2011 for the second time. Since my first visit the rooms have been renovated and are now sober, clean, if not a little bland. You could tell that budget was an important factor in the renovation as the old wallpaper in the room entrance was simply painted over to clean it up and the garbage bin in the bathroom no longer had a lid so the pedal had become a useless appendage. But both these points are certainly not critical. The rest of the room was spotless. I liked that the floors were wooden and the bathroom was tiled. Sometimes carpeted hotel rooms can get stuffy. This was not the case.

Our major gripe is with the pillows! They are so thin that they are nearly useless. You have no choice but to fold them over and spend the night making sure they don't move. I had noticed others on this site mentioning the pillow issue and so I brought it up to the receptionists at checkout time. I asked one of them if they had read the comments on Trip Advisor and she replied that they didn't have time to read comments on such sites! You would think that a privately owned hotel would be more than eager to read feedback from guests....

In stark contrast to the plain rooms, the restaurant is fun, and super- creatively decorated. Modern Swiss Quirky is how I would define it. I
loved it! The terrace in summer is like an oasis.

One final beef before I go. Although the hotel rooms are all nonsmoking, my husband and I were both woken up at 7 am by cigarette smoke wafting into the room. We couldn't figure out where it was coming from. This was probably just a fluke occurrence. It was followed by the smell of coffee which is far more agreeable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was nice and very clean but at our big surprise it was in the underground floor, like a cellar!!! So we had only 2 windows up on the wall and we realized that our room was under the street, closed with a grid...a mix of a cellar and a prison. So ask in which room are you going to be accommodated before booking! The other problem we had was with internet connection. The connection works very well but nobody in the hotel knew the name of the outgoing server (SMTP), even their provider, so we couldn't send e-mails !
I agree with the other guests that wrote that the pillows are not so comfortable.
The restaurant is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbcs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed here recently as I was meeting people for a business dinner in the restaurant, rooms are not huge but clean and tidy, staff are really nice, the only downside and the only reason why I cannot recommend the hotel is that they must have the thinnest pillow (yes pillow not plural) I travel globaly and they really are the worst I have come across, think economy class airline pillows, for that reason I would not stay there again as many people have mentioned this issue and they clearly take no notice, which ios a real shame as its lovely other than that.

Room Tip: ask for a second pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed in the hotel Sonnental as it was booked by the company we were visiting. It was extremely clean, the restaurant was fantasic and staff were friendly and spoke english well. We had a couple of dinners there and breakfast every morning and it was great.

It was a short ride on a tram then a train to get to central station in Zurich or about a $40 cab ride. If you were going as a tourist it would be much better to stay somewhere more central though.

Our room was one of the larger ones to accomodate the extra bed for our child, but it was a bit squeezy with it. Also as mentioned by other writers, the pillows were very thin but doubling over made them a bit too thick for our liking so was hard to get totally confortable. Free WI-FI internet connection was very good and helped overcome the lack of english on TV.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lethhaly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent two nights in this hotel very recently. The rooms are quite new and clean, but we found the accommodation uncomfortable: the room was really small and a queen size bed was leaning on the wall (so it was impossible to get out from the bed from that side). The bed itself was very uncomfortable: too small and it had not a very good mattress and pillows.
Despite to the fact that we booked (and paid for) a double room, it appeared that we were accommodated in a single room with a queen bed… We asked to change the room but the person at the reception said that there were not other available rooms.
We also tried the restaurant, offering quite good courses, but unorganized and quite slow.
As to the position, we can say that it is in a good position, quite near to the center of Zurich. It also offers free wi-fi (great!) and free wellness center (but we did not tried it, so we can not express any opinion) and also free parking which is very useful in Zurich.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara_psq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Hotel is OK. Free WiFi is essential factor when selecting a hotel. Thanks.

Only problem i had was only one ultra-thin pillow.. I prefer 2x thicker pillows. I asked for a second pillow, and it was delivered, but even 2x ultra-thin pillows wasnt enough for me,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubendorf
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
419 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fluntern
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
#59 of 138 in Zurich
297 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#5 of 138 in Zurich
756 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Sonnental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Sonnental

Property: Sorell Hotel Sonnental
Address: Zuerichstrasse 94, Dubendorf 8600, Switzerland (Formerly City and Wellness Swiss Hotel Sonnental )
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Dubendorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Sonnental 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's real convenience when you don't need to travel into the city! And only 10 minutes away from the airport or the exhibition centre. Maybe that's why the Sorell Hotel Sonnental is so popular. We have a wonderfully flexible hall available for banquets and seminars. A generous 300 m2 wellness oasis guarantees relaxation. Just as relaxing: 100 free parking spaces! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Sonnental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnental Hotel Dubendorf
Sorell Hotel Sonnental Dubendorf, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing