We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect evening”
Review of Taverna del Gusto

Taverna del Gusto
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Deruta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mold
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a perfect evening in Taverna del Gusto; the third visit to the restaurant this holiday. The welcome was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble at all for either Luciano or his staff; we felt like old friends. The food was as perfect as it was during our previous visits; I had (and can heartily recommend) the beef with the rocket and Parmesan; It was cooked to perfection and the rosemary baked potatoes were just lovely. Although I was full from my main course, I had no option but to have the chocolate warm torte, as it is absolutely delicious! Luciano keeps a good and sensibly priced wine cellar, with some of the best Umbrian wines I've tasted. The reds are rich and smooth and full bodied; go with his recommendation, you won't be disappointed.
We'd be back tomorrow evening, but for the fact that it's closed on a Tuesday!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiefCakeBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    149
    30
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcome, wonderful food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The restaurant Taverna del Gusto was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. The welcome was warm even though the place was very quiet (lunch is its busy time). The service was impeccable with some Italian language lessons thrown in. The owner was very friendly recommending a superb local wine priced very reasonably. The food was cooked perfectly and delicious. The prescence of truffles in dishes just added to their richness and overall flavour. Our meal was complimented by two delicious deserts of hot chocolate cake and baked cheesecake. Very nice food, a reasonable price and lovely hosts. Back tomorrow!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch in charming ancient town”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a lovely day in Deruta, wandering around various potteries, enjoying watching some of them at work, and occasionally finding some quite unusual pieces. This restaurant looked very inviting on a hot day: the tables, shaded by large umbrellas, are all placed along one side of the wall in a very narrow lane, with the restaurant on the opposite side of the lane. The staff were friendly, and we really enjoyed our meal. We shared a plate of bruschetta to start with; the salad I chose to follow was fresh and tasty, the bread was definitely fresh and very more-ish, and we enjoyed a very relaxed meal, watching the world go by and enjoying the fact that we had stumbled on a rather lovely eating place. We would definitely go back here if we return to Deruta.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hils15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't understand the other reviews”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Deruta for 9 days and during our trip to the old city, we decided to eat at "del Gusto". Considering the name, it was a promising evening. Little did we know what was to come. The terrace was completely empty, so we just took a table of 4, but we were kindly asked to move to another table (for 2), because there might be other guests. This wasn't so bad itself. Then we got some bread, as is usual in Italy, but it was quite stale and had no flavour to it at all. The bruschette we ordered were alright, but the lasagna looked like it had been taken out of the freezer/Supermarket. When you pay that much money (it's not the cheapest restaurant in town), you expect a little more. The service itself was okay, but could have done with some extra care.
If you want to eat properly in Deruta, visit L'antico Forziere. For the same money, you'll get a heavenly dinner with style!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Don't miss this restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stumbled into Taverna del Gusto thee years ago by chance. It was such a memorable meal that we went out of our way to eat there again this trip, and it was well worth it. Both times we asked owner Luciano to choose dishes for our party to share around, and we got a wonderful selection of perfectly prepared food, served with charm and graciousness. It was absolutely the best food we had in three weeks of eating out daily in Italy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Gusto also viewed

Deruta, Province of Perugia
Deruta, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna del Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing