We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gerry is very rude and angry which ruined our stay”
Review of Michaeleen's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Michaeleen's Manor
Ranked #5 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at A Michaeleen's Manor on October 17. I was with two other friends on a "girl's trip". All of the other B&B's we stayed at in Ireland were great, but I was very, very disappointed in A Michaeleen's. We were running late and called to say we would not make it there until 7:30 p.m. We received an answering machine and no call back. When we arrived the place was in total darkness and there was a note on the door that if anyone wanted to stay (hello? we had reservations) they should call a cell number. I called and the proprietor, Gerry, said he would be right over. He came flying into the parking lot of the hotel a few minutes later and seemed very angry. He quoted us a much higher rate than what we had arranged for an "extra" person that was traveling along. After some dickering he gave her a room for 45 Euro but the next day in town, on his tour we found a lower advertised rate on the window of his "other business". We asked him about it and he said "oh that's not really the rate for a single person but you just advertise your lowest rate to get people in the door". Also, he left us in the B&B by ourselves. Showed us how to lock the door and left!! Did not show up until the next morning when he and his wife served breakfast. The fruit was canned not fresh, we were asked to toast our own bread and the toaster did not work (burned the bread each time). Gerry's wife Margaret was lovely but Jerry himself was rude and angry and somewhat of a "con artist" type business man -- think snake oil salesman at a circus. I would NEVER recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beth_Ann_C531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Gerry and Margaret were wonderful! B&B was extremely clean, roomy, comfortable, and we were served a "mighty" breakfast each morning! We are Quiet Man "Crazies" and loved the B&B decor. All rooms were named after movie characters! Movie photos were framed and quotes from the movie were carved into wooden plaques all over the B&B! If you get a chance, take part in the Quiet Man tour that Gerry leads. He is very entertaining and it's wonderful hearing the stories of where filming took place, all from a local in a "lovely" Irish accent!
From: David & Pam Stone of Myrtle Beach, SC

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Michaeleen's in Cong for one night as part of our ten day All Ireland tour with Paddywagon Tours (highly recommended).

The B & B is beautiful with bright, clean rooms and quality wood furniture, a comfortable bed, kettle, free Wi-Fi and the best full Irish breakfast that we had anywhere in Ireland.

Gerry and Margaret were lovely and very funny; entertaining us all at breakfast.

Cong is a beautiful little town whether you are a Quiet Man fan or have never heard of it. The walk from the Inn to the town is about 20 minutes, but you pass Ashford Castle and cross the river, so it is a nice walk.

We would return to Cong for a longer stay and would definitely stay at Michaeleen's Manor again.

Room Tip: The inn is very quiet, so we think that any room would be a good room. Because everything is wood a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

And if you aren't a Quiet Man fan you will be by the time you have finished your stay with Gerry & Margaret! We had lots of rain and high winds, but that did not spoil our holiday at all. The rooms are great - lots of room & very comfy. Great choice of food for breakfast & well cooked by Margaret. We had the 'package' stay as we didn't know the area and are great fans of the Quiet Man. Well worth it! Gerry has all the stories & info you want. Good location & very convienient for visiting the area. Good places to eat in Cong too. The Lyndon & Crows nest. And a great cup of coffee at the Hungry Monk!

Room Tip: I stayed in Feeney's room & it was lovely and quiet. My friend stayed in Michaeleen's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARILYN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Good location, not far from the lake and castle and Cong as well. Breakfast is excellent, rooms nice in massive wood furniture, with lots of pictures from famous moveie the Quiet man. Rooms are named after film characters and the B&B also. There are sentences all around the hotel from the film, and the owner Garry knows everything about film and film locations around Cong.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We traveled around, largely avoiding B&B's, but Michaeleen's Manor made us regret doing so. The Collinses couldn't have been more gracious hosts. The rooms were large and comfortable with doors more secure than we had seen at any other accomodation. Of note, we had planned to do some laundry to cut down on what we needed to carry and this was the only location we could do so. I would unquestionably return should I visit the area again and would recommend it to friends traveling there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoxRationis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Arrived at the B&B to find it seemingly deserted and a For Sale sign outside. However it was still open and in fact all the rooms were fully booked. Hotel is based on The Quiet Man film (a John Wayne film from long ago which we hadn't actually seen) with pics and mementos around the hotel, and there is also a Quiet Man theme in the village of Cong. The film is shown every evening at at 8 at the hostel across the road for those interested! You can just ignore this theme however. Hotel itself is in a very quiet location about 15 mins walk into the village centre. You have to go to the centre for eating places etc, though there is not much doing in that respect, just a couple of pubs and a hotel. Very easy to get around the area from Cong so a good touring base. Hotel itself was fairly new and modern, and was very clean with good sized rooms and bathrooms. There is a tennis court, hot tub and sauna, though nobody seemed to be using them during our stay. Plentiful breakfast with the full Irish option available, and all very good. Overall a reasonably pleasant stay, though if the hotel is sold then there may be changes.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michaeleen's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michaeleen's Manor

Address: Lisloughrey, Quay Rd | Cong, Co Mayo, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: $92 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michaeleen's Manor is a B&B themed on The Quiet Man movie, starring John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara which was made in Cong in 1951. Michaeleen's Manor offers a range of single, double, twin, triple and quadruple rooms, free parking, toiletries available from reception, all ensuite, with tea and coffee making facilities, filtered water, TV/DVD, towels and toiletries. Welcome to Michaeleen's Manor! We are Gerry and Margaret Collins, and we've welcomed guests from all over the world, including John Wayne’s daughter - Marissa Wayne, who kindly complimented our "warm Irish hospitality, great Irish breakfasts, comfortable beds and wonderful hot showers!". You can expect to be entertained over breakfast with tales from my time as the Quiet Man Tour Guide, while Margaret, who was a chef in Ashford Castle during President Regan’s stay in 1984, cooks you up a delicious breakfast! We look forward to seeing you soon! Gerry & Margaret ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Michaeleen's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michaeleen's Manor Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing