We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and a perfect setting”
Review of Michaeleen's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michaeleen's Manor
Ranked #6 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Jerry and Margaret are wonderful hosts, and make you feel right at home. If you have any interest in the Quiet Man movie, this is definitely the place to stay. All of the rooms are named after characters in the film, and there are many pictures from the movie and of John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara throughout the house. Our room was bright and cheerful and the breakfast was excellent. Your hosts are acknowledged experts on The Quiet Man, and will happily share suggestions with guests. I wouldn't stay anyplace else in Cong.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JDP1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay for a visit to the home of The Quiet Man. Gerry and Margaret deserve the credit for Cong being recognised as the location for this great film. Their guesthouse is an essential part of the visit experience. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast is the best we have had this trip.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank justiskernewek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a Quiet man's Themed B&B - The Rooms are pristine, good size, and the house itself is beautiful.
My Wife and I were made very Welcome by Gerry & Margaret the owners. Gerry (the Local tour guide/historian took us on a whistle stop tour of Cong -Awesome history .

The Film really comes to life with the tour and the must see Museum in the village

We could only stay one night but its not long enough to enjoy this magical place .
I would not stay anywhere else in Cong - we were delighted with our Hospitality

Room Tip: Three Floors - So if your Disabled or infirm - they have disabled friendly rooms -with Disabled Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kphinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had been driving all day and didn't have a place to stay. We called at the last minute; a happy accident. Thank you Gerry & Margaret! Even though we called at the last minute, our rooms were ready -- clean and warm. Plenty of room for the three of us, including my 6'4" son. With the locks on the doors, one of the most secure B&Bs we stayed in. If we had planned our trip better, we would have stayed longer in Cong -- Gerry knows all the places to go and the best way to get there! Breakfast was great -- the best bacon on the trip. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1234fasteddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

this is a purpose built b&b it was lovely and clean, breakfast was excellent. the staff were very friendly. We loved the pics and quotes from the film the Quiet Man. It was an excellent touch to have the dvd of the Quiet Man in the player. would recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been coming here for the last 10 years; it's quiet, beautiful and relaxing. It holds special memories for us and we'll be coming here in the future: hopefully bringing our own children down here in the years to come! Margaret and Gerry are fabulous people, probably 2 of the nicest people we've ever met. Thank you for helping to create the special memories! X

Room Tip: Margaret and Gerry are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I had B&B travel vouchers for our trip to Ireland in November of 2013, so we never had to deal with any credit card issues, as mentioned by previous posters. Even though the purpose of our week long, first trip to Ireland was genealogical research in County Leitrim, we knew we couldn't come to Ireland, and have the ability to visit Cong because of a self-drive vacation, and NOT travel there! As promised in our B&B travel/guide book, Michaeleen's was everything a "Quiet Man-iac" could ask for in a B&B!!! The decor in the halls, rooms, and indeed the entire Manor consists of countless tributes to and memorabilia of the film, in all its glory. The B&B itself is lovely and relatively new, with several modern appointments noted in our quarters, particularly in the bathroom. When we were there, the proprietors were away - however, their friend Chris was most hospitable, and cooked us a very hearty breakfast, complete with touring instructions, directions, and anything else we needed. All in all, this is THE B&B for those who desire to be enveloped in the "Quiet Man" experience upon arrival in Cong, and throughout your visit!

Room Tip: (We did not notice an elevator, so we were happy to have our room on the ground floor!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmck0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaeleen's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaeleen's Manor

Address: Lisloughrey, Quay Rd | Cong, Co Mayo, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: $91 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michaeleen's Manor is a B&B themed on The Quiet Man movie, starring John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara which was made in Cong in 1951. Michaeleen's Manor offers a range of single, double, twin, triple and quadruple rooms, free parking, toiletries available from reception, all ensuite, with tea and coffee making facilities, filtered water, TV/DVD, towels and toiletries. Welcome to Michaeleen's Manor! We are Gerry and Margaret Collins, and we've welcomed guests from all over the world, including John Wayne’s daughter - Marissa Wayne, who kindly complimented our "warm Irish hospitality, great Irish breakfasts, comfortable beds and wonderful hot showers!". You can expect to be entertained over breakfast with tales from my time as the Quiet Man Tour Guide, while Margaret, who was a chef in Ashford Castle during President Regan’s stay in 1984, cooks you up a delicious breakfast! We look forward to seeing you soon! Gerry & Margaret ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Michaeleen's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michaeleen's Manor Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing